Longevity logo

Casting Call for Sturdy Structure

"…people sitting in the dark watching people in the light talking about what it means to be human... " Thank you George C. Wolfe.

By Karen LichtmanPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

There’s a chance for me, as the year wanes,

to think about the months which have passed. Even on my bus ride to work, my inner voice asks how I can intentionally improve myself. Improve myself? Improve myself intentionally.

A woman keeps looking at her smart phone screen, and turning to the rider next to her, saying "it keeps getting worse and worse."

She continues, "they’re short staffed, and they keep cutting hours. And I'm going to end up living out of a cardboard box."

I look out the window and notice the homeless tent village at 61st Street, under the Brooklyn-Queens Expressway, is growing.

Janji: Call to Adventure (2)

Sunday - September 13, 2020. North 5th Street Pier and Park to the York Street Subway station. 3.37 miles. 61 minutes

Brooklyn Greenway - Strava

Mindfully Influence Your Feelings

From The Daily Shine - Monday, September 14

• I feel better but tired. I feel spacey but grounded. I feel like I want to sleep more, but get my day started.

• I want to feel better this week, more energetic, productive, healthy.

• I can work out more. I can work more on a very specific writing project. I can continue running the Greenway. I can celebrate the New Moon.

• I can be kind to myself buy simply letting my feelings happen, and exist as they are.

• I can allow myself to rant and rave to myself briefly, then actively find my way back.

• I can surround myself with what makes me feel good.

The past few mornings, I have opened my eyes to:

  • Meditation
  • White sage incense or diffused essential oils
  • Home brewed iced tea
  • Host Defense, Energy Support & My Kind, B Complex.
  • Smoothie - coconut water or home brew, with: watermelon, blueberries, banana
  • For which, I have created a powder blend of: Sunfood's organic maca powder, Organic Golden Milk Super Blend (also from Sunfood), hemp, and flax seeds.

The Moon came to me to say that life is about to be a do-over. I'm not kidding, the Moon actually talked to me.

I think I would cast either Ed Harris or Kyle Chandler as the Moon. I know it's a stretch in either direction. They are both very different actors, but I think they can each handle the role.

And then of course there's Jeffrey Wright, who is one of the single greatest actors I have ever worked with, and had the pleasure of knowing for over 20 years. So now work with me here. This is not science fiction, nor fantasy. Let's call it the 2020 Neoclassic period, because if there ever was a year which needed some neo-class, it would be this one. And I'm not shooting a film here, or even writing a script. It's just my blog, but I know if I asked Jeff to be my Moon, without hesitation, he would tell me, "Life is about to be a do-over."

"Okay," and I would listen. Because the sun, stars, and moon do not act out of anger. And they have mercy with me, even when I’m an asshole. The cosmos understand me for who I am, and as I am.

I looked up to the Moon and said, "I simply wish to be the most authentic version of myself. And I'm willing to put the work in each day."

"Change doesn’t happen overnight," the Moon told me. "It’s going to take some time."

"That’s okay," I said. "Change can be good."

And then the Building spoke up. Which is crazy, because a building is just a building. And this particular building had no heart, so I don’t understand how it spoke.

It said, "you can’t help these people anymore."

So true.

"How about you go somewhere else?"

I thought about it. I don't enjoy this building at all. It sustains me, but it is a toxic, emotional stink hole filled with antagonism, and not the greatest organic tea from Mars, nor meditation guru can insulate me.

The Building pointed out the surrounding filthy moat, polluted by generations. "Now that is toxic."

Also true.

"Look," continued the Building. "When the plane is going down, they tell you to put a mask over your own face first. Even if there are children with you."

While I don’t have any children of my own, this is very true as well.

"Head towards the Bay." The Building spoke of an opportunity there.

I nodded, because I knew it was my time.

I looked towards the Moon and asked one single question before I left. "Who would you cast as the Building?"

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Karen Lichtman

Plant based. Runner. Young widow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.