Longevity logo

Dancing With a Tambourine While Blowing Bubbles.

I am walking scientific evidence.

By Karen LichtmanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Try your best to stick with my mind here.

I stood in line yesterday for three hours to vote. In my life, I have never experienced anything quite like this. And I'm feeling mad love and vibes.

I am also very confused about all that has transpired during the past four years. It's all so personally global. I am so torn between fighting and debating everyone on everything, and dancing with a tambourine while blowing bubbles.

I'd had my absentee ballot in my possession for weeks. It was my intention to drop it off in an in person ballot box. BUT as time wore on, I trusted that system less and less. And then I watched The Plot Against America, during a two week, free trial of HBO Max. It blew me away so freakin' much, that I watched the entire series three times in fourteen days. It's historically fictional, or fictionally historical, or both. Over six episodes, Charles Lindberg beats Franklin Delano Roosevelt in the 1940 election.

Here's a piece of family trivia for you. My then 20 year old uncle is listed as an "errand boy" in the 1940 US Census.

Plot Against America was tricky for me to watch, but I loved it so much, that my heart is now torn to shreds just thinking about it.

And when I think about what my grandparents went through to reach this country 100 years ago, the stitching process of repairing my heart became my voice, as well as my vote. And that three hour wait rekindled my spirit, on the very first day of early voting in New York.

Channeling a small steps approach inspired by Sid Garza-Hillman

MONDAY (10/26)

By 8:30am I had meditated three separate times. And 2/3 were totally free. I bit the bullet yesterday and a purchased an annual membership to The Daily Shine. I received an offer of $20 for 12 months. And I really like their vibe. I am not trying to sell you anything here, but I have provided links in case you wish to read on.

  1. Sip and Om, The Daily Meditation Podcast on Spotify
  2. The Daily Shine, Reclaim Your Self Worth
  3. Muuv with Nuun

I weighed myself. 142.6 pounds, which makes me unhappy, but I'm fully aware of the fact that my hormones have completely taken over my body. A recent job change caused me to completely skip September, however, I was fiercely pre-menstrual for most of October.

PMDD kids. It's not make believe. You can't make this stuff up. I am walking scientific evidence.

But between donating blood and my (shameful) first COVID test, I have been told that my numbers are looking quite good: blood pressure, iron. All of that stuff is looking good.

My recent job change has also me cooking less and relying on vegan frozen pizza and take out a little too much. That's on me. But it's all interconnected, and I shall continue to explore.

But I cooked a lot this past weekend:

  • a huge pot of black bean, broccoli, and potato soup
  • couscous and veggies
  • as well as a troth of my home brewed iced tea.

Tuesday (10/27)

  • (1) Host Defense cordycep, and (1) B complex
  • a hunk of crystalized ginger, maybe two
  • the home brewed iced tea I made yesterday was SO good this morning
  • listened to a six minute "Midday Mood" meditation during a work break

In the Case of the River

It was only a matter of time before the River turned on me. It wasn't the entire river, just a few passers-by. Even people you believe are friends for life, some of them, are simply passing by.

That kid in my class, who used to eat paper all through elementary school, simply passed by, for six years.

In the case of the River, however, the nick picky, persnickety rage was on them, not me. I arrived with peace, bubbles, love, and a tambourine.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Karen Lichtman

Plant based. Runner. Young widow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.