Longevity logo

Flame Coat

Documenting my Kidney Transplant in Yarn.

By A SPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Some of the squares made for my coat

In the 90's I had chronic health problems I took medication for. The upside of that is that I survived my 20's and started creating a life for myself as an adult. The downside was the damage that the medication did to my kidneys. In 2015 they started failing, and by 2017 I was looking at dialysis and a transplant. In 2016, seeing the medical storm approaching, I started a project. I would crochet squares and make them into a coat.

I needed something that I could take in a bag with me to appointments, and what ended up being 5 surgeries, 12 hospitalizations, a year of at home dialysis, 1 new kidney, rejection, infections, cancer and ultimately the start of a long road to recovery. I loved being able to finish a square in a day, even when my hands were swollen, or my mind fogged by medication. I always had my zip top bag with yarn, scissors and my 3mm hook.

I made a lot of things in-between. Stuffed animals, bereavement gowns for angel babies, bags, socks, and for some reason a whole flock of owl key chains one year. I sewed clothes to accommodate my dialysis catheters that didn't look like medical equipment, and clothes that fit my surgically altered body. In the spaces between that, every time I ended up in the Emergency Department, or had another surgery, I made squares.

I received a new kidney, from a friend, on August 8, 2018. Three days later my body started to reject it. It took a month in hospital to save it, and save me. I had the yarn, and I made a bunch of squares, including a couple with mistakes that I am just keeping in, because that's where I was at that point, and this is my record. Trips to the yarn store with my donor were a huge treat. Our kidneys are wound together with love, but also with yarn. She is a knitter.

In March 2020, I had a cancer scare, and had major surgery on the first day of Covid lockdown in my province. I took the bag with me, and in the 2 weeks of isolation in the hospital, I made squares.

The yarn I used was discontinued over the time I've been working on the coat. I lost 24 squares in a waiting room somewhere. I had to change the design multiple times as my body changed with surgery and medication, and for a while, I gave up. On the project, but also on me. I came back to it multiple times, and returned to a confidence that I would be ok. This project has been with my for the whole journey, and I feel like it is the map of my path. Every appointment, every hospitalization is in there. Every night I was so sick or scared I couldn't sleep.

I am at about 150 squares now, and have just started seaming them together to make the final shape of the coat. My healing is going well. I am still recovering, but I feel like I am emerging out of the fire, and into this coat. It has been a project of hope, pride and confirmation of me as a crafter, as a woman, as strong and determined, and as stubborn.

Crafting and creating in the face of fear, or despair, is an act of bravery but also confirmation that you are still here. I made something. Even when I was powerless, and couldn't take care of myself - I created. Making is a powerful thing - you invent physical objects which change the space around you, and this project is the happiness and pride in creating that helped give me some of the power I needed to keep going.

I taught a couple of other people to crochet over the time I've been doing this, and I'd love to keep doing that. Finding your strength is something you should share.

Now all I have to do is sew in all the ends and snip off all the yarn tails!

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.