Longevity logo

Exercise Challenge (Pt. 10)

Days 55-70

By Michelle FrankPublished 5 years ago 5 min read
Like
This is my weigh in.

During this stretch of days, you will notice that there was almost a week of no exercise. This was due to coming down sick with the cold bug that has been running rampant in my area. For me, it started off with a sore throat, then became a serious case of the chills. I went through a two hour stretch of sweating. This went on for a few days and my throat hurt so bad at times I could barely talk. I lived on chicken noodle soup, ginger ale, jello and pudding as I could not eat anything else. I also had to deal with a very sore mouth, which was strange. I had a distinct lack of strength and energy so, I spent each day in bed resting. As soon as I was feeling better, I began working out again, but had to start slow and build myself back up.

Without further ado, here is the next installment of my exercise challenge...

Day 55 of 365 Days of Exercise Challenge:

Today I climbed eight flights of stairs, played with my grandson (chased him around the house), did 10 squats, 10 wall pushups, and got in 689 steps. My step count is low, but I am feeling all that I did in my muscles.

Day 56 of 365 Days of Exercise Challenge:

Today I climbed four flights of stairs, played with my grandson and put in 3,176 steps.

Day 57 of 365 Days of Exercise Challenge:

While I may have spent almost 12 hours in total sitting today, I still managed to climb nine flights of stairs and got in 3,035 steps!

Day 58 of 365 Days of Exercise Challenge:

Today was spent doing absolutely nothing but resting due to coming down sick.

Days 59-61 Days of Exercise Challenge:

I know when I began this challenge I said that I wouldn't allow anything, including sickness, to keep me from working out. However, better judgement prevailed and has kept me in bed these last several days so I can get over this bug that I caught! I have managed to log at least 600 steps each day, but that is about it for movement other than tossing and turning in bed!

Day 62 of 365 Days of Exercise Challenge:

Today was another day of resting so I can get over the bug that has plagued me for almost a week, but I did put in almost 700 steps from walking around the house.

Day 63 of 365 Days of Exercise Challenge:

I am feeling much better today, so I got out and about for about an hour today. The hubby, son and I went to three different stores to get stuff for supper and I got in a total of 1,413 steps. I also shoveled off the porch in front of the house door and the steps. I couldn't do any more than that today, but it is a start.

Day 64 of 365 Days of Exercise Challenge:

Today was my best day of the last week. It is great having energy and strength back! I climbed four and a half flights of stairs, took 2,818 steps, did light exercises in the therapy pool for 45 minutes. Then, I did an hour of aqua aerobics class. Normally on Tuesdays and Thursdays I walk the track before I swim, but today I decided against it because I want to take things slow and easy getting back into it. Since I was sick on the third and didn't do my weigh in, I will do it tomorrow afternoon.

Day 65 of 365 Days of Exercise Challenge:

I didn't get my weigh in done today but tomorrow is a new day! Today I did four flights of stairs and put in 1,907 steps. Not much compared to yesterday, but enough for today.

Day 66 of 365 Days of Exercise Challenge:

I weighed in this morning and have lost three pounds! Tonight I went to the YMCA where I walked five laps around the track putting in a total of 3,259 steps as of right now. Then, I did an hour of aqua aerobics. During swim class I did two reps of five pull ups on the diving platform, did our normal workout and during said workout, did approximately 100 crunches. We jog in the water, do jumping jacks, jump rope, do dancer kicks and a lot more! I also climbed three flights of stairs.

Day 67 of 365 Days of Exercise Challenge:

Today I danced to one and a half songs, climbed six flights of stairs and logged a total of 1,811 steps.

Day 68 of 365 Days of Exercise Challenge:

Today was a low impact exercise day. I did a little dancing and got in 1,069 steps. My energy levels were low so, that's why my exercise was low.

Day 69 of 365 Days of Exercise Challenge:

Today I did 10 pushups against the entertainment center, two reps of 10 squats, 10 leg lifts per leg while on back, 10 per leg while on side. I walked around the house to log 1,064 steps, swayed in place for five minutes with my grandson to put him to sleep, did 10 pelvic thrusts and before going to bed, I will have climbed 10 flights of stairs.

Day 70 of 365 Days of Exercise Challenge:

Today was a light day of exercise. I walked around the house and walked around my consumers house, putting in a total of 1,919 steps. Now that I am working, I need to figure out an exercise routine that will work with my schedule.

I am working split shifts with only a couple of hours in between, so I am thinking that I will either do my exercises in the morning before work, or in the afternoon between shifts. My new job interferes with my ability to do aqua aerobics now so, I will have to do the exercises on my own during the day. I am hoping that the split shifts don't last too long, but I will deal with them for as long as I have to. In the meantime, I will keep plugging away at doing exercises on my own.

weight loss
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Frank

I'm a mom of 6, grandma to 2 and a wife of 16 yrs and counting. I have been to hell and back several times and have survived it each time thanks in large part to my husband. When I write, I do so from the heart and from personal experience.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.