Longevity logo

Gamma

A Dream Village

By Laurie JordanPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
A Special Day

We discovered this charming little town named "Magical" in South Carolina. It was unique, although the zoning was odd. There were Health Food Stores and Yoga studios mixed in with a Gentlemen's club on the same street. As in every other small town there were strip malls and shops with lambent commerce, well landscaped Garden Apartments, intermittent schools, churches, a hospital and a post office, not necessarily in that order. Small miniature golf courses were set back and sprinkled along the boulevard. We had just arrived at our time share after landing at the small local airport in the center of town, but neither one of us was tired. We were eager to explore.

My friend Shante had a pre-arranged appointment with an astrologer and left me for a couple of hours to meander on my own.

In this little town existed a warehouse that had been transformed into a Fitness, Yoga and Massage Center. I've always enjoyed Massages and so I wandered into the building. I was assigned to a massage therapist named Gamma. (as in Gamma ray.) I was told where to locate her in her loft on the second floor. I followed directions and lowered a wall ladder which would allow me to climb up into her space. At first I was hesitant, as there were no side bars to grip. Would I falter? But I had climbed insurmountable steps before. I remembered the story of Jacob's Ladder in the Genesis narrative in the Bible. It represents the connection between heaven and earth and there were seven rungs on the ladder of virtue. This ladder too had seven rungs, although widely spaced apart. Seven was always my lucky number. It was a challenge but I was willing to take the risk.

I climbed up into the Loft and landed on my derriere with a thump on the floor. I immediately spotted the Earthlite massage table with the turquoise comforter dotted with stars on top.

I had asked the company receptionist named Mira (short for miracle) what the fee for the massage would be, but she deferred saying, "Don't worry, You will be covered." Huh? Now I was about to meet Gamma. Then there she was. A lovely girl with a pixie face and emerald green eyes. I requested a price quote from her as well, but she deflected, explaining it would all be taken care of. Gamma then consulted her little black book and informed me I was the 7th guest that day on the 7th day of the 7th month of the year. How fortuitous! I always loved the summer months and July was a festive one!

In Numerology 7-7-7 indicates the path of following your guardian angels. It means you are taking the right journey to achieve success. Spiritually 7-7-7 signifies fortunate circumstances . The angels remind you to be open to love and abundance. I was dreaming about angels when I realized Gamma was speaking. We should get on with it, as I have other clients after you.

I agreed but I had a question for her. I was curious about her name. Why Gamma? I knew a bit about gamma rays myself. They are used in medicine( radiotherapy), industry (to sterilize and disinfect) and in nuclear energy. Gamma went on to explain that Gamma rays can be deadly to the human body as they can pass completely through our cells and destroy DNA. Why then would her Momma name her Gamma?

Well, my mother is ironic and took an opposite approach. She named me Gamma as a reminder to overcome obstacles in life and become a healing agent. She wanted me to remember that every evil has an opposite element of truth, beauty, and love. And she liked the phonetic sound of Gamma. Not Genna, Not Jennie, Not Gemma, Not Ginnie, but Gamma. My mother is a firm believer in sticking to her morals and her philosophy. She is a Vegan advocate for the animals. She insists that eating animals compromises our compassion, decreases our empathy and depletes our soul.

Gamma herself, stated she had been Vegan from the time she was 15 and was permitted to choose her own plant-based meals.

Gamma explained she did not grow up Vegan because her daddy was a big meat-eating rancher from out west, but he respected her feelings when she decide to go plant-based like her mom. The reason I eat this way is because I don't have to worry about my weight. I can eat all the broccoli, lettuce and sprouts I want and I won't gain an ounce. I like to throw in a couple of sweet apples and carrots as well. I eat other stuff too of course. But I just adore fruits and vegetables. And avocados! I just love avocados! They're so good for the complexion. The girl honestly looked like weight was never an issue for her, slim as a tight rope and as I was about to discover, strong as an ox.

"OK, are you ready for your massage?" My specialty is Gentle Swedish Massage and Myofascial release techniques. You will enjoy this session.

I climbed up onto Gamma's massage table and felt the comfortable pre-warmed surface and the light blanket over my body. As Gamma's strong and capable hands began to knead my tight shoulders and sore trapezius muscles I allowed myself to melt into the table and relax, not thinking about how I would afford this massage, this trip and even my rent, as I had lost my job not too long ago, due to certain health concerns and restrictions.

Gamma had an incredible healing energy and encouraged me to relax. As she continued her routine of massaging my lumber lower back muscles she gently informed me that I was the lucky winner of the $20, 000 contest they had been running, utilizing the Number 7. I couldn't believe my ears. Was I imagining this? The most I had ever won was $20. I managed to maintain my cool and not jump off the table in excitement. Gamma had just become one of my favorite people!

Things happen when you least expect them to. But one has to be open to accepting these gifts. To be ready to be gifted and be grateful. Some individuals cannot do this. They feel undeserving. I had learned to it was ok to be the recipient of miracles. Where was I? This surreal place? Was I in heaven?

The Universe had given me this incredible gift. As a cancer survivor, massage was part of my holistic approach to healing. This truly was a miracle. This funky, unusual, little town of Magical had been placed in my path for a reason. There are no coincidences. I couldn't wait to share the news with my dear friend Shante. I fully realized that my healing journey would continue now and forever.

The end.

wellness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.