Longevity logo

Coney Island 5K

The Spirit of Brooklyn

By Karen LichtmanPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

"Change doesn't happen overnight."

--Rich Roll

TUESDAY

APRIL 7, 2020

As I came into consciousness this morning, the first thing I reached for was my Breathing App. Fixed myself a cup of Nuun, and took a Turkey Tail.

I watched a very interesting GojiMan video about the compromised quality of most supplements on the market. Something I knew. But I like how he explains the facts. And I love how he pronounces the word "vitamin." If you would like, watch "Why I Don't Take Supplements" on YouTube,

Inspired by yesterday's Vivo Life video, I made the simplest, most basic bowl of oatmeal for breakfast. And it was delicious. Huge applause for Vigilant Eats, Superfood Cereal. And a handful of frozen fruit. And chia, maca, and flax. And My Kind Turmeric Boost.

I ran 2 miles in 33 minutes and 53 seconds. What's funny is that I am signed up for a Strava training plan, for a 5K which was supposed to occur on Saturday, April 18, in Coney Island. I absolutely love this annual race, with this particular race organizer. I assumed the event was going to be cancelled, due to this horrible Virus, which is decimating my city. I thought to myself (SELF!) that I should cancel the training plan but I never got around to it. I learned today that the Brooklyn Pace 5K will indeed occur virtually, from April 16 through the 24th. So I shall continue with the training plan, and run this Race in spirit. Yes! I am going to call it my Coney Spirit run.

I ran along the shore today in Brooklyn. There were way too many people out there. And I appreciate it. Who doesn't want some sun on a beautiful spring day. But I was very uncomfortable, knowing that this Thing can live in the air, and I felt as if people were getting inside my six foot radius. And while I continue to run with my nose and mouth covered, I also need to protect myself the best I can. So while I set out to do the Strava instructions for 45 minutes, I returned to my apartment 10ish minutes earlier, and that's okay.

I got to watch a Q&A with Hellah Sibide and the Vivo Life Community. I have been following Hellah for a couple of years now, and all I can say is that his mind, outlook, and smile are totally infectious in the best possible way. He is a vegan endurance athlete, who has run every single day since May 15, 2017. He is planning on running from New York to Los Angeles, once we get to the other side of this viral war.

> www.richroll.com

> www.nuunlife.com

> (Turkey Tail cordyceps) www.hostdefense.com

> www.vivolife.com

> www.vigilant-eats.com

> (My Kind Organics) www.gardenoflife.com

> www.strava.com

> www.paceruns.com

> (Hellah Sibeide) YouTube.com/hellahgood

MY 2019 CONEY ISLAND 5K EXPERIENCE

We were approximately 500 feet away from the finish line, which was on a curve. We couldn't see it, but I knew it was right there. I was about to blow past Natalie, when I heard her taking the wind out of her own sails. She kept telling herself over and over again that she was done with this race, that she couldn't do this anymore. I introduced myself, and I just wouldn't let her go. We had just run over 3 miles in rain, wet displaced sand, and a gnarly, weather beaten boardwalk. I would accept none of her self negativity, and just tried to make the last few steps fun. We crossed the finish line together, waving our arms for the photo opportunity. We hugged tightly. And she kept thanking me. By definition, Natalie is a complete stranger to me. But the convergence of Passover, Easter, and 4:20 made this moment very real. And now Natalie and I are forever connected. Thank you @paceruns_ #brooklynpace5k

fitness
Like

About the Creator

Karen Lichtman

Plant based. Runner. Young widow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.