Beat logo

My all time favourites in one playlist is my escape from reality of COVID

My Playlist, My Sanctuary, My Escape; throughout COVID

By WritingOfTheHeart™️Published 3 years ago 22 min read
4
My all time favourites in one playlist is my escape from reality of COVID
Photo by Mohammad Metri on Unsplash

I was not going to enter in this challenge, as I was working on an idea for another challenge I liked and was writing and then rewriting.

When frustrated by my writing, I came on Vocal, refreshed the page, which I left on challenges and there it was Zen Playlist, on the cover a beautiful person, Zen like with headphones on, I read the requirements and gave it a thought, ‘shall I?’

Even though I love music on a deeper level, I also consider my Playlist to be my escape from reality and it reflects in my playlist, but I was already stuck on writing other pieces, and dedicating my time their, so I said ‘no’ and moved on.

However in the back of mind while I was rewriting one of my current piece, this challenge kept creeping up on me and then within 24 hours I had an idea, and started writing in the speed of light (as fast a my thumbs could) and completed the entire article in 24 hours (give or take).

By bruce mars on Unsplash

Why These Songs;

I am not one who listens to new music daily, heck I don’t even keep up to date with the latest songs or trends and I probably wouldn’t even be able to mention a latest hit song or a new artist if you’d asked me.

Oh gosh, I’m not as bad as you think, I still do listen to relevant artist, I just have my personal favourites that’s all, such as Ed Sheeran, Adele, Maroon 5, Justin Timberlake, and so many more.

If you’re looking to find relevantly current songs, you’ve come to the wrong place.

By Dingzeyu Li on Unsplash

Who Am I;

Have you ever met a 26 year old, young woman, who listens to rap, as well as Mozart, who listens to a combination of music from her own era, as well as from the past, way before her parents decade, and who also, listens to foreign music, even though she cannot understand the language.

Well, now you have, “Hi 👋, nice to meet you all” 😊

I’m sure there are more like me, around the world, I would love to know.

My go to Zen playlist most definitely, absolutely, has to consist all my favourites from all genres, languages and era. If that’s the kind of music you’re looking to explore, then you are definitely in the right place, my dear friends.

By Brett Jordan on Unsplash

I am going to be open, honest and speak my mind in this article, I love music and appreciate outstanding music and artists, so it’s only right for me to speak freely. Therefore, do not all of you come at me, chasing me, like my mother does with a slipper or a rolling pin when she’s mad at me (lol, mothers, smh).

Honestly, I’m baffled and lost, at some of the music nowadays kids hurt their eardrums to. I know, I know, ‘how can I say that I’m only 26 don’t worry, I’ve been told I’m an old soul.

Me, I prefer music that calls to my soul, makes me warm, comforts and soothes me. Takes me on a journey of poetry delight, where at one point my toes wiggle and my feet want to dance, then, makes me somber and calm, suddenly, makes me feel powerful and strong and finally like a dream, I would be experiencing romance, love and heartbreak all at once. No matter what time of the day it is and what mood I’m in, I can always reach out to my Zen Playlist.

By J. Kelly Brito on Unsplash

Two Cents for My Thoughts;

American Rap vs UK Garage & Grime

Rap, was introduced to me by my little brother, as we were growing up, and this my opinion, (you can agree to disagree).

As a British, 90s kid, in early-mid 2000’s we too used to listen to American rap, as well as UK garage, most, might not know what UK garage is;

  • It is electronic dance rap music originated in 90s England. It has a blend of grave house, R&B, jungle and dance-pop. UK garage gave rise to subgenres such as speed garage and 2-step, and was then largely subsumed into other styles of music and production in the mid-2000s, including bassline, grime and dubstep. The decline of UK garage during the mid-2000s saw the birth of UK funky, which is closely related. - Source: Wikipedia
  • America, had rap legends like 2pac, Biggie, Vanilla Ice, P Diddy, Easy E, Dr Dre, Eminem, 50 Cent, The Game, and more (most whom I still love listening to), but around 2017, British grime came into the scene, which was developed out of UK garage in 2000s and kept rising. 2017 onwards artist like Stormzy, Skepta, Wiley, Bugzy Malone, Ghetts and Giggs and many more (all I love), emerged in Britain, and after, this the only one American artist that was mostly listened to in UK (according to me) was Drake and few others (who I can not remember), I did try to listen to current hit American raps, I just can’t connect with them, no more.

