Longevity logo

Changed Your Life By Making Peace

How I Changed My Life By Making Peace With My Thoughts

By PrakuzoPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

In your mental life, you are one-of-a-kind.

I made peace with my ideas by welcoming all of them, including the ones that were hurtful. Because I was no longer enslaved by my thoughts, my mind eventually relaxed and my life changed. I found inner peace and freedom as a result of this. Situations that had previously caused me pain gradually faded away, and I was no longer fighting my thoughts.

It may seem hard to believe, but the most important thing I've learned on this path is that I've stopped believing my own thoughts. Why do we believe the misleading story that our minds propagate? Why do we believe our thoughts are true while people lie all the time and can't be trusted? To be clear, I'm not referring to how we utilize reasoning to solve problems. I'm talking to the constant stream of thoughts that run through our heads. Thoughts that appear out of nowhere and persuade us of anything.

something which is untrue Are you able to relate?

Here's something to think about: The experience's thoughts are subjective. Many variables influence how we think, including our upbringing, our health, our values, and our surroundings. To put it another way, our thoughts are unique to us and are a combination of our previous and present experiences. Even those reared in the same household have different perspectives. In our mental lives, we are all unique, and there is no such thing as "The Truth." Only 'Your truth' exists.

I had been conscious of the mental chatter for a long time in my instance. The voice in my head was always speaking back to me, no matter what. Is this anything with which you can identify? If that's the case, how do you cope with it? When the voice became too much for me to handle, I went to meditation to help me calm down. After months of practice, I was able to sleep through the night without being disturbed by my mind's constant chatter. When I stopped listening to my thoughts and started paying attention to my feelings, things changed even more.This was the turning point in my life. I no longer trusted my thoughts because they may be trusted or not depending on my mood. If I woke up in a foul mood, for example, my thoughts would reflect that throughout the day. I was OK if I awoke in a pleasant attitude. I was basing the quality of my life on my thoughts, and this was not a healthy way to live.

I have had enough and desired to be in charge of my thoughts rather than allowing them to govern my attitude. So, by focusing on my emotions, I was able to monitor my thoughts without being emotionally entangled in them.

I just reduced the volume of my thoughts and focused my attention on my feelings. Even the most painful feelings are expressions of the soul. Many people are accustomed to avoiding painful feelings in order to avoid having to deal with them. Over the years, I've met a lot of folks who have had similar experiences. They spend their entire lives paying attention to their thoughts, which takes them on a wild goose chase. We can make sense of our sentiments if we can tune in to them without distorting them.

Accept Your Difficult Emotions

Are you happy with where you've gotten thus far? Is it hitting home with you that your feelings, not your intellect, are the yardstick by which you evaluate your truth? When I was no longer bound by my thoughts, the transformation occurred. I noted before that my mood influenced how my day developed if I awakened in a foul mood. Can you see how this is a prescription for living a life that isn't productive? Our thoughts are at our mercy, and we have no idea if they can be trusted. You might reason that your thoughts must be accurate because you have experienced them? But on what basis are you basing your argument? Is it enough to just observe?

I would say that it is difficult to make sense of our thoughts because we are enmeshed in them and blinded by them. Returning to my metamorphosis, I am still conscious of my thoughts, but I now check to see if my feelings are in sync with my thinking. If I wake up in a negative mood, for example, I focus on my body and note the sensations there. Without resisting them, I connect with them. "I accept" or "I consent," I repeat to myself. I accept my ideas without judging or allowing them to control my day. I just watch things pass through my mind without being attracted to them.

More importantly, I accept all opinions without censorship, including painful ones. When I felt terrible emotions like anger, despair, or a melancholy mood, I sought to modify them throughout the most of my life. So that I wouldn't have to deal with the terrible emotions, I drowned myself in activities. When I wasn't distracted, however, the emotions returned with greater force. Is this anything that has happened to you? I felt like I was trapped on a merry-go-round, unable to get off. My mind stabilized when I stopped opposing tough thoughts and feelings, and I discovered an inner peace and boundless freedom unlike any other. I wish you the same because I believe it is achievable.

Consider this and see if you can spend the next 24 hours practicing welcoming challenging ideas and emotions. Start small and don't rush things. Move your attention to the part of your body where the feeling is located when you notice them. Take a deep breath in and silently say to yourself, "I accept." Feel your emotions and let them to pass without attempting to control them. While you're paying attention to them, you may notice that they become more intense.

Your natural reaction will be to flee the emotion, but stick with it for a bit longer. The sensation will subside in a few moments, and you will have a sense of inner serenity and an immense space surrounding you. This is your natural resting awareness occupying the emotional space. After all, in order to improve our lives, we must welcome all of our thoughts while remaining unattached to them because they are transient states.

https://linktr.ee/Prakuzo

spirituality
Like

About the Creator

Prakuzo

I Write Health and Fitness, Personal Growth and Spirituality

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.