Longevity logo

Detoxing: Social & Digital

8 insights I had during my 1 week of NO digital or social interactions outside of my household

By Angela Chanthalangsy Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Detoxing: Social & Digital
Photo by Jonathan Cooper on Unsplash

On Dec. 27, 2021 I was guided and inspired to do a 1 Week social & digital detox to conclude 2021 and transition into the NEW YEAR of 2022.

I have NEVER done this before and here is what I learned as an Empath temporarily leaving the social & digital grid to focus solely on myself, family and the present:

1. I was making myself too easily available to people, influence and energies outside of my own. I had no self-control.

2. I gained clarity of just how severe I was prioritizing other people and their needs before my own—highlighting why I was always tired, even though I was practicing self-care rituals and resting. I was not really resting if my mind was always needing to be alert and ready to reply when a notification went off on a device.

3. With each passing day during the social and digital detox week I noticed how severe I felt I owed people an explanation that I was not available. My ego kept having thoughts run through my head, such as: ‘You should send a text to everyone that you are doing this detox so they do not feel like you are ignoring them’ or ‘You are a spiritual life coach, you need to always be available to guide, advise and put out emotional fires’ and ‘If you do not reply they are going to get mad at you’.

This is crazy—You should never have to explain why you are not responding timely or feel rushed in any way. You deserve to put yourself first in every way so you CAN be optimum for those who need you—even if it means a temporary social and digital detox without explanation.

4. I gained even more awareness of how OTHERS around me were zombies to their phones/social media. Since I was not texting, using social media or calling anyone it was very eye-opening to see just how much the people around me were so glued. I noticed how difficult it was to truly connect with the people physically present around me because THEY were on their phones/iPads/laptops and how it’s no wonder there was multiple gaps in communication, misunderstandings and arguments.

5. I became less anxious and more present. Less busy, and more intentional. Less people-pleasing and more self-fulfilled. Less tired and more rejuvenated.

6. I had more time! Time felt like it was on my side and I had more of it to allocate to myself, my husband, my kids, my hobbies and passions. I had more time to do all the things I love doing that brings me joy.

7. I gained clarity on the imbalanced relationships and friendships present in my life that were draining me. I realized which relationships/friendships that The Divine was trying to guide me to let organically fall away as I kept putting energy, in vain, to keep it alive. I realized that I was doing more of the texting/communicating/calling/advising and they were not valuing my efforts. We deserve friendships/relationships that equally contribute to us the way we contribute to them.

And lastly, but not ‘least-ly’…. =)

8. My observation skills, self-awareness, awareness of others and my environment heightened even more which shed light on areas of my life that can improve. Awareness is everything! Awareness is the gateway to change, healing to begin and progress to continue.

If you have never tried a social/digital detoxification of completely cutting yourself off from the grid I suggest you try it for a week. It is a great start to a reset, recharge and rejuvenation. It is intriguing in what clarity, awareness and freedom can come about.

self care
Like

About the Creator

Angela Chanthalangsy

Empath | Wife | Mom of 3 | Stepmom of 1 | Divine Channel/Angel Medium | Women's Spiritual Life Coach | Energy Medicine Practitioner: Body Code Certified | Divination Practitioner: Oracle/Tarot card reader & Pendulum dowser

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.