    Pakistani Music vs Bollywood

    Across the pond, this is between my fellow Indians and Pakistanis, (if you’re not either of the two you can skip this part, if you want). Bollywood music (music that are in Indian movies) were good up until 2017 too (I think), and then it started to decline, and I know most, Indians and Pakistanis will agree that it’s a no brainier, Pakistani music has been ahead of it times, always, as Bollywood always copied Pakistani music and then started bringing in Pakistani artists, (no debates needed, I’m stating facts in terms of music, nothing else and you can check via articles, podcasts etc. and the music scene via YouTube on this matter). Just check the link above.

    But yes I still love some Bollywood music, but my love for Pakistani music has always been there and will remain, till they continue to produce great music.

    My Sanctuary;

    By Cofohint Esin on Unsplash

    I haven’t decided how many songs I will list in this article. Vocal got me talking about my Zen Playlist, my escape from reality and we are in the pandemic, COVID, coronavirus, whatever you want to call it has take over our life’s right now. But this playlist of mine was created a while back and everyday when I find music, I connect with, I continue to add them into this playlist, and hence why this playlist is getting longer (😅).

    This playlist has helped me escape the reality we are in now and once I start to talk about my music, it’s hard for me to stop.

    Before I get to my Zen Playlist, you need to know a few things;

    a) Our music taste are influenced by the people around us, however in order to differentiate ourselves from them we need to find the sliver lining.

    b) My mother has had a big influence on my music, hence why I listen to the oldies regularly, and introduced me to Arabic music.

    c) Being a British-Pakistani I have grown up listening to Asian & English music, as I got older I started to venture out and explore music from other countries. So aspect my playlist to be colourful. 😊

    My Playlist, My Escape;

    Let’s get started and this in no particular order;

    Song No. 1 - Besame Mucho (Kiss Me A lot ) by Andrea Bocelli

    This is fine poetry, I quite recently (a year ago) found this song when I was exploring Mozart, and my university teacher mentioned that Mozart’s Lacrimosa has proven to relax students and focus them on their writing assignments, after Mozart ended, this song came on next and I connected with this way more. P.s. also added in the playlist and I equally love, are the rendition of the same song by Diana Krall and Dean Martin.

    Song No. 2 - 21 Seconds by So Solid Crew

    UK garage, rap and hip hop group. This particular song reminds of my childhood years and the most fascinating fact I discovered in recent years is, (which I can’t believe no-one told me at the time), all 10 members have 21 second to ‘spit their bars’ (rhyme) and yes I calculated it and can confirm they actually do! Amazing!

    Song No. 3 - Chandni Raat (Moonlit Night) by Ali Sethi

    My current favourite Pakistani artist, his voice and songs are deeply soothing. He is the Pakistani version of Michael Bublé (I would say Ali is slightly better), the reason they are similar is because Michael, sings yesteryears songs of previous artists, Ali on other hand is reprising the style of yesteryears such as the ghazal (Urdu poetic singing) in his own songs.

    Song No. 4 - Oh Oh, Jaane Jaana (Oh, My Love) by Kamaal Khan from the movie Pyaar Kiya Toh Darna Kya

    If I want to escape from reality, dance and enter a dream world, Bollywood love songs are my escape, and there are so many to choose from. The voice of Kamaal Khan is fun and playful and I have so many childhood memories with 90s - mid 2000s Bollywood.

    Song No. 5 - Rooted In You by Marjan Vahdat

    A poetic Persian/Farsi song.

    The story behind how I found this song;

    It was coming to midnight and I was up doing my university assignments, while listening to soft, soothing music, a song played while I was engrossed in typing up my paper. At first I thought it was an instrumental, nice, but half way into the song I heard lyrics which I couldn’t make out and new it was foreign, so I stopped working and went on to the YouTube tab I had open and thank God, the video had English lyrics. Once I read the whole song, after it ended, I looked at who it was by ‘Sahalé- Shérazade’ (i didn’t know, which one was the artist name and which one was the song title). I clicked on the YouTube description box, I went on a search, the song I heard was a remix and the artist is a DJ, so I went to search for the original version and finally found Marjan Vahdat poetic and natural voice it gave me goosebumps and called out to my soul and spirit.

    Song No. 6 - Someone Like You by Adele

    This is my everyday song, my go to karaoke song and a song that I can listen to again and again. Oh boy, when I first heard this song it blew me away and the live performance (video above) gave me goosebumps. Literally all of Adele’s songs are in my Zen Playlist.

    Song No. 7 - Aja Mahi (Come My Love) by RDB ft. Metz and Trix

    This is UK Punjabi garage, it has been a big part of my life as there are so many good childhood memories associated to this song and this genre; every time I listen to this upbeat track, I have to dance or tap my feet to it.

    Song No. 8 - All Eyez On Me by 2Pac

    The legend, the best of American rap artist is non-other than 2Pac. I connect more with his rap than other rap artist and his writing is poetic and intelligent.

