Longevity logo

Grab Life by the Balls

How to Remain Positive on Negative Thoughts

By Pj RainbowzPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

We all wake up with the same thoughts.

"Gotta pee."

"Shit, I need to get more toilet paper."

"Gotta get some coffee in me before I do anything today."

"I hope today is a good day..."

That last one. "I hope today is a good day." Waking up positive is a great start to a good day. But it doesn't always go that way. What we do doesn't define us, it just helps us get through day to day life. Being positive is a hard thing to come by, especially in negative circumstances. This is a small article about how you can overcome being negative and turn the negatives into positives easily. Yes, it's much easier than it seems.

Every morning I wake up not wanting to do anything — move, get out of bed, talk to anyone, nothing. Now, I know that might sound like I'm crazy or I need help. Just pay attention. I wake up with the thoughts "I don't want to live today," "I don't want to do anything today" or my favorite, "I wish today was already over." This is depression. It is a mental illness where the chemicals in your brain are imbalanced so negative thoughts stick out more than positive ones. I also have anxiety, which can turn the "I don't want to live today" thoughts into "What if I die today" and "What can hurt me today?" So as I wake up, walk to the toilet, and go to stand up, all of these thoughts occur in my mind. Then the focus point hits. "I have to be positive, shake it off. Go make that damn coffee, feed them beautiful dogs, make yourself pretty, and make today your bitch." Though, 6 out of 7 days I aim for this, not every day is that easy. But that's just that. I have to be positive daily. I have animals that depend on me. A home I have to take care of, a lovely family that needs me. I don't have time to be negative.

Usually, I have about 20 different thoughts a day, negative ones. But in order to push those aside, I have found my happy medium in life. Music. Everyone has their own happy mediums, whether it'd be being outside, painting, video games — we all have something that keeps us busy so that we can avoid our own thoughts. Each day I force myself to go outside. Walk the dogs, go do something. It helps my mind be at ease for a little while. The more you go outside, the better you feel. I know the outside world seems nasty and everything sucks. But, go lay under a tree. Stare at the sun, clouds, birds. You'll be surprised by how good you feel, and those negative thoughts drift away.

It's really hard when you're around people. Family, friends, strangers. But when you're positive, even in the slightest, the person next to you picks up on that energy and can carry it on. For instance, seeing a stranger with a baby and saying, "You're a beautiful sight." That not only puts you in a great mood, but the stranger as well, and the stranger will pass along the positive vibes.

If you're going through something in life — a loved one passed away, you just got your heart broken, or you're not sure what you want to do anymore — find your answers within yourself. Take time to love yourself and figure out what it is in life that makes you truly happy. Write it all down, figure out what negatives you can remove and go from there. Our brains can play dirty tricks on us. Leaving an incision so deep, it seems like it will never heal. But we have the power to stitch it up and keep moving forward. Those are the key words in life. "Keep moving forward". Not everything is as bad as it seems. The rent is due in four days and you only have half the money. DON'T FREAK OUT. Figure out alternatives, such as talking to your landlord, asking family or friends for help, and setting up a money system to pay them back. Everything will be okay.

To remain positive, one must achieve being negative. If it's raining outside are you going to wear flip flops? No! You're going to wear boots or tennis shoes. That's taking a negative thought and making it a positive one without you even realizing it. Nothing is ever inevitable, especially negative thoughts or situations. You just have to grab every situation by the balls and carry them in your back pocket ever so gently, making sure they're not harmed, in case you need to bring them out for battle later in life.

Remember, you're never alone. It's okay to have negative thoughts, you're stronger than your own thoughts. But if it ever seems too overwhelming, talk to someone. You'll be surprised by how many people in this world can relate to just about everything you're going through. It's okay to reach out and help others as well. That's another example of taking your negative thoughts/energy and making it positive. Life is precious in every way. Make your life more precious than you could ever imagine. Be positive. Stay happy, and try to pass along the positive vibes today. Tell someone beside of you they look very pretty/handsome. Call someone in your family and tell them you love them, hell CALL THEM ALL! Be annoying with love. Be bright with compassion, and at the end of the day when you're laying in bed, remind yourself that you are special. You are amazing, unique, and each day is a gift. So close your eyes and take life by the balls tomorrow.

mental health
Like

About the Creator

Pj Rainbowz

I'm an odd character. I believe in staying positive, passing good vibes around the world, and eating a lot of food. I enjoy gaming, talking, and helping others in life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.