Longevity logo

Gym Gear

Is it useless, flashy jewelry, or a genuine safety net?

By joviePublished 6 years ago 5 min read
Like

It’s easy to get sucked into the fitness world, with all its flashy, overpriced shaker bottles and steamy, sexy photoshoots (professional photographers and mirror selfies both count).

Unfortunately, before we can go wild and hoard straps and supplements and sexy selfies, our bank accounts demand we stop and ask one question: Is it worth it?

Gym Clothes

I won’t spend more than $10 on a gym tank top, and maybe $15 on shorts—if I really like the design. I don’t see much point in spending all my hard-earned money on clothes whose only purpose is to get sweaty and threadbare.

That said, I don’t demand much of my gym clothes. My sessions are three hours long if I drink too much pre-workout, 20 minutes if I lie to myself and say I’m going to do steady-state cardio, and about an hour most often. They almost always take place in a cozy, carpeted, air conditioned gym where the biggest threat is dropping a dumbbell on your toe. Every now and then, they take place in my bedroom if the gym happens to be closed (What do you mean your employees need to see their families for Christmas?)

Now I am forced to admit that there are people out there more badass than me. Maybe they run outside, under the glaring sun, because they prefer being surrounded by nature rather than sweaty people in a gym. Maybe they like snowboarding, because ice in their face brings them joy. The reason is none of my business, but there can be real benefits to using gear designed for extreme weather.

Cold Weather

Photo by Boba Jovanovic on Unsplash

Do some quick research about dressing for the cold, working out or not, and one piece of advice you’ll consistently find is to wear layers. This is to trap your own body heat, lest your 98-degree body starts to match the 20-degree temperature.

Of course, wearing four layers might not be convenient while working out, leading to restricted movement and unhelpful extra weight. Workout gear designed for cold weather have all those layers jam-packed into one, thin, clothing item (thinner than one of those puffy jackets, anyway). The best are lightweight, flexible, and aesthetically pleasing. (Let’s not pretend we don’t care about how we look.)

Hot Weather

Photo by Brian Erickson on Unsplash

Time and time again, society refuses nudity. Never is this more inconvenient than during a beastly session of calisthenics in the heat. Unless we find ourselves in very lucky circumstances, we have to cover up. The closest we can get to spoiling ourselves in this situation is to wear thin, lightweight clothing. Some are cute and even have vents and/or mesh for air circulation, allowing heat to leave your body.

Another benefit of sweat-wicking material is that it can help prevent acne. Though not life-threatening as overheating, that moisture combined with that heat is a breeding ground for bacteria. And when those bacteria fall in love and reproduce, they’re going to leave their pimple babies all over you. (Okay, maybe that’s not how it works, but it gets my point across.)

Shoes

Admittedly, I will spend whatever absurdity is listed on the price tag for a good pair of training shoes. (Key word: “good”)

Running Shoes

Photo by Arek Adeoye on Unsplash

I’ve caused issues for myself in the past running in shoes not designed for that action. Jogging, sprinting, skipping, pretty much any variation of walking at a faster-than-normal pace—it’s not my strong suit as is. Putting my feet through that with only a thin layer of fabric between them and the floor was wrong, to put it nicely.

Running shoes should be flexible to allow your foot room to move naturally, but should also provide enough cushioning to absorb the shock of your little foot striking the ground with all your body weight behind it. They should fit not too loosely nor too tightly, and should provide the appropriate level of support for your arches. (For example, I have flat feet—yes, I cry about this at night—and I prefer shoes with more arch support than some lucky bastard with normal feet might.)

Weightlifting Shoes

Photo by Andrew Itaga on Unsplash

Shoes designed for lifting, such as squats, deadlifts, or snatches, play a totally different role from running. Rather than helping you move, they’re meant to keep you stable.

They’re typically flat on the bottom, with hard, sturdy soles. This keeps your weight from shifting back and forth and helps you to maintain proper form throughout the rep.

A lot of these tend to cost upwards of $100, or are really ugly, or both, which is a bit silly, when a simple pair of Converse will do just fine.

Weightlifting Belt

Lifting belts are thick, heavy belts that I didn’t wear for the longest time. There were three reasons: I didn’t feel I was lifting enough to necessitate the extra support; I thought they looked funny; and I assumed they’d be expensive.

I tried one on recently and did some squats, and now I’m a believer.

I had to suck my stomach in like I was trying to fit into skinny jeans after Thanksgiving dinner, and breathing felt strange at first. I wasn’t convinced my gym acquaintances weren’t pulling some dumb prank on me. Then I set a new PR.

In addition to helping keep your torso stable, the weightlifting belt is strangely comforting, like a big, leather security blanket that keeps injuries away. I found myself able to focus more on the movement in my hips and legs, and less on not moving my midsection. (I know it may seem like exhibiting control over your body shouldn’t be such a big deal, but when you’re a 4’11”, 120 lb girl with 175 lbs across your shoulders, the stakes are raised.)

And as it turns out, they’re not too expensive, with many in the $50 price range.

Wear them if you’re moving a lot of weight, or if you want to know what a corset feels like. Also, be okay with getting a bunch of bruises on your torso.

Gloves

There are gloves that have been designed for weightlifting, meant to help keep the bar from slipping through your fingers.

I've never tried these gloves, and I don't know if I would ever bother. Some people swear by them, which is their business, and I have had trouble keeping ahold of heavy weight in the past, but it was never anything I couldn't solve by working on my grip strength. I've also experienced my fair share of calluses, but I don't even notice them anymore.

These gloves are typically only around $10-$20, but that's $10 I would rather spend on a giant, tasty fruit bowl. I would get more out of it than accessories I don't really want nor need.

So the final answer to our conundrum: If it serves a purpose, and it serves it well, it may be worth investing in. Good shoes can stave off a busted toe during a long run, and a belt can help you power through a heavy lift without feeling like your spine is going to snap.

If you’re only doing a couple crunches and push-ups in your living room, you may as well save your money and stay in your PJs.

fitness
Like

About the Creator

jovie

I once listened to "Closer" by Nine Inch Nails for nearly 12 hours straight in an attempt to hurry along my inevitable descent into madness.

I failed.

#StillSane

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.