Longevity logo

Don’t Worry Be Stretched

Stretchology

By Karen EyoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Curiosity with Stretchology had me visiting their Lab in London. My body was crying out for help and it was a cry for help I could not ignore. I booked a session for 1hr and was greeted and seated and treated to an experience of a lifetime. I had put on a good stone in weight and was menopausal which had my moods swinging back and forth up and down until I could no longer tolerate myself let alone family and friends.

I totally allowed my body to feel heavier in the hands of the stretchologist and it was then when his hands begun to bend me and handle me as though I were putty in his hands.

With every stretch I let out my deep breathing skills I had learnt in Yoga and also from my sister who is a master of breathing techniques. The deeper the stretch the stronger the breath became and a rhythm attached itself to the flow and technique of the stretchologist capable hands.

My legs felt tight as they were raised higher and the hamstrings felt like they were singing soprano or better still I was about to let out a mighty bellow. The stretch was held for a good 30 seconds and for a brief second I thought I would break and snap but the next move into the Gluteus Maximus took it all to another level of “Waaaah “

I felt my Glute muscle expand and the stretchologist reassured me that the capacity of the biggest muscle in the body being stretched will help me become flexible and versatile both resulting in strength to walk further, climb stairs for longer and sleep better.

With that new found information I eased into every stretch efficiently as if an awakening and revelation had shone its light on me. The body relies on me to go beyond what is comfortable. With the calming instrumental music in the background I drift into a zone like no other. All sense of imbalance and stress begin to melt away and I felt weary knotted muscles were being smoothed out with the motions of gentle strong hands of the stretchologist.

My toes were stretched back and forth and the little piggy toe wanted to cry Wee wee wee but instead I scrunched my face up reacting to the lack of mobility to spread each toe. Once I got into child’s pose my back, hips and thighs along with my spine released my anxiety and I could have easily have fallen asleep in this pose and it reminded me of when I was a kid bringing back memories of innocence and warmth and playfulness.

Coming out of child’s pose I felt energy rise in my head and was assisted to sit at the end of the stretch bed with my hands interlocked behind my head.

The stretchologist proceeded to lift my elbows up from behind and draw me backwards where I felt my chest lift up and my deltoids stretch like wings about to take off. At once I drew a deep breath and exhaled with another might bellow.

When I walked through these doors I never imagined for one minute what sensation could feel like. Short of feeling sensational it was euphoric and my sense of tranquility was overwhelming. I made my way to the bathroom after my final head and neck stretch and for a second did not recognise the face in the mirror. It was as if all the pain and tension had been erased, my legs felt light and my upper body upright and loose. How could 1 hr of ones life given over to another a complete stranger magically transform this woman who had walked in feeling broken and weary to feeling mended and recovered?

I immediately went to the front desk and booked my next 5 sessions to assist me with my future goals of rejuvenation, renewal, strength, and well-being so that 2022 can be the year I vow to live my best life in sickness and in health.

health
1

About the Creator

Karen Eyo

Stretchologist and Poet of great strength and resilience past, present and future

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.