    Song No. 9 - I’d Do Anything For Love by Meatloaf

    I love subtle rock music and this is just an epic masterpiece from Meatloaf.

    Song No. 10 - Habibi, Ya Nour El Ain (My Darling, You Are The Light Of My Eyes) by Amr Diab

    Arabic music is just so soothing and Amr Diab’s every song, be it Tamally Maak, Qusad Eniy and El Alem Allah, they are all easy to listen.

    Fun fact: his songs were copied worldwide.

    Song No. 11 - Callin U by Outlandish

    When I was young there was a music channel on Sky TV called B4U it used to play songs which are in Hindi/Urdu/Punjabi mix with English and the artist were from all over the world as well as residing back home.

    Till this day I don’t how Outlandish (a Denmark band) song, the song that introduced me to the band, the song that broke the charts ‘Walou’ my all time favourite came on the channel. Cause ‘Walou’ was all English and had a verse of Spanish from Lenny Martinez, but I guess, because the band members, also includes Isam B (Moroccan) and Waqas (Pakistani). Anyways, I still listen to all their music and was upset when the band split.

    Song No. 12 - Feeling Good by Nina Simone

    Yes, I have the 60s and this is Simone’s best written and poetic, feel good song.

    Song No. 13 - Mere Mehboob Qayamat Hogi (My Love A Calamity Will Befall) by Kishore Kumar

    Retro is my guilty pleasure, this is 60s Bollywood, and believe me they had some good music. Also love the rendition by the band, Sanam.

    Song No. 14 - Boom Boom by Nazia Hassan

    Another retro this time Pakistani’s 80s Disco. 💃🏽

    Nazia Hassan was known as the Queen of Disco also sang live for BBC, I just love her fun Disco music.

    Song No. 15 - I Can’t Help Falling In Love With You by Elvis Presley

    It is sung by the King of Rock & Roll! I am in love with the song and since I saw it in the movie, Crazy Rich Asians, I want this song to be my wedding song or my future husband to sing it to me (lol)

    P.s. Love both renditions by Kina Grannis and Haley Reinhart

    Song No. 16 - Bad by Michael Jackson

    Everyone knows the King of Pop, and MJ is my all time favourite and go-to artist. I have every single one of his songs in my Playlist!

    Song No. 17 - Don’t Worry, Be Happy by Bob Marley

    The King of Reggae has to be included, and reggae is OG zen music! It is hard for me to choose only one classic reggae tune. 😬

    Song No. 18 - Believe by Cher

    I have strong childhood memories with this song, my mum had a cassette of Cher’s song and we would sing a long and dance to her music. Cher is Queen of Pop, no one can deny that, it was difficult for me to not get carried away and add more for her songs here, for you all. 😅

    Song No. 19 - Tumhe Dillagi Bhool Jaani Padegi (You Will Have To Forget all Infatuation) by Ustad Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan

    This playlist would have been incomplete if I did not include the King of Qawwali, what is Qawwali music you ask; it is a form of Sufi Islamic or devotional singing, originating from the South Asia, (Popular in Pakistan, India and Bangladesh). The song I added here is not Islamic, it is a devotional love poetry for the lover.

    Song No. 20 - The North’s Face by Bugzy Malone

    One of the best UK grime artist that has risen up, there is more grime artist that are in my playlist, but this article is getting longer.

    Song No. 21 - Fallin’ by Alicia Keys

    Her voice is just amazing and soothing, and this song is one of her masterpiece.

    Song No. 22 - Für Elise by Beethoven

    A timeless classic, whenever I listen to this, my desire to play the piano increases. One day I will master this art.

    Song No. 23 - Lady by Kenny Rogers

    Such a beautiful love song, Kenny Rogers, voice is just amazing and reminds of Lionel Richie!

    Song No. 24 - Aaj Jaane Ki Zid Na Karo (Tonight, Do Not Insist Upon Leaving) by Farida Khanum

    My love for Urdu ghazal (Urdu poetry) many will not understand, many will seem surprised and shocked, due to it being a type of genre the elderly listen too, but I don’t care and Farida Khanum was and is one of the best Female ghazal singer. Timeless voice, timeless genre and timeless ghazals of the 70s.

    Song No. 25 - Ain’t No Sunshine by Bill Withers

    The definition of Smooth Soul and this is yet another one of my go-to songs. Also loved it when it played in the movie, Notting Hill and Hugh Grant is walking the streets of London. Classic.

    Song No. 26 - What A Wonderful World by Louis Armstrong

    You cannot, not listen to the legend Louis Armstrong and not, not feel good, light and happy afterwards. King of Soul and Jazz.

