Longevity logo

Happy Birthday Joan!

A surprise birthday party for Joan's 70th!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
8
Happy Birthday Joan!
Photo by Keisha Kim on Unsplash

Joan is just 3 days older than me! We went to middle school and high school together back in the 60s and into the 70s! The photo above is not Joan. I couldn't find a 70th birthday party photo, except the ones below.

Sometime in our later 20's we met up again. We were at a recovery meeting that was open to anyone. I found her crying at a table and approached her thinking I may be of some help.

Wrong! She looked at me, pointed at me, cried harder, and shouted, "I knew you would be here!" Despite that, I sat down with her anyway. We have been good friends now for forty-plus years!

I was notified by another friend of ours about the surprise party and then invited to attend.

I did not want a birthday party, but rather a trip with my kids. Joan saw our photos on FaceBook and mentioned that to me as we were standing by her daughter, and then said, "Did you hear what Denise did this year for her birthday... She even said, "Hint, hint!"

Joan's daughter had a great surprise party and Joan was surprised. She thought maybe the week before and then when her husband said that he was taking her out for her birthday lunch at Green Mill, she thought maybe. Well, then he canceled that and said, let's go to Applebee's instead.

His excuse was that Green Mill doesn't have steak and he wanted her to have a nice steak as they don't have steak at home, due to his not eating steak.

She had dressed up for what she thought may be a surprise and then changed clothes. Her daughter asked her to come over for a quick dessert and chat. She saw all the cars and wondered if it was something her grandchildren were doing.

Joan was surprised. She scolded some of the guests who had spent time earlier in the week with her but didn't hint or tell her anything about the surprise.

Authors photo, Joan in the middle!

It was so much fun catching up and deciding that we have to get together on a little retreat soon. Joan did go back to work as a licensed insurance person to help people over 65 with their insurance questions and needs. She had already helped me with my questions before she was licensed.

Maybe I was her inspiration!

Joan's daughter is on the old family farm. And she lives right across the stree from Joan. They built a large garage with an attached house. Very nice and cozy, comfy. The party was held in the garage with a full room of tables and chairs.

It has to be the cleanest and best organized garage I have ever been in! Did I say we had a good time?

Both my friends have children they are not in contact with. Imagine being in your 70s and not being able to have a relationship with all of your children. Chances of us dying are greater than when we were younger. I feel bad for their children and them. It makes me really appreciate mine!

Fun with friends I feel like are really my sisters!

The visit helped me to realize that there are others that have similar hardships to my friends that may read my writing. I know what I can do is love them and put them and their children in my prayers.

Even though there were some tough things said, we always find a way to laugh! Because we live 2.5 - 4.0 hours from each other shouldn't keep us from getting together more often.

Now, in closing I have to say that Joan is 3 days younger, not 3 days older! I love saying it the other way though as it gets her going! Joan's daughter asked me to start the food line and as I was up there alone, Joan hollered out, please eat! The oldest goes first! She will get back at me if she can!

travelfeatureaging
8

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran3 months ago

    Awww, Joan seems soooo happyyyyy! This was so wonderful! I enjoyed reading this and loved the photos!

  • What a delightful story! What a blessing you are to them… praying for them and their families!

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    That is THE BEST!!! So glad for ya'll :)

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Wonderful birthday celebration story!!! Sending virtual hugs!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.