Longevity logo

A Tribute To Tomi

Confirming a Spiritual Awakening

By Mecca C Eaves-GlassPublished 4 years ago 15 min read
1
Tomi Curry loved wearing his fatigues

At the young age of 7 my grandmother Classie told me that I had a spiritual gift. She told me that I would be able to see, talk to, and hear from the ancestors that have gone on. She told me to not be afraid, only good spirits would come to me and to listen to what they were trying to convey.

The next year, I began to have dreams of family members that died. I also felt as if I had deja vu often. Yet, I soon found out that it was really premonitions.

I first entrusted my brothers and my Auntie Suzette with what I experienced. Then, as a teenager I added my bestfriend Daphne to the, “I wonder if this dream will come true” team.

I literally would see people getting in trouble with their parents, I saw my grandfather shot in a forest (but it ended up being one of my brother's friends) So, I knew I could see things but never tapped into my spiritual gift.

I know you are asking, What does this have to do with honoring Tomi?

Inbox from Tomi

On June 8, 2020 Tomi inboxed me looking to work with my husband Chris. At that time Tomi had been living with his cousin Keey Keey. He was a 23 year old young man awaiting his return to the Army reserves. You have been 23 before, or a young adult now and know young folks do what young folks do.

Tomi was a sweet young man searching his soul for his rightful place on this earth. He just wanted to work and hangout like any other 23 year old man.

Inbox from Tomi

I went and retrieved Tomi to take him to work with Chris. In the car we conversed joyfully. Tomi was in a good mood. He had many plans and was excited that his life was on the right path. Over the next few weeks(felt like months) Tomi and Chris were two peas in a pod. If you saw Tomi you saw Chris and vice versa.

Christopher and Tomi wanted to start a business together. Tomi began to get new clients for them. They were workaholics together. They built a bond with each other. I on the other hand discussed with him goals, his girlfriend, and them awaiting their bundle of joy.

One day, Chris and Tomi went to work. Chris promised me that we would go on a date later that night. While Chris was showering Tomi called him at least six times. As Chris dried his body with his towel he noticed his miscalls from Tomi. Tomi told Chris, “I’m having a negative feeling in this house right now, can you please come get me.” Chris asked me if it was okay for him to go get him. I told Chris that he could pick him up and spend 30 minutes with him. Let’s just say 30 minutes turned into weeks.

My son Malik, allowed Tomi to move in the basement with him. Chris and Tomi continued to work and bond. My husband has a desire to mentor young men and teach them a skill. Tomi was learning different styles of lawn care and lawn design. He was happy and moving in the correct direction. Even though Tomi was working with Chris completing side jobs he wanted to get another job. Tomi found a job at a security firm.

Let me add some humor to the story and truth. I want to live alone with my husband. That is my ultimate goal. We have two young adult women ( our daughters) that still reside at home and our 16 year old twin boys. Help me countdown please.

I was nudging my husband to set a date for Tomi to stay/leave. My husband and his big heart were not trying to hear me. He was adamant that Tomi could live with us until he was on his feet. However, his first pitch to me was, “he’s only here a week or so staying here until he goes back to the reserves.”

Each time Tomi was supposed to leave his departure was rescheduled due to Covid. He was unable to leave. No, I was not upset that my younger cousin resided with us. My mother always had an uncle, cousin, or somebody residing with us. I believe my grandfather’s side of the family instilled awesome morals, values, and family love within all of us.

Tomi is actually my first cousin’s Ericka son. Ericka and I have spurts of hanging out and chilling. Throughout our childhood, teenage life, and adult life we have run into each other. ( Ericka and I both have two Master’s, we are always in school, working, or with our children, plus have husbands… sometimes life separates people)

Whenever we get together it is as if we never left each other. Since Tomi was 23 my cousin was allowing him to find himself. She told him she was there for him and he could come home if he wanted to. I am answering all of the questions that your active mind is wondering. That is why he did not live with his mother and father Adrian.

I know you are still wondering what my spirituality has to do with Tomi.

As I reflect about my spirituality, I remembered that on my 7th birthday, I cried because I wanted to be 45 years old. All of my life I wanted to be 45. (Ha!!! Ha!!! To the people that really know me, I know that I promised I would not say I had three kids until I was 45. I have a daughter and twins.) Lordy, I am married so now I will have 7 children including my 4 bonus children from the hubby.

I know you think I am babbling but I will make the connection now.

Christopher and I went to visit our grandbaby. My grandbabies home is a Zen home. Her grandparents are beautiful souls. Her mom and dad are raising her extremely well. I was at total peace when I stepped foot in their home. I haven’t witnessed my husband in serenity before entering their home and I have known him over 20 years.

