Longevity logo

Anxie-tree

Meditation can be a great way to cope with anger, frustration, and anxiety. I have found that writing my own scripts helps me even more. Never be ashamed to take the time out of your day, to focus on yourself for a few moments. I promise, it does not make you selfish. It makes you human.

By Trinity BuckPublished 6 years ago 6 min read
Like
Photo by Trinity Buck, Washington County, OH, USA.

.....and breathe.

Focusing on your breathing may seem like something that is totally unimportant when life's catastrophic happenings arise.

Breathe in through your abdomen. Feel your whole body, not just your chest. Count while you do it and focus on the numbers.

Inhale.

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

6.

Now hold it in for a few moments

...and exhale.

1...2...3...4...5...6.

Repeat as necessary.

Feel better? Well you are starting to, aren't you? Good. Now come with me on a journey per-say. Only if you have a few moments of time to spare.

Let me back track just a moment first though. You are here reading this today because of a reason.

Whatever that reason may be, it is probably not the same reason that the girl next door is reading this too.

See, meditation can be used for many different reasons.

You could be in early stages of addiction recovery, substance abuse recovery, or learning about anger management. You could be looking for relief from depression, anxiety, or bipolar disorder. Maybe you just need new coping mechanisms. Maybe you have trouble sleeping, insomnia, or one of those brains who's "Off Switch" is OUT OF ORDER. Maybe you are just looking for inspiration to complete a goal, a task, a process, a class, a job... or for life.

No matter what the reason, like I said before, meditation is a great way to achieve whatever goal your concentration is set on.

For me, I have anxiety. I think I'm bipolar. I get depressed, I have nightmares about former occurrences from my past. I am a former addict and every-way abuse survivor... and so I have triggers and cravings.

No, I promise I won't go into my entire life story. You would probably fall asleep or slap me in the face. Kinda goes both ways.

But I want to share with you one of my coping mechanisms that I like to use. Yep, you guessed it: MEDITATION. However, I don't meditate just like everyone else does. I have my own unique style of how I meditate. And all these words because I want to share it with you. You are strong, you are smart, you are a beautiful person, you ARE worth it, and you will always succeed as long as you have faith in yourself.

And no we don't know each other, but I know you. I know you need help and I know you're afraid. I know you might be a little angry and I know you have to know that somebody else cares (because we wonder sometimes, huh?) I know you have lost someone or pushed them away at some point. I know you have had problems and I know you have made mistakes. Most of all I know that you are HUMAN.

You can get through whatever dilemma you are currently trying to get through and I know that you will achieve your goals. Every one of them. Because as humans we are strong. If nobody else has your back, please come back to this article and read this because I have your back. I am right there rowing in that boat with you and I care.

No matter what your problem is, it does not define who you are or who you were. Do not ever forget that, please. You are you no matter what decisions you have made in your life. No matter what mistakes, no matter what bad choices, no matter where you have been, what you have seen, what you have done, or what has been done to you, you are worth it and you always will be.

Now, as far as my unique meditation style goes. I will go to YouTube or any social media where I can find the kind of meditation music I enjoy most. Relaxation music most of the time, it would be a quiet stream in the background or maybe some thunder, rain, Native American flutes, or binary beats. It really doesn't matter what you choose just as long as it is calming and relaxing to you.

Whatever I choose that day I will pick a spot where I can listen in silence. It's very hard to get away from the buzz of the world sometimes so that's where headphones come in. As long as I can be alone for a few minutes where I know I am safe and out of harm's way, I know I will start to feel better.

Now as much as the music helps, I enjoy listening to guided meditations as well. However, it's very hard for me to find a voice or a story that I enjoy listening to. A story that helps me in my own individual way. I do have some favorites that I can relate to on a higher level but they are not meant entirely for me so there is still a bit of a barrier.

Because of these reasons I have recently discovered that writing my own meditation scripts and stories make the experience so much better. Journaling is awesome for getting thoughts out but if you incorporate your real issues into your meditations it is a nice way of staying grounded and coping/deciding how to react to your everyday stressers. Writing my own scripts then recording myself reading them, I can replay them over and over again. Over my meditation music I can hear my own self leading me through the meditation process.

I know, I know. You might say "well that is just you wanting to hear yourself talk because you think you are so important that nobody else is good enough. Conceited much?" Well that's not it at all. When I hear myself leading me through a meditation it helps me think back and realize the mindset and (good or bad) place I was in/not in the day I recorded the meditation script. It also helps me when I can hear myself telling myself to calm down, let it go, think positively, stay focused, stay on track, know I'm worth it, know I am beautiful, know I am HUMAN. To me it is almost like positive self-talk. I can hear myself talking positively back to myself and that helps with my confidence, helps me make decisions, and helps me relax. I have a special moment with myself and it gives me the confidence to stand up and know that I can do it. Even if it's just for that day. Just one day at a time.

I really hope this article has helped you or gave you the confidence, at least, to make it through another day. Mental health is an important aspect of your health just the same as physical health. Please don't ever forget that no matter if you feel like you have no one there is always somebody out there that you can reach out to. There is someone who will help you, talk with you, give you advice, and listen to you.

Even if it's not your family, close friends, counselors, teachers, or whoever. Just know that social media offers many different websites that can help you achieve your goals and stay positive and keep going. Only you can choose the path that you will take and if you want your life to be miserable then it will be. But, if you want your life to be positive and you want to achieve what you set out to achieve and overcome the obstacles life throws at you only you can choose the path that you will be willing to take.

Just know that there are people out there who will always support you. Someone has always been just where you are now. And they made it, so can you. Don't be afraid to reach out or to ask for help. Don't be afraid to explain how YOU feel and most of all don't ever be afraid of showing the world who you are.

Now I want to thank you, wonderful human, for taking the time to read this. Always remember I am proud of you. You are a beautiful person. You are worth it. You are strong. You are a warrior. You are a Survivor. And you CAN do it.

XlaurentworldX

Photo by Trinity Buck Washington County, OH, USA

meditation
Like

About the Creator

Trinity Buck

My name is Trinity. I was born in '92. I'm a recovered addict, music lover, artist, crisis counsellor, student, and a writer. I'm probably the weirdest, most normal person you will ever meet.❤🤘

Text HOME to 741741 when in crisis <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.