Longevity logo

Feeding the Soul & Enlightening the Spirit in times of COVID

Art Which, Takes Me Into A Trance and Helping Me Out Of This Pandemic

By WritingOfTheHeart™️Published 3 years ago 10 min read
4
Feeding the Soul & Enlightening the Spirit in times of COVID
Photo by Elia Pellegrini on Unsplash

No matter what time of the day it is, what season, and what mood I’m in, my spiritual, meditative and poetic art, (I call this, art because it communicates to my spirit, my soul and what I am in dire need of during, COVID).

It is a different zen playlist altogether. It has the power to connect me, with my soul, with a higher being, it makes me calm and sane, and fall in love, as well as be one with the natural nature and creation of God.

Like a prayer; I will be sitting by my window and watching the sunrise, the clouds form like candy-floss, and then clear away slightly to show the blue sky, hidden underneath. Watch the sun play hide and seek with the white, somewhat grey clouds, and then see the white clouds form into one grey sky, preparing for the rainfall; I watched the leaves and flowers bloom, and then become bright in their colour, witnessing the birds, bees and butterflies all play together. Seeing the Sun shining on the world; and then the cloud kick in, the wind blows the leaves fall, the bees and butterflies all disappear, what only remains, is the birds in the sky, naked trees standing strong, the grey clouds becoming stronger; and then finally, it’s snowfall, from late sunsets, to warm clear nights, we reach early sunsets and foggy nights, where once the stars and moon brightened the night sky, they have all hidden away as the cold takes over us, but do not despair the Sun and Moon are still rising and setting and the warmth and cold will come and go, as long as it is the will of our Lord.

~WritingOfTheHeart™️

Sufi | In a Trance - Source: Google (WordPress)

Have you ever seen a person go into a trance, well this playlist of mine does exactly that for me, it centres me, helps clear my head and heart of negative and worldly things.

I do not mix, what I class as my Spiritual A-Capella or Soulful Poetry with regular music, hence, why I have two different playlist, and I’m not saying those that do are wrong, also am not expecting all to connect with my playlist, this is my spirituality, and all I wish to do through this article, is share them with you and speak (write) from my heart.

I call this Zen Playlist; My Soul’s Sanctuary, it is an escape for my soul, to allow my soul, to feel free and wander.

By Parul Gupta on Unsplash

My Sanctuary;

Let’s begin;

By Ashkan Forouzani on Unsplash
  • Every recitation of the sacred scriptures, (that I believe in) speaks to my soul. It is an a-Capella, no instruments are used to recite, and it is in the ancient language of Arabic. When I hear any recitation of the scriptures, my eyes automatically close, my heart beats 10x, more faster, the frequency of my soul (spirit) becomes same as my body, mind and heart, and then, finally the frequency of my surroundings, in-line with my own, and I feel like I am being transported, I am in a deep meditation. This is my safe haven and keeps me mentally sane.

  • Autumn | La illaha il Allah by Sami Yusuf

I listen to this when I desire to meditate, I go into a trance, whenever I listen to this masterpiece; I have an out of body experience and due to COVID and the pandemic I feel trapped, the soul and body feels restrained. Sami Yusuf, is an artist who solely produces art to feed the soul and he is well-know and respected by all. All of his masterpieces are my favourites, he uses, his melodic voice to chant in the remembrance of God.

  • Supplication by Sami Yusuf

I remember when I first heard this beautiful prayer of supplication, in 2003, I literally felt the presence of my soul, it felt like my soul went out my body and I had major goosebumps. This was the start of my spiritual journey and as the pandemic took over us, this is the one, I listen to the most.

  • Allahu by Various Artists

A heart touching A-Capella and with breathtaking poetry. This is, for the times when I desire to be one with nature and appreciate the beauty around me. (I would actually be listening to this while looking out at the nature around me). This COVID has unbalanced our emotional health, we constantly are feeling low, but when I listen to this beautiful chant, it restores the balance.

  • Mountains of Makkah by Zain Bhikha

Oh my days, I have just gone down memory lane, I was young, and during the religious festivals, this a-Capella used be played frequently and because Zain Bhikha has a unique tone, like Yusuf/Cat Stevens, he’s used to sing with beautiful energy and get all the children involved and sing along, during the pandemic I created new memories, this strives and reminds me to always reach for success, to always overcome the obstacles.

  • Tala’al-Badru ‘Alayna by Yusuf/ Cat Stevens

Thank you, Yusuf Islam for sweet childhood memories, another a-Capella that was always on the radio and as a child, I would listen and follow along. Yusuf’s version of this poetry, taught me how to sing the same praises that where sang or chanted by the people of Medina 1400 years ago. During the pandemic when this resonated in my ears, it reminded me to be grateful and show gratitude to the condition and state I was in, luckily, for me and my family we were safe and healthy throughout coronavirus, we heard families and friends have been majorly affected by the virus.

  • Insha’ Allah by Maher Zain

This one, has constantly uplifted my spirits, whenever I have being feeling down, whenever I have been stressed and scared of what the future holds, it shows me a way to stay firm in my hope and faith, because I know, I will get through all the tough times, by God’s will. Also Maher Zain is another artist I listen to regularly and have all of his a-Capellas.

