Longevity logo

Have You Tried Meditation For Writer's Block?

How Meditation Rests Your Mind And Body

By Susan F WeimerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3

I enjoy meditation. The extent of relaxation you can reach is remarkable and rejuvenating. It is the best way of relaxing that I have found. All you need is a semi-quiet place and a place to sit. It doesn't have to be completely quiet with no noise at all. Just quiet enough that you can concentrate.

Meditation doesn't have to be you in the lotus position, sitting on the floor chanting OM. Mantras are great, but you don't have to use one, and you don't have to sit with your legs bent like a pretzel either. I couldn't do that even when I was young. I've never been that flexible. Now that I'm older I'm even less flexible.

I usually sit either in a straight-backed chair or on our outdoor swing. I don't use a mantra. Instead, I concentrate on my breath. In and out. Or I count every other breath up to 10. After I reach 10, I start over again at one.

The idea of meditation is to clear your mind, relax your body, and center yourself. It brings you into the present moment so you can forget about everything else going on in your life and allow your mind and body to relax.

First, you want to relax your body. When you focus on relaxing your body, you start at the top of your head. Starting with the top of your head, you focus on relaxing those muscles, imagining the muscles relaxing and smoothing out, then you move to your forehead. You move on down to your neck, shoulders, upper arms, lower arms, hands, chest, stomach, back, and so forth until you reach your toes.

Clearing your mind doesn't mean you try to keep your mind blank. It means to keep your mind focused on your meditation and nothing else. That's why some people use a mantra. They focus on the mantra. You can also focus on your breathing, as I mentioned earlier.

Stray thoughts are nothing to worry about. You simply acknowledge the thought, then let it go, easing yourself back into relaxing or concentrating on your breath. Focusing on something as simple as relaxing your muscles and breathing relaxes your mind and helps you get centered, bringing you into the present moment.

It stops racing thoughts, worrying, and stress in general.

Don't worry if you're unsure how to meditate or even where to begin. I started using an app on my phone. I read a lot of how-to articles and watched a lot of YouTube videos. The thing that taught me the most was a simple little app on my phone called Medito. The Let's Meditate app is also good, but Medito is my favorite. You can find the Let's Meditate app here for Android or here for iPhone. Both the Medito and Let's Meditate apps are free.

These apps use guided meditation. In guided meditation, someone walks you through the process of meditating step by step.

You can also find guided meditation on YouTube that focuses on specific subjects like weight loss, helping you get to sleep, relaxation, emotional healing, the list goes on and on.

Meditation is good for you because you are setting aside a bit of time every day just for yourself. Even if it's only 30 minutes, you spent 30 minutes just taking care of yourself. And that's a good thing.

If you like my article you can treat me to a cup of coffee. It will go a long way in supporting me as a writer.

You can follow me on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/N0tSure64

You can follow me on Twitter here: https://twitter.com/Sure64N0t

meditation
3

About the Creator

Susan F Weimer

I live in a rural area in upstate New York with my fiancé and three dogs. Mine is a simple life filled with simple pleasures.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.