Longevity logo

Essential Oils For Adrenal Support

They’re Not Just Lovely Smells

By Kate StrongPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo Credit: Adobe Stock

Thyroid

I am on a journey at the moment to support my endocrine system. I was diagnosed with early-stage hyperthyroidism after being on the ketogenic diet for 5 months, which I was eating because I was assessed as having metabolic syndrome. I had previously had hyperthyroidism 5 years earlier and essential oil blends for thyroid support were extremely helpful in my recovery process. I had been 4 years in range for my thyroid levels, and I was tentative eating keto because I know the thyroid needs carbs to function well.

My T3 and T4 were in range, but my TSH levels were very low. I am having monthly blood tests and my levels are rising very slowly.

I also learned that thyroid issues usually are an imbalance somewhere in the endocrine system.

Adrenal Glands

I did a bit of reading online and came to realize that the TSH levels were more an indication of the relationship between the pituitary gland and adrenal glands than of the thyroid. I knew about adrenal fatigue and chronic fatigue syndrome all too well as I suffered from it for quite some time in my 40s and early 50s when my adrenal function was causing my energy levels to tank.

I also learned that the nervous system rules over the endocrine system and most of my life I had suffered in some way with nervous tension, later to become PTSD. So finding ways to calm and soothe myself and lower my stress hormone cortisol levels will also have an effect on the endocrine system.

Symptoms of adrenal fatigue I likened to having one foot on the brake and one foot on the accelerator in life. Wanting to push forward but part of you is stopping yourself also. So your adrenals are always idling. Which really is a chronic stress response, which can have an effect on your immune system as well.

Menopause

In menopause, the ovaries pass the baton to the adrenal glands, and that can be why they are more taxed. It may be why my adrenals have an issue.

Weight Gain

Adrenal issues can be the cause of weight gain, especially stubborn belly fat that you’ve tried everything to lose.

Essential Oils

Essential oils come from the bark, stems, roots, flowers, seeds, and other parts of plants and are distilled to create an oil that is way more powerful in strength than herbs.

Smelling the oils from the bottle is the fastest way to affect your mood. Smell affects the limbic system in the brain and is connected to emotion and memory. It’s not just a lovely smell, it’s actually therapeutic.

The oils can be used in a diffuser, they can be used on the skin, either neat or diluted in a carrier oil like fractionated coconut oil or jojoba oil, and some can be taken internally. Ideally, you need to test them out on your skin in a patch test. You can also add a few drops to a bath. (Don’t use citrus oils in the bath) . You can add drops of oils in a roller bottle and make up blends.

When using on your body rub drops of essential oil into the soles of your feet, neck, spine, heart, wrists.

I use DoTerra Essential Oils, The reason I chose DoTerra oils is that they are certified therapeutic grade.

Best Essential Oils for Adrenal Support

Any oil that makes you feel good will be good to use. The oils I like change over time depending on what my health conditions are.

There are various symptoms of adrenal fatigue and the following are essential oils to use:

Mental and Emotional Stress

Emotion and Aromatherapy Oils, Wild Orange, Adaptiv, Bergamot, Roman Chamomile.

Physical Stress

Like chronic illness, too much exercise, pushing yourself too hard, travel.

Lavender, Geranium, Roman Chamomile, Marjoram

Environmental Stress

Like pollutants, bodycare products, toxins, fragrances, oxidative stress

Helichrysum, Rosemary, Juniper Berry, Zendocrine

Better Sleep

Lavender, Serenity, Cedarwood, Vetiver, Adaptiv, Roman Chamomile

Headaches

Deep Blue, Frankincense, Copiaba, Zendocrine

Anxiety/Panic Attacks

My 9 Oils for Anxiety, Adaptiv, Wild Orange, Magnolia, Neroli

Seasonal Allergies

Breathe, Lavender, Lemon, Pink Pepper, Frankincense

Irritability and Anger

Lavender, Ylang ylang, Cedarwood, Blue Tansy, Adaptiv

Sugar Cravings and Blood Sugar Imbalance

Cinnamon, Cardamom

Back Pain

Deep Blue, Cypress, Eucalyptus, Roman Chamomile, Peppermint

Menopause

Clary Calm, Cypress, Lavender, Basil, Roman Chamomile

Overall Health long term can benefit from the use of essential oils. Small tweaks and lifestyle changes can help lower stress hormones and adrenal insufficiency using pure essential oils to obtain hormone balance.

Kate Strong is an Intuitive/Healer and specializes in soul healings, the emotion code, body code, cord-cutting, past life healings, ancestral healings and she writes courses. Ask her about how to get wholesale prices for Essential Oils.

She also likes to blog about lots of different topics on mind, body, spirit.

You can find her at https://www.katestrong.com, where you can sign up for her newsletter.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Kate Strong

Kate Strong Intuitive Healer 🌸

💚I help people clear blocks to health,wealth,peace🌼

💜Via Healing,Essential Oils,NZ Flower Essences🌸

💛With Soul,Past Life,Cord Cutting Healings🌲

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.