Longevity logo

Box Thoughts Week 1

My Journey Through CrossFit

By Keela DeePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I started CrossFit this past February. I've kept active notes throughout my new workout experience. Here are my box thoughts:

Week 1: Confidence

Let me start by saying that up until this week, I have never in my life gone to the gym daily. I have never in my life considered myself an athlete, or even a strong person. I identified as a nerd, who would rather stay home and read or watch Netflix than go to the gym and sweat. I quit tennis after a year in middle school, and since the last time I picked up my 35-pound bass drum and marched an 8-minute halftime show (fall of 2012), I have not had a regular workout routine.

When I met Jon (my coach) at church a few weeks ago, the words “guest blogger” made my ears perk up while “CrossFit” made me cringe. But, new year, new me, right? I had just started a healthy eating plan, so maybe I could add a workout to my new lifestyle.

So, last Wednesday, after a sleepless night of CrossFit anxiety, I showed up to the gym at 6:00 a.m. for the first time. The words on the board under “Warm-up” had to be translated for me. I awkwardly stood to the side until someone showed me what to do. I desperately looked for the puke bucket, but I somehow completed 101 reps of burpees and squat thrusts (without needing the bucket).

On Thursday, I developed bruises on my collar-bone for attempting the wrong technique, but I learned how to do push-jerks (a lift that raises the barbell over my head), something I’ve never done before. Day 2 soreness settled in. Everywhere.

My Friday class got canceled, so I could have gone to a later gym session, but I still attended the 6 a.m. one. I completed almost all the reps of some super awkward-looking workouts. Past-Keela would/could never even attempt to do some of these things.

Monday was rough. I, for some reason, woke up at 3 a.m. and couldn’t get back to sleep. My wrists were aching, and my stomach was hurting. Any one of these things would have made a good excuse to ditch the gym, but I didn’t want to bail as soon as it got tough. I also didn’t want to over-exhaust myself. After three hours of pros and cons, I made it to the gym at 6 a.m. anyway. For the first time in my life, going to the gym sounded better than not going.

On Tuesday, however, I actually got a good night’s sleep and subconsciously let myself sleep through my alarms. I didn’t have class that day, so I figured I’d go to the gym in the afternoon (instead of totally skipping- I can’t believe it either). I went to open gym and got some one-on-one training, and even finished the workout early! I did 100 sit-ups and 100 kettlebell swings in less than 11 minutes.

And now today, a full week since I began this insane journey, I did over 40 box jumps (first time ever attempting those), over 40 ring pull-up exercises, and over 80 backward lunges in 20 minutes. The amazing thing here is not the workouts I’m completing (because I’m still on the beginner level, and nowhere near where I can be), rather the fact that I am still going. It’s only been a week and that sounds like such a short time, but this is the longest I’ve ever stuck to a workout routine. This is the most exercise I’ve gotten in my entire life. This is the first time I have ever really wanted to go back to the gym and do better than I did the day before. I am completely amazed at just my change in attitude towards fitness, in only 7 days.

athletics
Like

About the Creator

Keela Dee

Writer, teacher, climber, queen.

God’s the Author- I’m just taking notes.

keeladee63.wixsite.com/kdsubcreations

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.