Longevity logo

Glow from Within

My Routine Keeps Me Glowing All Day

By Stacy DavenportPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
2
Glow from Within
Photo by Nick Arnot on Unsplash

Because I'm an author and entrepreneur, I can set my own schedule. This gives me a great amount of flexibility but it also means that it's up to me to be sure that I stick to a routine that's productive if I expect to accomplish my goals. I use technology extensively in goal tracking and planning, write with tools that make that writing process easy, meditate, exercise, eat right, and stick to a bedtime routine. I also fill my day with positive affirmations and plenty of time to get in everything that I love to do. I created a personal plan that works great for me so far. Here are some details about my routine:

Morning

I often wake up extremely early in the morning to begin my writing and planning time. I find that I'm a productive writer in the early morning hours. I use GoodNotes for my planning needs. On Etsy I found an excellent planner template that's easy to use on my iPad, and it allows me to write with my Apple Pencil.

I also found an easy-to-use digital notebook to use on my iPad to make my hand-written notes easier for me to manage. This one has 12 subjects that are customizable with different sheets of paper. Etsy is a great resource to find digital planners, stickers, and many helpful tools for those who like to plan and journal. Search for more on Etsy by using the search phrases “goodnotes planner,” “goodnotes stickers,” or “goodnotes journal.”

I also use Ulysses writing app, which syncs to all of my devices immediately on the iCloud so I can always pick up where I left off on any writing I've started. Ulysses is well-organized and simply text without distractions so getting the words onto proverbial paper is easy to do. It allows for easy tagging, keyword search, filters, and folders of your writing pieces. It also exports the text easily to formats other than plain text that are helpful when one is ready to publish their work. Get the app on the Apple App Store by clicking here.

Afternoon

At around noon I spend anywhere from 30-60 minutes on my indoor bike that I purchased from Facebook market for a great deal. I enjoy indoor exercise without going to a gym. I also use Bowflex hand weights and a weight bench to complete my training for the day.

Nordic Track Indoor Bike
Blowflex Adjustable Weights

Bowflex Weight Bench

After I complete my exercise routine for the day, I eventually make my way into the shower where I use Function of Beauty shampoo, conditioner, and leave-in mask. You can find out more about their products by clicking here. I also use the leave-in conditioner when I need it. It keeps my hair healthy and smelling great. I also use Coochy Cream for shaving because I find that it gives me the smoothest shave without razor bumps. You can find Coochy Cream on Amazon.

When doing my makeup routine, I use Motives cosmetics. Check our Motives Cosmetics by Lauren Ridinger by going to www.motivescosmetics.com.

Motives Skincare

They have excellent skincare routines and cosmetics that rival the Sephora's best. If you like looking your best and have a range of beauty concerns, you can pick the right combination of skin cleaners for you.

For my lashes, I use Glamnetic lashes. I love to play with things that make me feel pretty. The lashes give me a way of quickly adding a fun thing to my routine without too must fuss. I clipped the lashes down to the right size for my eye, and that was the trick that had them staying in place all day long. With a simple magnetic eyeliner, the lashes stay put, and they offer a wide range of fun lashes to try. Check them out at glamnetic.com.

Glamnetic Lashes

For lipstick I use Maybelline 24-hour Superstay lipstick. I find that the color rival the best of Sephora and they stay put all day long. I love putting on lipstick even if nobody will really see me for the day because it makes me feel like I'm doing my best to look my best for personal reasons rather than to gain the appreciation of others. Check out the lipstick by clicking here.

Mabelline Superstay Lipstick

To spray something that spells pretty to me, I fell in love with Coach's Eau De Toilette. Click here to order some for yourself. I find the fragrance incredibly sophisticated that makes me feel like a million bucks. Sometimes all it takes to boost my confidence during the day is a spray of a fragrance that I love.

Evening

I enjoy Hello Fresh for meals in the evening with my family. I find that it saves us money, time, trips to the grocery store, and planning. You can order Hello Fresh from HelloFresh.com.

By freestocks on Unsplash

After cooking, my evening usually consists of relaxing while watching a series I enjoy on Netflix like “You” or “Money Heist” with my husband.

I adhere to a pretty strict bedtime because sleep is important part of any healthy routine. It helps me in all areas of my life if I get the right amount of sleep. Lights out by 10pm because I'm often up by as easily as 3:30am sometimes. I have had to adjust my life around my abnormal sleep schedule because nothing I've tried helps me sleep all the way through the night. It took a long time for me to decide to change my entire life around but now that I've done it, I feel like I'm going with the flow more and letting my body lead the way rather than fighting against it day after day.

My life changes and care routine were selected slowly over the course of years, and I've been very fortunate to have the opportunities I've had to experiment with a lot of different things over the years. I finally found things that suit me best that allow for both consistency and some variety. All of these things help me to glow in my own way.

self care
2

About the Creator

Stacy Davenport

I own Serista Wellness, LLC and feel passionate about topics related to health and wellness, politics, women’s rights, the LGBTQ+ community, chronic illnesses and social change.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.