7/27/20 blessing from his granddaughter

While there I had a spiritual awakening. On Monday, July 27, 2020 I awakened with joy. My heart though was a bit heavy because I had found out the day before that one of my previous students passed. However, our grandbaby was full of laughter and by my side all day. While she was playing with Chris I logged into Facebook. I saw a post:

Post from FB

Part of the reading

It was my first reading ever. I wanted to know what it meant that I was spiritually connected to the people that I love. I began to Google and research what it meant. Of course I knew that Christian scriptures would come up first. I was raised Baptist and ended religion and traditions at a non-denominational church throughout my Christian journey. I will continue to use my Bible with the spiritual work I am going to learn.

After researching about the spiritual connection I went to Facebook again. The first post that I saw was Tomi. He was upset about his situation at the time and was angry about a few things. Remember that 23 year olds are digital natives and born into the microwave generation. Like other young people Tomi wanted things to happen quickly.

Ericka texted me and asked me to talk with Tomi because he was upset on FB. Her and I had weekly texts and chats so she could check on her son without further questioning his manhood.

I inboxed him and we began to converse. Ericka was alerted by her children that he was upset also. My husband, his mom, his girlfriend, his sister, and his brother tried to help cheer him up. I asked Tomi to delete all his negative posts from FB and to listen to meditation music. He said, alright and I let him be.

Inbox

My heart told me to have Howard (Bella’s Daddy lol) inbox or connect with him. My spirit also told me to tell Tomi to go home but I was waiting on him to tell me he listened to the meditation music. I did not follow my heart.

However, I did tag Tomi to Howard’s post about self-love. Tomi sometimes got angry about him not being where he wanted to be in life. He was a bit bummed about not leaving to go to the reserves as well. Being part of the Army Reserves made him super proud of himself.

Tomi in his favorite outfit

Later on that day I received a phone call from my work bestie and she was just calling to check on me. I then received a Facetime from my son. What made me brace myself is because the previous day I had a call from a long time friend, that called me out of the blue, then a Facetime from my niece. After those two calls I got the call from my cousin Paula (ha! Ha! Her husband is my cousin) that my student had died. Patterns and vibrations are real. I pay attention to numbers and signs all the time.

I began to feel anxiety, the same way I did the day before, before I got the call. The lady of the house lit an incense, turned off the lights and turned on her amethyst light( I think she asked my husband or hers to turn on the light). I really believe she’s in tune and knew that I was feeling anxious. I went upstairs to the bathroom. I began to think about my son that was home alone.

I asked him if he was okay. He stated that he was fine but a bit afraid to be in the basement. I suggested that he go upstairs since he was in the house alone. He then stated his fear turned to being uncomfortable being out of the basement. He had a strong desire to play Playstation. I breathed in and out and just decided to wait to see if I would get a negative call.

I slowly walked back downstairs. My grandbaby sat on my lap. Her mom called her for bed. As soon as she hopped off of my lap my phone rang. The lady of the house was speaking so I did not answer. A second call came from the same number. This time, I looked at my phone and said to myself, I will call her back. As soon as Mrs. V finished her sentence and my phone rang again. I answered….

My cousin Ericka hastily stated, Tomi was shot in the neck! I’m on my way to the hospital. I asked her if she wanted me to call a family member to sit with her. I called my Aunt Sue. She did not answer. It was a Monday, after ten and she’s old. (J/K) Since we could not contact her my husband suggested that we call his mom.

We called his mom. Chris and I sat on the couch. Chris began to tell me that he had texted Tomi that morning and asked if he was going home. Remember we were out of town. Chris realized Tomi kept saying, house and Chris kept referring to it as a home. He realized Tomi did not go home because Tomi’s last question to Chris was, “ When are you getting to the house?” Chris replied, “Tomorrow”.

He prayed that Tomi would make it through. I weeped, OH No!!! What Mecca? What? Tomi just died, Chris. Chris got up and went outside to the balcony. I felt it in my spirit that his spirit had left his body. (After I returned home I realized why I felt it. Thank you sister LaTanya) I’ll save that story for another day.

Within 15 minutes Chris’ mom confirmed my feelings. Our handsome, loving, and hardworking Tomi, was truly free from the body and his energy will remain on the earth forevermore.

Chris and I sat on the balcony. I told Chris I would have to stay outside of the Zen house because I did not truly know where Tomi spirit was and I knew he would come to speak with me on tonight.

I sat there with my husband, as he cried!!! He loved Tomi and knew that he would be great one day. Chris really cherished the relationship that they built together. When I hugged my husband I heard Luther Vandross, “If this world was mine”.

I literally can hear the song in my heart right now. I know when I am supposed to pay attention to a song because I hear it lower than my head. The song isn’t coming from my mind. The song is playing through my soul.

