Longevity logo

Attempting a Jiu Jitsu Class for the First Time

Yes I'm an adult...

By Samantha PoppPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
Club Logo

As a kid, I remember wanting to try some sort of martial arts sport whether it was karate, tae kwon do, or Brazilian jiu jitsu. It didn't matter as I thought they were all the same. In case you don't know, they aren't. I was intimidated to ask my parents if I could try it, as I had no idea how much it cost or if they would approve as it was a more "masculine sport" that normally had young boys enroll. Now as an adult, I regret not asking them. Who knows now if I would've gotten involved and what kind of person I'd be today?

As I have no time machine at this point in my life, I decided to Google some different clubs here in the city to see what was offered. I have always been interested in trying something like this but never had the courage to try it until now. I did feel slightly embarrassed about trying it since I'm an adult and I was worried about getting judged.

The next day, I came into work and was looking over our counters, and looking to update our business cards displayed. I came across "Control Brazilian Jiu Jitsu" right here in Moose Jaw. It said that is was a type of submission wrestling, so as intrigued as I was, I began to email them to get some more information.

After reading their email response over 50 times, I came to the conclusion that I'll try it. Who knows what'll happen? I may like it. I may hate it... Or I may love it, but I'm willing to find out what the answer is.

During my drive over to the club, I felt nervous and anxious. I'd never done this sport before and I don't want to get hurt or look dumb. There were so many thoughts going through my head. They stopped the moment I walked through the door. I was greeted by Jason, one of the main teachers, and he had me fill out a waiver.

We did a gymnastics kind of warm up, and afterwards, Jason led us through the first move of the night. I had no idea what I was getting myself into and I have no clue what I was doing. He paired me up with Becca so I would feel more comfortable than pairing me up with a man. She was great to give me tips on how to make it better or to fix it, so I did it properly. Becca even encouraged me that I was doing a really great job for my first class.

At the end of the class, they "roll" and that means that you can practice doing a match with a partner for five minutes. Since it was my first class and I still had no clue what this sport was about, I sat on the sideline to watch what "rolling" was. I chatted with Donald who helped run the club, and we just talked about the club and even about some random shit. I felt comfortable here.

I didn't feel judged by anyone, except myself. Of course, I had thoughts like "Oh I feel so old and just starting this sport, everyone else is so much farther ahead than me, is there a point to doing this?" I shut those thoughts down quickly. I missed learning and being part of a sport even if it's a martial art kind of sport or wrestling and self defense (which this is more related to).

I missed learning something new from a teacher/mentor. Really, I missed everything about a sport: being part of a team, learning together, helping others, feeling like you belong somewhere. Once you are part of a team for a few years, and then you go without it for a while, you miss it like crazy. I did it for four and a half years. I'm surprised I didn't go insane without it.

I am still not sure if I will actually compete or not, I am enjoying being a jiu jitsu athlete and learning more every time I come to class. I love it, and I know that when I move to Swift I will miss it like crazy.

fitness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.