Longevity logo

Devising New Lifestyle Habits

My Attempt at a Healthier Lifestyle

By Nicole Higginbotham-HoguePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
12
Devising New Lifestyle Habits
Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

I’ve always considered myself an active person, but after I had two children, I noticed that I was experiencing issues that I never had before. First of all, I had gained weight, and I was having trouble getting the weight off. Second, I was having issues where I would begin to fall asleep in the middle of the day, and last but not least, my heart rate was escalating at random times.

Now, of course, I went to a doctor to check all of this out, but after the doctor came up empty-handed, I knew that I needed to do something different. I was in the works of finding a solution when my sister-in-law and her spouse gifted me with a Fitbit.

Normally, I would never buy one of these contraptions on my own. I know that they are expensive, and I didn’t have enough knowledge to understand all the functions that were on it. In fact, all I knew was that a Fitbit tracked how many steps a person took in a day, and I had found several free apps that did the same thing.

Nevertheless, since I had received this item for free, I figured that I might as well try it out. We hooked the watch to the Fitbit app on my phone. My sister-in-law’s spouse showed me the functions, and I went home to explore them on my own. The first thing that I found interesting on this small watch was that it tracked my beats per minute. I had been worried about my heart rate, so this was important to me, and I found out quickly that my bpm was too high. The watch allowed me to see where my bpm was during rest and where it was during activity. I noticed that my bpm was in the weight loss range during my resting times, and I quickly worked to bring it down. Not knowing how to do this, I explored the tips feature that the Fitbit app had. Now, the tips were helpful. It showed me that if I lost a certain amount of weight and completed a specific amount of steps during the day, I would be able to lower my bpm. Therefore, I tried it.

After two weeks, my resting bpm was lowered, and I focused on the other items that the Fitbit tracked. The next item that I noticed was the sleep function. The watch tracked when a person fell asleep, how long they slept, and when they woke up. This helped me gauge how much sleep I was getting and compare it to what I was supposed to be getting. The Fitbit also showed when I was in a light sleep, a deep sleep, awake, and when my REM cycle was. I found this useful as I had been battling with fatigue, and this helped show why I might be having that issue.

Also, since my doctor had been worried in the past about sleep apnea, I checked out the function that documented my breathing while I slept. It showed me if I was in a normal range, and the times in which I wasn’t. By using this function, I noticed that more times than not, I was in a normal breathing range during sleep, and it made me wonder if I just suffered from anxiety before bed. Knowing that I had chamomile tea for this type of issue, I moved on.

The last thing that I checked was my amount of exercise. The Fitbit tracks if you get 20 minutes or more of good exercise in a day. It shows how many stairways you walk up, and it also tracks your steps. I knew that I was supposed to get 10,000 steps a day from the recommendations on this device, so I aimed to do that.

Though I haven’t been using this item for very long, I do have to say that I recommend it. Along with tracking my bpm, sleep habits, and exercise routine, it helps me keep track of my diet and calorie count, water intake, and even moments that I may take for meditation and self-care. I think that it is important to keep track of this information, and though I thought I had been doing that in the past, I found the assistance of the Fitbit to be very useful to me. Therefore, if you are looking for something to help you monitor your daily habits, I would consider the Fitbit. It has helped me set my health goals, and I know it could help you too.

*I use a Fitbit Charge 3, but there are more upgraded versions at this time.

lifestyle
12

About the Creator

Nicole Higginbotham-Hogue

Nicole Higginbotham-Hogue is a lesfic author at amzn.to/36DFT2x. Sign-up for her newsletter at higginbothampublications.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.