Longevity logo

Be Happy And Give Us A Smile

Below I am going to share with you a lovely story that an individual shared with me and I thought it would make an inspiring article.

By Amber LoguePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

At this time of year, most people are doing their best to be happy, to feel the season of goodwill, and so on. However, there are some people who still struggle to connect with that feeling, and it is not necessarily a seasonal issue; they simply struggle to feel good, and perhaps even to smile a little bit.

I'm often perplexed as to why folks are so hesitant to grin these days. Because it is completely free to smile, and yet it has such tremendous consequences, let's all try to be a little more cheerful.

This post is all about having a more positive view of life, which will result in more positive outcomes in the long run.

He goes on to say the following:

I used to think in a negative way a lot, not constantly, but a lot more than I should have. I've now learned to quit doing so, and my life has improved dramatically as a result of doing so.

I now prefer to be in the company of positive people since they tend to be happier, more emotionally stable, and, in many cases, more successful, however, you want to define that term, than negative individuals. In my opinion, there are far too many people who are constantly whining and groaning and who appear to be depressed at all times.

While growing up, I had a lot of things to be depressed about: I stammer, I had an unsightly bald patch on my head, I was overweight, and I am also rather short for a boy at five feet four inches. When I was younger, I was one of those people who would wander about in a gloomy mindset, and I would feel sorry for myself. Even now, when I write about it, I can't help but giggle at how idiotic I was at the time.

It wasn't until I was in my twenties that I realized I needed to change my outlook on life. I was fortunate in that I had a friend at the company where I worked who would go on to serve as an inspiration to me throughout my career. Stuart's name was Stuart, and despite the fact that this may appear harsh, Stuart did not have much going for him at the time. I won't go into detail, but suffice it to say that, despite the difficulties I felt I was experiencing, I was not envious of him. Stuart and I grew to be excellent friends, and we would get together for lunch on a very regular basis. It was 1pm, and I would meet him in the cafeteria, where I would sit in my sad state of mind and with my gloomy expression, waiting for him to arrive. Arrive he did, and he did it with a dazzling smile on his face the entire time.

For some reason, this always astounded me, because I personally could never comprehend what he had to be pleased about. We would sit and converse while eating our lunch, and he never said anything nasty about anyone or anything.

When he spoke, he did it with enthusiasm, discussing his work and his interests. It dawned on me one day that if Stuart (who, based on what I knew of him, seemed to have nothing going for him) can constantly be positive, cheerful, and smiling, then why can't I do the same?

I was the only one who had nothing going for me until I changed, thanks to Stuart, who was completely unaware of it at the time. Stuart was the only one who had nothing going for me until I changed, thanks to Stuart, who wasn't even aware of it at the time. He was the gift I needed, and far from being a non-entity, he was the one who restored my life to me.

This marked the beginning of my newfound perspective on life. This is a period of being optimistic, enjoying what I have, and, most all, a period in which there are many smiles. I am now content with my weight, height, and bald patch, and I am pleased to announce that I have successfully overcome my stammer.

So, in order to pay it forward, I am doing everything I can to demonstrate that everything is possible and that it all starts with a simple grin.

Bring it on, lovely individuals! Let us all smile because you never know who's life might be changed as a result of your actions, beginning with your own!

Indeed, and it was beautifully stated. If you are reading this, I am confident that you are now smiling, and that is an excellent place to start; by being inspired, now go and inspire someone else.

mental health
1

About the Creator

Amber Logue

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.