Longevity logo

Fitness 4 Dummies: Instagram Edition

Simple Tips for Diving Into Health + Fitness

By Christie CibereyPublished 6 years ago 5 min read
1

First and foremost, I am going to start off by saying I am no fitness guru. In fact, I know the least amount about the gym lifestyle. However, that is why I am writing this article. To let every couch potato and fellow art student (who always admired the jocks in high school but had no idea what to do when it came to grinding it in the gym) know that there is some hope in losing weight, toning up or just overall becoming more healthy.

I took my first baby step by signing up for a local gym. However, it occurred to me that I had no idea where to go from here. Yes, I now belong to a gym but how do I get jacked and slim without having to pay extra money for a trainer?

Here are a few tips I've discovered just by using my resources:

1. Instagram is your fitness BEST FRIEND.

I have found 90 percent of my workouts by scrolling through fitness accounts and saving them in my archives to use while I am at the gym. The Explore page on Instagram is your number one essential resource when it comes to discovering fitness accounts. I have found some of my favorite fitness accounts this way!

Below are a few of my go-to accounts that take up most of my "Saved" tab on my Instagram.

I discovered Olivia through the explore page and followed her as her workouts became a part of my everyday gym regime. She even reached out to me and introduce herself. Olivia also asked if I was struggling with anything health wise and was there to help! It was such a nice surprise seeing her message as it pushed me, even more, to get out and get to the gym! She posts daily whether it is a new workout routine or meals, you can find everything you need to know fitness and health-related by scrolling through her account! I recommend giving her account a follow if you're looking for routines to do while you're at the gym. It's like having your own personal trainer in the palm of your hands!

I discovered Chels through a friend who followed her and entered (and won) one of her fitness contests. As it says in her bio, she posts "effective workouts," and that is no exaggeration. This is another account I reference to learn various workouts for, along with my friends who also use her workouts in their gym regime as well! Give her page a glance if you are looking for workouts or want to join groups and fitness contests!

2. Ask friends and family to go to the gym with you.

This will motivate you to get up out of your bed or couch and go workout with a friend. That was the easiest way for me to get into the daily routine of going to the gym every day. Going with one of my friends was a way to socialize but also learn some many new workouts. Who knows, you could end up being the friend who is teaching someone else new workouts that you acquired along the way!

3. It is a lifestyle, not an overnight success.

You really have to tell your brain that results will not come overnight, or even in a week. Keeping a realistic goal will help you pursue your achievements. It's good to set the bar high but also set mini goals that you can easily reach as stepping stones to get you to your overall goal. The mentality you have is the key to success, training your mental health is just as important as training your body.

Reminder: It is a marathon, not a sprint (pun intended)

4. Food is Fuel

I am no nutritionist, but I am pretty certain that eating fast food every day will definitely not get you good results in a timely matter. You are what you eat, and when you begin eating healthier your body will thank you when you are hitting the gym and need energy. Emphasizing that you need to FUEL your body, whether that is going to a nutritionist, finding a diet fit for you, using online health tips and resources or just being mindful about food, you can't forget to fuel your body.

Reminder: You also deserve to treat yourself once and a while.

5. Drink! Drink! Drink!

Your body needs fluids just as much as it needs food as fuel. Drinking as much water as you can is essential and will only benefit you. If you are a coffee lover there are many fitness accounts (including @oliviaostrom_) that have story highlights or dedicate their whole Instagram to healthier versions of your favorite Starbucks drinks!

Alex Moe whips up many different versions of your favorite Starbucks drinks while keeping it healthy. Give his page a look if you need some yummy recipes to order at Starbucks!

Overall, I have begun my journey transitioning from a couch potato to an avid gym goer by simply taking advantage of my resources. While I am scrolling aimlessly on my smartphone, I now target fitness and health workouts and tips! Instagram has been my hub for all things fitness however, I am sure there are various social media platforms along with apps to help you get into the fitness groove.

Your first step is taking the first step!

social media
1

About the Creator

Christie Ciberey

Graphic Designer, Artist, Writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Christie Ciberey is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.