    Song No. 27 - Diamond by Gurnam Bhullar

    This is my dance song, Punjabi music always, gets me dancing and I really love the ending where the woman tells him, if he claims to love her and wants to marry her, then he should be a gentleman and come to her home with his family and ask for her hand in marriage, from her father, (take heed gentlemen).

    Song No. 28 - Bahçede Yeşil Çinar (A Sycamore In The Garden) by Aytekin Ataş featuring Fahriye Evcen

    Turkish is another language I love and I wish I could speak it fluently. This is the first Turkish song, drama and novel, I came across, it is poetic and romantic, and I loved the Drama Series Çalıkuşu (LoveBird).

    Song No. 29 - Wicked Games by James Vincent McMorrow

    I love the lyrics to this song, it is beautiful and powerful. I know the original is by Chris Isaak (and I love that too) but I was introduced to this version first.

    Song No. 30 - Malang (Devotee) by Sahir Ali Bagga and Aima Baig

    This duet is the best in Pakistani music industry, and they sung 3 songs together (all my favourites), this song is a celebration of love. Another one which gets me grooving.

    Song No. 31 - Ready or Not by Fugees

    Smooth soul & sharp rapping! Lauryn Hill’s melodic harmonies! A powerful tune, also love ‘Killing Me Softly.’

    Song No. 32 - Gangsta's Paradise by Coolio, Kylian Mash, and Rico Bernasconi

    “As I walk through the valley of the shadow of death

    I take a look at my life, and realize there's nothin' left”

    The lyrics are just powerful, this is my tough girl tune. Giving no s**ts about anything.

    Song No. 33 - Woh Humsafar Tha (He Was My Co-Journeyer) by QB (Quratul Ain Baloch) and Abida Parveen

    Two legendary ladies with powerful voices! This was originally a popular Pakistani ghazal, sung first by Abida Parveen in the 70s.

    QB then sang this for a Pakistani drama ‘Humsafar’ in 2011, which then actually became the number one hit and watched drama, as well as a hit song in 2011 and onwards all around the world in South Asian communities, which is how I came across this soulful melody.

    Song No. 34 - Need You Now by Lady Antebellum

    Oh My Days, When this song came out I was in high school, and on weekends when it was after midnight I would listen to this masterpiece. This is smooth country soul. Enjoy.

    Song No. 35 - Tera Rang Balle Balle (Your Complexion is Great! Great!) by Jaspinder Narula and Sonu Nigam

    Another Bollywood song from the movie, Solider, for you all, loved listening to this as I grew up, 90s to mid 2000s Bollywood was the best.

    Song No. 36 - Perfect by Ed Sheeran

    I love every Ed Sheeran song out there, he is by far the best UK singer and his songs are, everyone’s cup of tea.

    Song No. 37 - Senorita by Shawn Mendes and Camila Cabello

    How can you not love this song, after so long a great song came that gave me subtle vibes to dance like how I do, when I listen to Shakira’s, Hips Don’t Lie.

    Song No. 38 - Aakdan by Tanishq Kaur

    I love this song, it is fun, quirky and Punjabi!

    Song No. 39 - Despacito by Luis Fonsi and Daddy Yankee

    My go to Spanish song, when this released, I had it on replay and kept dancing!

    Song No. 40 - Many Men by 50 Cent

    Introduced to me by brother as he always listened to rap, (not saying that he doesn’t listen to any other genre, he does and he has really good taste in music). Hardcore rap track!

    Song No. 41 - Boohey Baaariyan (Doors and Windows) by Hadiqa Qiani

    This reminds me of my childhood, the song was released when I first visited Pakistan over the summer holidays at the age of 6 and every time it was on the radio, I loved it and used to sing along, though I couldn’t catch all the words.

    Song No. 42 - Sah Ruk Da (Breath Has Stopped) by RDB Ft Gubi Sandhu & Metz and Trix

    Old School UK Bhangra-garage, back in the days every pre-wedding event had UK Bhangra-garage playing and everyone was dancing. A classic!

    Song No. 43 - Kuch Is Tarah (Something Like This) by Atif Aslam

    My go-to sad love song, it always remains in the back of my mind, and when I’m deep in thought, the song pops-up and Atif Aslam voice just takes me away.

    Song No. 44 - Welcome to Jamrock By Damian Marley

    After Bob Marley, Damian took over Reggae, there are several of his songs I love. I wish, I could include them all here. 😅

    Song No. 45 - Piān Piān (Always Always) by Dilraba Dilmurat and Silence Wang

    Yes, I listen to Chinese artists too the love grew after watching, Chinese fantasy dramas and movies, even though I can’t follow the lyrics and will need English translations to guide me through, I just love the sound, it really defines, the power of music.

