Longevity logo

Bariatric Life

Part 1 In the Beginning

By Sue DPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Bariatric Life
Photo by Ehimetalor Akhere Unuabona on Unsplash

Weight loss seems like it is a never-ending struggle for most of us. Don't you just hate it when you see a thin person that seems like they can eat anything and everything and never gain a pound? It sucks! Genetics does play a large role in that and it also plays a huge role for those of us that have a hard time losing weight. What now? What have you tried in the past? What worked? Probably nothing if you are reading this and considering having bariatric surgery.

So you have been trying to lose weight your whole life, tried lots of things that work for a short period of time and then you gain the weight back? It happens to all of us, and there are reasons behind this (make sure to read Part 3, The Weight Gain Cycle) and even though people have told you over and over "if you just eat right and exercise, you can lose weight and not have to do the surgery". I will tell you right now THEY ARE WRONG!! And honestly being addicted to sugar is a real thing, I will talk more about this in a later article. Unless you are addicted to sugar and food you seriously have absolutely no idea how it controls your life.

Understanding your relationship with food is part of this journy, so you should be prepared for that as well.

If you feel like weight loss surgery is the right thing for you to do, then don't let anyone else dictate your decision.

After all you are doing this for you and no one else. So what happens in the very beginning? I can't speak for all of the physician's processes but I can be truthful about my own process and journey. I hope that it will help you make your decision.

In my beginning, I had to attend a seminar. IN-PERSON SEMINAR. I worked a salary job so working more than forty hours was common, what was even more common? To cancel many things and appointments I had after work because I was exhausted. I scheduled to attend at least two different seminars within a year's time and I never went. What people need to understand is that when you are overweight by 150 pounds, you are exhausted and that makes it difficult to do anything. The average weight of an 11 year old boy is 75 pounds. Imagine having a 75 pound child strapped to your chest and one strapped to your back. Every time you move, every time you stand up, every time you turn over in the bed these two 75 pond children are still strapped to your chest. NO WONDER WE ARE SO DAMN TIRED EVERY SINGLE DAY!!

After not showing up for the previously scheduled seminars, I had finally had enough and decided I was going this time no matter what! Luckily when I went to sign up this one last time, the physician's office had finally stepped into the 21st century and was doing the seminars online! Wow, I was finally able to get this ball rolling!

Finally, I was able to attend the necessary seminar and learn more about what lies ahead of me on this journey. That in itself was a great feat alone, although surgery still seemed like a lifetime away, you have to take the first step and you will get there.

So what all do you go over in the informational seminar? What do I absolutely need to know? Make sure to read Part 2 of Bariatric Life, here I discuss the informational seminar in detail so you will know what to expect.

weight loss
Like

About the Creator

Sue D

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.