Yes, before July 27th my husband knew that I can go into different realms in my sleep, actually converse with the dead, and see signs/symbols. There are many stories I can tell later. Anyway, I knew that I had to sleep with the light on. I was fearful of the dark because one of my girlfriends passed and I did not know she was angry with me; she tried to pull me in the darkness with her. Even though I have had this gift since seven, I have not cultivated or studied what is going on with me.

Disclaimer: I am newly seeking my true spiritual self. Christians, do not come to me with saying it is witchcraft and evil. You can delete me off of Facebook and stay away from me. Who told you that it’s evil? The same person that left out books in the Bible that I will be using when I pray. Back to Tomi!!!!

I finally calmed down and was ready for bed. We left the light on. As I slept in Chris’ warm arms I popped my eyes awake every time I felt Tomi’s presence. At 5:19am (I always look at the clock when I awake) I awakened Chris and asked him can he please turn off the light. (yes, I was terrified to walk from the light to the bed)

As I drifted back off asleep, I noticed I was in a downtown area. I saw Tomi strolling across the street. I noticed blue and tan in the dream. It was not a downtown that I have seen before. It was beautiful. I yelled, “Tomi!!! Hey, Tomi!!!” Tomi turned around appearing, healthy, chubby in the face, with the most peaceful smirk I have witnessed. He looked directly at me and said, I’m good. I wanted to run after him. He was strolling so I said to myself, I’ll just tap his shoulder. When I reached my arm out, in my dream I could see myself stretching out my arm and sticking it through a black screen. Similar to a smart tv. I touched his shoulder and when Tomi turned around this time he appeared as a dead soldier that had been shot in the right eye, he had an army helmet on. I quickly removed my hand and popped up. I awakened Chris at 7:19am. I discussed the dream with him and told him I would show Ericka how Tomi looked when we are looking at pictures for the obituary.

Blue and tan! Happiest time of his life per his mom

I knew that I would see a picture of him and how he looked. Tuesday morning, I was relieved. Tomi was at peace.

As Chris and I traveled home I received a phone call from a girlfriend. I asked her when her birthday was (I did because I love numbers and I kept seeing the same numbers on diesel trucks and license plates.) Her birthday is 9/7. Those numbers were on trucks and license plates at that very moment.

I believed my husband believed in me and my spiritual self but he was in awe that I just asked her for her birthday, and it was all around me. The best part about the confirmation of my spiritual gift is that I was at mile marker 115. Everyone that is in my presence knows that 115 is my birthday.

There are so many signs that I have seen since Tomi has passed. I have accepted learning about my spiritual self and now you know that I will be ascending in my spiritual gift. If you do not understand any of this and wish to remove yourself from my life, I send you light and love. I know that this is where and what I need to do/go.

I will continue this story on another day. However, I wrote this story because 2 days ago I got a phone call from a cousin trying to figure out how we were related to Tomi. While we were on the phone another cousin called. We began to three way. He is a councilman in the town where Tomi was shot as an innocent bystander, so he was concerned. When he asked for further details my other cousin stated that is not how he heard the story. He heard that I coerced, forced, suggested that Tomi move in with me. He met some boys out here and got killed.

That is the furthest from the truth. He was at his cousin's house from his mother’s other side of the family. Her house was not the target and he was innocently killed. Yes, it is sad and tragic for Ericka’s immediate family and my husband . However, I know he’s in perfect peace.

Today, I was at my daughter’s house and I can’t remember how I brought up the conversation about the phone call. My daughter was furious that someone would twist the story and state that, “I know Mecca feel stupid, and bad for forcing that boy to come out there and he got killed.”

My husband and I decided that I would not try and defend myself or tell the truth.

However, my daughter posted a message to the liars, instigators, gossipers, on Facebook so I killed two birds with one stone. I am telling the absolute truth around Tomi’s death and my spirituality.

I will leave you with this. Ever since I was 7 (Tomi was the oldest of 7) I wanted to be 45. Tomi’s graduating number was 45-15. I will be 45, on the 15th of Jan. After I complete my life coach classes starting on 9/19 I know I will be in my rightful place on this planet. Therefore, I believe that it is time for me to walk in my gift.

Family only my aunties, uncles, and cousins that normally call me please contact me for questions. Everyone else read my stories for clarifications, and know that all lies with my name will be revealed to me.

Tomi will be having twins in a few months and instead of gossiping you can help raise his children. I think it’s going to be one girl and one boy. Who knows?

The protector of Tomi’s twins

Show Love!!!!!!

spirituality
1

About the Creator

Mecca C Eaves-Glass

I’m a teacher with anxiety. I think the idea of wearing a mask all day is ridiculous. I am a wife, mother, grandmother I’m looking forward to new journeys and experiences. Therefore, I am a Bedroom Kandi consultant and now Vocal writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.