    Song No. 46 - Sajna (Beloved) by Yashal Shahid

    Yashal Shahid has a powerhouse of a voice, it is raw, gritty, and just powerful. The song will give you goosebumps.

    Fact: Original was sung by Sibtain Khalid

    Song No. 47 - Teri Tasveer (Your Photograph) by Bayaan

    Pakistan has many bands that are new, popular and powerful, most of their genre is indie-rock infused with smooth soul, this track is very emotional and soothing.

    Song No. 48 - Dhoop (Sun) by Kashmir the Band

    Another one of my favourite new Pakistani band, I would say (not disrespecting other Pakistani bands) but after the legendary Pakistani band Junoon, Kashmir are my second or third favourites (cause there is also another favourite, Entity Paradigm EP). But this song is soulful and composition drifts me away into my deep thoughts.

    Song No. 49 - Nae Mameul Bolsu Issnayo (Can You See My Heart) by Heize

    K-drama and K-songs. My love for Korean dramas has introduced me to there music and this is just one of my favourites out of 100+ that I am discovering everyday.

    Song No. 50 - Tennessee Whiskey by Chris Stapleton

    My country-rock karaoke song. I found this great tune, after a video went viral of a father and daughter doing a carpool karaoke to this song and ever since have loved the song.

    Song No. 51 - Moon River by Audrey Hepburn

    Ah, Breakfast at Tiffany’s! Sitting by the window singing Moon River! This is all things classical, which I love.

    Yes, I also have the original by Andy Williams.

    Song No. 52 - All Over by Lisa Maffia

    This is my power tune! To feel strong, to spit some bars and rhymes like Lisa Maffia! My tough girl track!

    Song No. 53 - Sway by Dean Martin

    Oh, this song makes me want to sway all the way! And the magical and charming voice of Dean Martin, is how I would end this article.

    I’m done! finally! What a marathon! What a journey it’s been of music & memories! It has been delight to revisit these melodies with you all, as this is what I always reach too and have been frequently listening to through the pandemic.

    By Massimo Sartirana on Unsplash

    I know 53 songs are way too much for this article, but I couldn’t stop and through these songs you will have enough information in understanding my zen personality and how I am coping through this pandemic.

    GIF - Source: Google

    My Zen playlist consists of more than 100 or 200 songs, I’m not lying! I haven’t added all of my favourites here from artists, like; Sting’s Dessert Rose or Sean Paul, Rudimental, Emilia Sande, T-Swift, Aerosmith, Guns ‘n Roses, Evanescence, Robbie Williams, Oasis, ABBA, Salt & Peppa, Vanilla Ice, Lionel Riche, Justin Timberlake, IU, Hozier, Khalid, Black Eyed Peas, Entity Paradigm, Junoon, Rag ‘n’ Bone, Eminem and there are so much more, and if I were to add them here this article will not be approved. Best to stop now!

    Just one last Bonus Song for you all! 😉

    Just to let you all know, I have a separate Zen Playlist which feeds my soul and spirituality. 😏

    Q&A;

    A question to all, do you read the lyrics of all the songs you listen to?

    I do, it first started out for me with rap music as rappers would spit those bars like lighting and I couldn’t keep up, then ventured into family karaoke or sing-alongs (duh, you need to read the lyrics) and then as I developed interest listening to foreign music, I would have to find the English translation to my favourites, after I did this I felt a deeper connection with all the songs, music and lyrics; and ever since, every song I listen to, I look for the lyrics or translations and end up zen like.

    Would love to hear if you all do the same, and do let me know if you check out the songs I listed. I recommend you do, you can reach out to me on my socials.

    ~

    If you enjoyed reading this article of my Zen Playlist, then do give a ❤️. Plus a share and tip (would be appreciated!).

    I hope you have enjoyed this article, as much as I have enjoyed writing it, do check more of my writings on my page.

    Till next time 😉

    playlist
    4

    About the Creator

    WritingOfTheHeart™️

    S. Adina

    MSc Psychology

    Writing is therapeutic, creative & passionate.

    I only write that which is in my heart (hence the name) some will connect & some will not. Don’t let that stop you from

    writing.

    Instagram: @WritingOfTheHeart

    Reader insights

    Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

    How does it work?

    Add your insights

    Comments

    There are no comments for this story

    Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sign in to comment

      Find us on social media

      Miscellaneous links

      • Explore
      • Contact
      • Privacy Policy
      • Terms of Use
      • Support

      © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.