Longevity logo

Aging: What are the Expectations vs. Reality Factors

What real ‘Old Persons’ can tell us

By Lynda CokerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Image by Francesco Nigro from Pixabay

When it Comes to Aging: What are the Expectations vs. Reality Factors?

“A human being would certainly not grow to be 70 or 80 years old if this longevity had no meaning for the species to which he belongs. The afternoon of human life must also have a significance of its own and cannot be merely a pitiful appendage to life’s morning.” ~Carl Jung

If you haven't yet reached the age of thrity, you probably think this question is unimportant and irrelavent to your present circumstance. If you've reached the age of forty, you’ve most likely have given this question a passing thought. If you’ve passed the age of sixty years, it’s on your mind a lot.

Of course, there is credible information written on the subject of aging everywhere. A simple Google search will render pages and pages of articles filled with medical and scientific facts and conjectures.

But wouldn’t it be great if we could get first-hand opinions from real ‘Old Persons’ themselves. Nothing scientific or researched-based, just simple personal thoughts on the question of the expectations vs. reality of aging.

I recently posed that question to a group of persons of senior age. I was blown away by receiving over one thousand responses, an overwhelming pool of first-hand experiences.

I thought I would share an overview of some of the thoughts, especially those that were repetitive and common to a large segment of responders.

  • Never expected to be afraid of stairs and curbs.
  • 70 is not as bad as I thought it would be, but I hate my skin, hair, and weight.
  • Being 56 is not as old as I thought it was when I was 16
  • My brain thinks I’m 20 but my body constantly reminds me otherwise.
  • If you don’t move it, you’ll lose it! Stand up tall when you walk! Keep moving!
  • Not everyone gets the privilege of getting old. Do whatever it takes to enjoy it.
  • I didn’t expect to grow old without my husband.
  • The reality is, my body has betrayed me!
  • I thought I was prepared. It’s worse than I expected!
  • Growing old isn’t for sissies.
  • Not for the faint of heart! The only thing golden in your golden years is your urine!
  • How did I become my mom so fast?
  • I’m 86, and enjoy every minute of my life; even when I’m doing nothing!
  • I always say how happy I am to wake up every morning and start on my to-do list.
  • Arthritis is real!!!
  • Wish I had prepared better.
  • I’m loving the broader perspective and I’m much calmer these days but my body is breaking down.
  • All I can say is that it happened fast.
  • I just feel blessed just to be here.
  • Bath time used to be such a luxurious pleasure, now I’m too afraid of not being able to get up and out of the tub.
  • Where did those years go? Can't believe I'm almost 70 — wasted too many years.
  • Thought I would be happy, now I’m hurting everywhere!
  • When I was young I always thought I would grow old gracefully! Guess what there is no such thing!
  • Important. Think young, act young, be young! It’s all okay!
  • Grateful to still be here one day at a time.
  • Takeaway

    We can’t stop the progressive and destructive effects of time on our bodies. But we can, to a large degree, determine how our minds will deal with the inevitable. In my opinion, if it’s going to happen anyway, then it’s going to happen my way. And what is my way?

    If I can grow old, then I’ve achieved a blessing that many others never had the chance to experience. If I can remain positive and grateful, I’ll find the grains of happiness that are scattered amongst the weeds. And I’ll be determined to remember that even the weeds have blooms.

    ______________

    Original post

    The generous tips I've received are very appreciated. Your kindness helps to keep the lights on and the internet running so that I can continue to write. Wishing you many happy and exciting reads here on Vocal.

    aging
    1

    About the Creator

    Lynda Coker

    Grab a chair, turn a page, and read a while with me. I promise to tap lightly on my keyboard so we both can stay immersed in our world of words.

    Reader insights

    Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

    How does it work?

    Add your insights

    Comments

    There are no comments for this story

    Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sign in to comment

      Find us on social media

      Miscellaneous links

      • Explore
      • Contact
      • Privacy Policy
      • Terms of Use
      • Support

      © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.