Longevity logo

Breaking the chains of paralysis

A goal to un paralyze myself

By Randall WrightPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
First days of working myself out of my wheelchair

On the evening of October 29th 2019 I was hit with an Ischemic Stroke. That evening itself was scary as hell. I had to fight like hell to make it outside my apartment complex to catch a ride to the emergency room and then stay awake, thinking this was it because I had no idea at the time what was going on.Only to finally awaken in a hospital bed not able to move then left side of my body at all. The damage the stroke did was to my right frontal lobe in my brain which destroyed my brain’s ability to operate my left arm and left leg. It has been that way ever since.

So, my health goal for 2021 is to attempt what is called neuroplasticity. A way our brains have of re-wiring themselves.Of the neurons and networked connections to re-configure themselves since the original parts of my brain needed to operate my left arm and left are gone forever and can never be healed. I can’t work this problem or tough it out. To achieve neuroplasticity, it takes a level of discipline on the level of a buddist monk and perhaps more but, I’m determined to get my left arm and left leg back so that I can be a complete person again and maybe go back to a normal life again. A life where I can walk in a park without my quad cane. Where I don’t have to strap on a sling to keep my paralyzed arm tucked in closer to my body to prevent shoulder separation or dislocation So many things I took for granted that I now want back.Fortunately, I have gathered enough info to formulate a plan.

I start each day with 20-25 minutes of giving my left arm, hand, and fingers commands to move. I couldn’t move any of them at first but now, I can make a fist. I still can’t raise my left arm over my left shoulder, but I can raise it more now than I did I woke up in that hospital bed. I then spend roughly 5 hours walking with my quad cane to rework control of my leg and foot so one day I can walk like I used to again. Drinking lots of water and consuming only fruits, vegetables, and only healthy foods to help prevent any further damage to me that could happen ifs I don’t take care of the rest of me.

Then I do another important step in achieving neuroplasticity, learning new things. Reading new things, particularly new languages help the brains pathways rewire themselves. I’m currently learning to be fluent in spanish and figuring out how mortgages work since both have been beyond my level of understanding my whole life. I them open my final 30 minutes of my day reworking my left leg, arm, and hand before finally doing another important step in this process, sleep. 8 hours a night, every night will hopefully work. Whether or not I’m wasting my time I won’t know for years probably. But How do I live with myself if I don’t try? Not half-ass try, but FULL-ASS try like hell to return to normal. I’ll never get a paycheck for this hell and most people won’t care if I pull this off or not. But i’ll know.That’s character.Sometimes the journey is more special than the destination. I'll find that out if I can ever scratch my left ass cheek with my left hand ever again.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.