  • Qamarun by Mostafa Atef

This brings calmness to my soul and is poetry at it best. I am not fluent in Arabic, but the sound of this melody is smooth like the sounds of the oceans waves flowing back and forth.

  • Salawat Medley by Mohamed Tarek & Mohamed Youssef

These brothers have melodic voices, smooth as butter and this beautiful a-Capella increases my positive feelings, and spirituality, and they sing with love and it is visible through their voices.

  • Ya Rahman by Sheikh Mishary bin Rashid Alafasy

When I first heard this masterpiece, I feel in love with the voices and there is a special, sweet voice of a young girl who’s name I do not know. During the struggles of the pandemic I felt peace take over me, like never before.

  • Bhar Do Jholi Meri by Sabri Brothers

Qawwali is a Devotional Sufi genre which is popular in Pakistan, Bangladesh and India. I have so many favourites but will mention only a few here! This masterpiece is extremely emotional and filled with unconditional love.

  • Tajdar-e-Haram by Sabri Brothers

One of the Classics in Qawwali. My All time favourite! During the pandemic, life has been tough and lot of people have been dwelling deep within, trying to find their true-self, some during the pandemic have felt relief for they found free time, found freedom to be themselves. Some have found religion or have turned to religion and for me this poetry enlightens my soul every time.

Also love the rendition by Atif Aslam;

  • Kamli Wale Muhammad Tou Sadke Mein Jaan by Ustad Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan

The king of qawwali. The poetry of this qawwali is deep and intense, it’s filled and written with strong passion of love. A love which I too have and it brings peace to my mind and heart.

  • Allahu Akbar by Ahmed Jehanzeb and Shafqat Amanat

Takes me on a spiritual trance, every-time. Praising God, the love they have for the creator of the universe.

  • Tu Kuja Man Kuja by Shiraz Uppal and Rafaqat Ali Khan

Enlightens My Spirits. Humbles me to my core.

  • Bol Hu by Soch the Band ft Hadiya Hashmi

A truly magnificent masterpiece, awakening the soul and I was left with goosebumps.

  • Main Qabar Andheri Mein by Amjad Sabri

Oh dear Lord, this ones shakes my soul to the core the lyrics are extremely powerful and relatable. I know there will be a time when I will be in my grave. I only pray, for the time in my grave to be peaceful. This poetry is the last one, which Amjad Sabri recited a day before he passed away. During the pandemic we have heard of people passing away, we saw multiple of graves being dig, and people being buried, this beautiful a-Capella again humbles me and keeps me sane.

  • Past and Present by Castillo Nasheeds and Muslim Belal

The artists speak the truth, and this is amazing a-Capella, it’s different as it includes rap, it shows that rap can be clean and good, it is powerful due to using the natural voice to create sounds.

  • Signs by Muslim Belal

The signs are there we just need to see and believe. This one is a reminder for me to always stay firm in my faith. It reminds that nothing is in our control (definitely not this pandemic).

  • The Meaning of Life by Kamal Saleh

A very powerful spoken word and the title says it all. This pandemic has made everyone, at one point or another question, ‘where my life is going ?’

Fact: Tyrese (From, 2 Fast and 2 Furious) also talked about the deep impact this spoken-word had on him.

  • Waterfall by Faisal Salah

This is poetic, in the video you can hear the natural sound of the waterfall and the natural voice of the artist, It’s absolutely serene and meditative.

  • Wherever You Are by Sami Yusuf

Finally, this one centres me, honestly they all do. But this one is for my wandering soul who, is in search for of God’s light. In the pandemic, life has been hard, in this pandemic, I also, like others, have felt free of stress and restraint. I think the big lesson, I learned is that nothing is in our control, we do not know when this pandemic will end, but to remain strong, sane, and free, such art is needed.

Centre by Sami Yusuf - Source: Google Image

This list is just a small sample of my Zen-In-A-Trance Playlist, there is way more than this, in the playlist, but if I was to include them all here the article will never see the end. Every masterpiece centres me, shakes my soul, strengthens my faith, makes my soul travel and wander, gives me goosebumps, makes me ponder and helps me communicate with my soul.

By Simon Infanger on Unsplash

It is, for me the best Zen Playlist.

It’s not limited; by the level of spirituality one has, or by ones’ believes, or by the languages of the world, or by the various of art forms and definitely not by this pandemic.

I was not going to enter this challenge and now I have written two pieces, (do keep and eye out for the other), in less than 48 hours.

I guess this topic spoke to me, and it wanted me to share a piece of my spirituality with you all. I hope you all do take the time out to listen to the masterpieces of my playlist.

By Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

I appreciate the ♥️ and support.

Till next time.

pop culture
4

About the Creator

WritingOfTheHeart™️

S. Adina

MSc Psychology

Writing is therapeutic, creative & passionate.

I only write that which is in my heart (hence the name) some will connect & some will not. Don’t let that stop you from

writing.

Instagram: @WritingOfTheHeart

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.