Longevity logo

Healthy People - Solving the Puzzle

Developing health for all people

By Sarah OPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Health is a balancing act

Being in the medical field it is easy to say I am passionate about medicine. But more importantly, I am passionate about helping others create a healthy lifestyle. I did not always want to be a doctor, in fact, I did not discover that passion until about 4 years ago. This is when I really started to notice the people around me in college. I noticed that not everyone had access to medication, to support, or even to physicians. Something struck a bell in me and I decided I could be someone to help others have a healthier life. That is when I decided to go down the medical path, and now I am on my journey in medical school learning how to be that voice for others and help them live healthier.

I believe creating healthier lives for people will allow them to reach their potential. It will allow people to not only help them live longer, but live better. Being healthier keeps our weight in check but also our physical capabilities. This takes a tailored approach. Most people do not fit inside the cookie cutter outline given in most health clinics. Each person needs a unique system that works for them. This is combined with food, exercise, mental health, and even genetics. Each part has a role to play and not everyone will do this the same, or even look the same, but that is okay. That is what I am passionate about. I want to be that voice for people to help them find their way through the difficult obstacles ahead. With my patients, I want to show them all the options, and the best way for them to have their healthiest but most fulfilling life.

The first part of the puzzle is food. In our current world it is easy to not be the healthiest eaters and this in turn affects our bodies. There are fast food joints on every corner, cheap takeout that does not take time, or even restaurants to cook that fancy meal on the first date. Our life is full of simple options but they are not always the healthiest. Now I am not saying to cut out restaurants and other things all together, just learn to balance it out. Think about your favorite fast food restaurant. Mine is Canes. They have some great chicken. Now, I would love to eat out there every single day, but that would take a negative toll on my body. Instead, I taught myself how to balance this and I can help you to. With food, learn your cravings. What do you constantly want to eat? What is it you desire every night instead of cooking? The next step is to track how much you eat out. Where do you go? What do you have? After collecting some data about yourself (think of yourself as a research project), analyze that data. What do you eat the most? When do you eat it? Now take that information and use it to your advantage. How can you take that data and turn it into something you could cook at home? Looking back on my example of Canes, I could make myself grilled chicken with a salad. This would fill my need for craving chicken but in a healthier way.

Another part of the puzzle is exercise. You do not need to work out 3 hours everyday to lose weight. The hardest part about exercise is finding something that works out for you. Think about the term healthy heart. I personally do not like running, even though that can increase heart rate. Instead, I go for a swim. This still allows me to increase my heart rate for at least 30 minutes, but it also allows me to enjoy my workout. Now that is key to exercise. You need to enjoy what you do in order to have a beneficial workout. With workouts, there are a few points to note. You should have 30 minutes of constant movement that increases your heart rate. This will help with the motto of a healthy heart. If you are trying to lose weight, exercises change. You should adapt these to your body weight along with what type and how much weight you are trying to lose. The key take away from exercise is to make it quick and effective, but also something you will enjoy.

Another part of our health is our mental health. In the past this was a negative connotation to discuss, but it is just as important as food and exercise. With mental health it can have a very negative affect on health including weight. There are a multitude of eating disorders. For these, it is important to understand it is something to not be ashamed of. There is help out there, but it is not easy to overcome. Once you can understand the eating disorder, then the next step is fixing it. Sometimes there is medication, but other times its willpower. In these times, a coach and support system is needed in order to overcome the hurdle. I want to be able to provide that to those that need it. Outside of eating disorders there is also depression and anxiety along with other brain diseases that affect weight. Some people experience binge eating while others refuse to eat. These affect people’s overall health and weight. With the correct instructions and support all sorts of mental health issues that involve weight can be tackled leading to healthier people.

The final piece of the puzzle is genetics. This we have no control over. It is the hand we are dealt at birth. Even with that, there are ways to deal with our genetics and it starts with understanding what we are given. To do this, there is amazing technology that will provide a full genotype based on your DNA. This will allow your healthcare provider to understand your genetics, which you can use to your advantage. With this, you can understand how your body functions in order to maximize your health. This may mean taking extra supplements or using preventative care. Genetics are something we all have, but with the right resources we can help control its effect on our health.

Now, this can be a membership for you. My membership is a step by step program on how to live your best life. Each week comes with the next step and worksheets to help you accomplish this. The 4 pieces of the puzzle all work together to help people accomplish their healthiest life, but it takes time and dedication. By having these worksheets, information, and programs it will help guide you through the puzzle. I will not only be your supporter, but your coach and someone who has been through this. With each progressing week you can see life changes and you will start to feel healthier. It is amazing on what your body can do when you finish the puzzle.

The why is not easy to see, but hopefully by now you know just how important health and medicine is. People should support my passion because my passion is supporting others. I have dedicated my life to the medical field in order to help others have a better and healthier life. This in turn will create healthier families and a healthier world. The 4 piece puzzle is hard to accomplish on your own, people do not always have access to the resources they need, and not everyone gives the best advice. Take it from me, I have tried countless weight loss programs, but could never accomplish anything until medical school taught me the science behind our bodies so that I could truly understand how to help myself and others. I am here, with the ability to create healthier people all over the world who can have a better life because of my passion.

health
Like

About the Creator

Sarah O

I am a medical student studying at Saint George's University. I have the opportunity to travel and help those around me. In my career I want to be an OB/GYN in order to help further women's health.

Writing is a true passion that brings joy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.