Longevity logo

Can I lose weight without the diet?

Eating more than just salads to stay fit.

By Lisa Snyder WassonPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
A burger a day keeps the doctor away

There are so many apps and websites out there of how to stay healthy and what to eat for that hourglass shape. Do they really work? Do you get the best results. Yes, of course you can and yes, some do work. It's not about what you eat, but how much. It's perfectly fine to have a cheat day once a week. This helps your body to keep the weight off in the long run. I can't tell you how many apps and diets I've used over the past twelve years. This journey began when my son was born, you guessed right, twelve years ago. I gained over 65 pounds, supposedly the limit is 35, and It took almost two years to lose it and some. What I have learned through this process is the best way to lose weight, stay in shape, and feel your best is to workout EVERYDAY. Everyone has twenty to thirty minutes in a day to squeeze in a workout. When my numbers stopped dropping and I had a goal to lose more, I started counting calories with MyFitnessPal app. I lost ten pounds in two weeks just by counting calories and staying under 1200 calories a day. I didn't cut out carbs and sugar completely, but I did lower my intake. I would eat egg whites and wheat toast in the morning, an apple for my 10 AM snack, a salad with protein cheese and veggies without dressing (this took a lot of time to get used to because I LOVE DRESSING), 3 PM snack of a spoon full of peanut butter, and then dinner was meat with veggies. If you like that night cap at dinner, have a cocktail with less sugar. Instead of my glass of wine at dinner, I switched to a vodka soda with EXTRA lemons. That gave me my cocktail and fizz that I enjoyed. On top of that, I did kickboxing twice a week and ran a couple miles the other three days a week all on my hour lunch break. I firmly believe in working out and a lot of cardio at least three days a week. I do five sometimes six days because I love the way it makes me feel. Now a days, I started using the FitOn app on my phone. Some of these workouts are less than twenty minutes, but you'll feel it all day. The app has personal trainers from all over the Country. The best part is that it is FREE. No FEE EVER. All in all, we have to remember the smallest changes can make a big difference. It's not a diet, it's a lifestyle change. When I first heard that, I thought "Yeah Right", but after the past couple years of telling myself that and doing it properly, It is true. Instead of a big beef patty, try a veggie or turkey burger. Take the bun and replace it with a lettuce wrap. I can't tell you how many times I made a taco salad with plain yogurt instead of sour cream. Anything is possible if you want it bad enough.

weight loss
1

About the Creator

Lisa Snyder Wasson

I'm an ordinary mom who loves her family, fitness, health, reading and writing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • tianchi xu2 years ago

    https://shrinke.me/jianfei011 Weight loss video teaching

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.