Longevity logo

Doctors Are Human Beings Not Gods on a Pedestal

Guess what? Doctors are not perfect!

By Carolann SherwoodPublished 6 years ago 5 min read
Like
pixabay.comDoctors are not gods. Doctors are not perfect.Doctors are subject to error. Doctors are human like you and me.

It is for the reasons above that it is your right to question your doctor. It is your right to have undivided time with your doctor and ask questions. It is your right to receive the right answers to your nagging health questions and concerns.

I started my nursing career in the mid-1960s. Things have sure changed, including attitudes about doctors. Back in the 1960s, I remember that the instructors trained the nurses to treat the doctors like gods.

  • The nurse always got up while very busy and gave them their chair.
  • The nurse was at the disposal of the doctor.
  • The nurse never, ever questioned the doctor when he wrote an order or told the nurse to do something. If the doctor told the nurse to do something and it was the wrong thing to do, guess whom the doctor blamed for the mistake. It was not the doctor.

Nurses Are Not Perfect, Either

pixabay.com

Nurses can question the actions of any doctor.

Nurses can refuse to follow through with any doctor orders if they feel the order is in error.

Nurses are not gods, either. They are not perfect, because they are human and any human is subject to error.

Nonetheless, nurses are the eyes and ears of the doctor. They know the patient better then the doctor knows their patient. Nurses stand alert to catch medical errors, and I am relieved to know that these days nurses now pose questions to the doctor about medication and treatment orders he/she wrote.

If the doctor's orders do not sound right, the nurse is within her rights to refuse to administer medications or treatments until he or she consults the doctor and questions the doctor. Years ago, a nurse or patient never thought about questioning a doctor.

It is too bad that many still believe that the doctor is never wrong. What I discovered many years ago was that doctors are a person, like any other person, except for the education they received. Doctors put their pants on just like everyone else. They make mistakes.

Doctors have more knowledge and experience, however; they are no better than I am. As a new nurse, I came to the obvious conclusion; doctors are not gods, by any means. No one should put a doctor on a pedestal as some people still manage to do.

Your Responsibility is to Take Control of Your Health

You must take control of your health. No doctor takes full control of personal health issues except for you the patient. It is your responsibility to question the doctor about medications, drug side effects, signs, and symptoms of medications, illnesses, and disease processes.

It is your responsibility to tell the doctor what is bothering you. Never permit the doctor to brush off legitimate concerns. It is the responsibility of the doctor to follow through on any of your concerns.

The physician is responsible for diagnosing then talking with you about the diagnosis and what is troubling you. You should never allow the doctor to tell you, "It is in your imagination." I have seen this happen many times and experienced these remarks. This brush off may be due to,

  • Perhaps the doctor is in a hurry and cannot talk in depth at that minute.
  • Perhaps the doctor did not know the answer.
  • I am very sorry to say that maybe this doctor simply does not care, bottom line.

"It's All In Your Mind."

pixabay.com

If you experience unknown signs and symptoms, and tell your doctor, never let the doctor tell you, "It is all in your mind."

A Personal Example

In the 1980s, I had some symptoms, and even though I was a nurse, I did not have a clue what was wrong with me. Some days, I hurt all over with stabbing like pains. One day my right ankle had intermittent stabbing pain. Tomorrow, this ankle pain would go away and the same things would be in one of my elbows.

This scattered unpredictable pain was enough for me to have to use an over the counter pain relief that proved ineffective. I talked about this with my physician, and he wrote me off, as though I was a hypochondriac. This remark made me furious, because I was not crazy. I knew what I was experiencing, how dare him to tell me this was in my head!

This doctor ordered a stronger pain medication to take when the pain got too intense. In other words, my doctor did not have a clue what was wrong with me, so just ordered a pain pill to mask the discomfort.

When I could not stand the pain anymore, after almost a year, I changed doctors and saw a Holistic Medical Doctor. This doctor had earned a Medical Degree in addition to a Holistic Medical Degree, the best of two different worlds.

This new doctor did some blood work and said I had symptoms of Fibromyalgia. A bit later this doctor confirmed this elusive diagnosis. He added that this illness is difficult to diagnosis. He said, "It takes time and consideration."

I was like any other person without a medical background. I had heard very little about Fibromyalgia, so I had to educate myself. Nowadays I have found that when a doctor cannot give the patient a definitive diagnosis, they dismiss the patient's concerns. Many times it seems as though he or she cannot be bothered.

This doctor did some tests to confirm his diagnosis was correct. He was right and told me I did not need pain pills and set a plan in place to treat this fibromyalgia nutritionally.

For the first time in months, I was feeling better. I have had barely any pain or problems since I switched my diet. This diagnosis was 20-years ago. I have occasional issues, but at least I know what is happening.

The bottom line is, if you are not getting answers from the doctor, perhaps it is time to find a new doctor who will communicate, show you deserved consideration, and take time with you. Find a doctor that declares he or she will put your needs foremost.

**Never forget that you must be sensitive to your doctor's time. Never waste his or her time with unnecessary chit-chat.

Times Have Changed

In these days it is now the responsibility of everyone to take control of his or her health. You have to take this responsibility, because no one else will, including your doctor.

A form of learning comes along with this control. Read and find out as much as you can about any diagnosis on your record. Become informed and take control of your health.

Are You an Ideal Patient?

  • Do you learn about your diagnoses and medications?
  • Do you watch for and report any possible medication side effects to your doctor?
  • Do you work your doctor?
  • Do you keep the communication lines open with your doctor?
  • Do you have the nerve to disagree with your doctor if the situation arises and your feelings are strong enough?
  • Do you follow your doctor's advice and are you in agreement with your plan of care?

It is impossible for your doctor to know everything. The doctor learns every day just you and I. The bottom line is every person must take control of his or her own health by,

  • Being an informed patient
  • Communicating with the doctor
  • Asking questions and expecting good answers and solutions.

References

Personal Experience

health
Like

About the Creator

Carolann Sherwood

Professional nurse for over 40 years

Owned a children's daycare, eight years

Owned an upper scale clothing resale shop

A freelance writer

Editor since 2010 on a writing platform site

A published author, "Return To The Past" available on Amazon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.