Longevity logo

Basic to Bikini: 28 weeks out - habits + routine

One semi-basic girl's journey to becoming a bikini competitor

By Natalie ParryPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2
Photo by Jealous Weekends on Unsplash

I’ve got a lot of feels at this point. You know when you have so many thoughts that your brain just kind of goes silent? That’s where I’m at. There is a lot going on right now, not just for me, but for everyone – you know, that pesky virus and all. But I’m determined to stick to my prep as best as I can, although my Coles is making that a tad difficult with the obvious lack of chicken breast, beef mince and turkey mince on the shelves. Ah hello, I have macros to meet..

With that being said, let’s focus on prep. If we go back a few weeks ago (to week nine of prep) I was in a bit of a state of confusion. I wasn’t motivated, but I also wasn’t not unmotivated - makes sense right? I was semi-focussed and also a bit complacent. I find that when I’m making changes to my lifestyle, I get to a point where it’s not front and centre for me any longer and that leads me to stress about it because I’m not thinking about it all the time which therefore means it’s not important to me and I must be slacking off, right? No. Wrong (maybe this is why I’m exhausted all the time).

What I’ve discovered is that when I reach this point, my mind is confusing complacency with contentment. What is actually happening is that I’ve adapted to the lifestyle. The nutrition based habits are in place and it’s all becoming second-nature. It no longer needs to be the thing taking up 90% of room in my brain because it’s a part of me now, not something I’m still trying to implement. This is what happens when you create habits. At first, you think about it often because it’s new and you’re not used to it being a part of your life. So the way you remember to do it, is to think about it all the time. But eventually, as you continue to create that habit over and over again, day in and day out, it becomes natural. It becomes a habit. You don’t need to actively remind yourself of it. The beauty of habits is that when your motivation fluctuates (and just a reminder, it will fluctuate) your habits will continue to carry you. So make more habits.

Now, my routine is still not perfect and needs some work. The habits are there, but structure would make it better. Let me share with you what my perfect daily structure is (and what I’m working towards):

MORNING

5:30AM WAKE UP

Coffee

Journaling

Plan day

Posing or stretching

30-45 minutes maximum

6:15-6:30AM

Workout

Up to 60 minutes

7:30AM

Breakfast

Get ready for work

AFTERNOON/EVENING

5PM FINISH WORK

Cardio / chill out

7PM

Have dinner

7:30PM-9PM

Write / study / pose / life admin / chill out

9PM

Nighttime routine

Get ready for bed

Read for 15-30 minutes

Journal

Visualisation

10PM

Sleep

How you structure your day sets you up for a successful day; I want to spend my time purposefully. Without a structure, I spend a lot of time just sitting around not achieving anything – sound like you?

This includes limiting distractions. I prefer to work with background noise but I’m also aware I’m someone who gets distracted easily. I’m forgetful and definitely come across as nonchalant a lot of the time (there, now you all know my flaws). This is what makes me lose focus so having a structure helps.

It’s also really important to incorporate positive practices throughout your day such as practicing gratitude or writing your thoughts down in a journal. It helps you maintain a positive mindset and stay focused on the goal. What you put out in the Universe, you attract.

I’m 28 weeks out and already learning so much about myself. This is why everyone should get out of their comfort zone and try something new, you’ll never know what you will learn about yourself. You never know how it’ll change you; how you’ll grow. I can say with my hand on my heart that I have never been more comfortable, or felt more like my truest self, than I do right now.

A final message: It’s ok to change. Who you are is not who you need to be. Challenge yourself and your norms; the outcome can be pretty spectacular. There is nothing more empowering than being who you want to be and doing what you want to do.

fitness
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.