Longevity logo

Being Creative Is a Blessing

Why I LOVE Being Creative

By SarahPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

I'd like to think of myself as a very creative person. I'm always crafting or writing of some sort. My current major in school is for Interior Design, which is a pretty creative field if you ask me. So I think I qualify to make this list.

Here are my reasons why I think being creative is a blessing.

#1 Having a hobby is fun.

You know that saying, "You were born to do more than just go to work, pay bills, and die?" Sounds a little morbid honestly, but that doesn't mean it isn't totally correct. We become creatures of habit. Wake up early, go to work, hate our job, come home, cook dinner, go to sleep. Repeat. Of course your life could be a little more complicated than that... but you get the point. We all know how quickly days fly by. And when all you do is the same thing every single day, you can blink and a month has gone by, unnoticed. Now while crafting isn't going to help how quickly the days go by, it can at least give them some substance. Doing something creative can bring a little fun and excitement back into our boring, everyday lives. And we all need a little bit of that right?

#2 It's healthy for our brains!

#BrainPower

Many intellectual people have done studies on what creativity does to your brain, and the ways that it can help. It can do things like help with depression by giving us a sense of purpose. Completing a craft is an accomplishment, and doing so give us good feelings about ourselves. It also keeps our brains from being idle and helps in diverting our thoughts away from stressful situations we may be going through at the moment. Who knew it would be so healthy and beneficial to do something you love!?

#3 Showing Off

Who doesn't love to be a show-off? Okay, maybe not all the time, but it's good to show off sometimes. Once you finish a project that you're super proud of, what's the first thing you would like to do? For me, it's show it off. I love the awe on people's faces when they look at a small stuffed animal I just crocheted—or with any medium and project I choose to work on. I love watching them shake their heads in disbelief at how fast I can crochet, or look on in interest just watching me craft. Wondering how I came up with such a cool idea. I don't know, maybe it's just me but this is one of my favorite parts of crafting—along with everything else, of course.

#4 The possibilities are ENDLESS!!

Okay... So this one isn't entirely true. You're probably limited by money, time, resources, and a few other things but... Well now that I've made the whole purpose of this bullet pointless... let me try to bring it back.

You are pretty limitless—in terms of what you can do with your own creativity, that is. In my personal opinion, if you can dream it, you can do it. It might take lots of hard work and dedication, but that's what makes the whole project worth it, right? if you didn't work hard on it, you might not get a lot of satisfaction from the project. (Also not entirely true... but I think you get my point.)

#5 You can make a profit?

Everyone can use a secondary income right?

Can you really make a profit from your crafting ways? It may be possible. But, like everything else... it's difficult. Etsy is obviously a popular page to post your handmade things online to. You can also use places like Facebook Marketplace and Ebay, but those could be harder to attract customers from. Selling in Facebook groups specifically for crafts might serve you better, and doing craft shows as well. That's the route I'm taking. I haven't had a whole lot of luck with selling anything on Etsy, but that's probably because everyone is a crafter on there and the things I have up so far are so basic over half of the people on that site probably could do it for themselves in about two minutes. Which kind of eliminates the need for them to buy it from someone. So, craft shows are the way I'm taking. While you have to pay for a spot in the craft show, you should make more profit then you actually spent.

(Side note: If you don't actually have a passion or love crafting in some way and are just doing it to make a profit... my advice is? Don't try it. It will show in your work. You want passion, hard work, and dedication to shine through and if you don't love it, chances are you won't make much money or will get discouraged easily and just waste your own time. May be harsh, but it's true!)

#6 Want more?

The support is appreciated!

Thanks for reading my post! I hope you enjoyed! Check out my page for more posts, and stay tuned for more like this. I've recently switched up my focus and shifted it towards arts and crafts, so if your interested stick around for more posts like this!

Follow me on Instagram for more upcoming posts and notifications: Crafting Queen

lifestyle
Like

About the Creator

Sarah

My mission is to help women have a successful, happy life. I mainly write about blogging, but I've got other stories written here as well!

Want more blogging tips? Check out my blog- updated every week! https://www.sarahmarie.blog

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.