Longevity logo

A TEST OF SANITY.

Corona Virus, What have you done?

By Joan MarshPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

To say that life over the last two months has been challenging, is an understatement. The existence we now live in isn't called life, it's called survival. We wake up everyday, thankful for just that. We pray that we don't cough, and we pray harder, that no one around us coughs. We take a look in the mirror thinking that if we have the Corona Virus, it will somehow show up on our faces, knowing that this virus doesn't show symptoms like the chicken pox, for example.

For those furloughed, we hope that we won't receive that dreaded email or call, where our employer tells us that due to the unstable economy and the uncertainty of how long this virus will be around, your position has been terminated. As you read the email, your first thought is about calling that dreaded Universal Credit phone line, or Unemployment, if you're located in America. The stories about the waiting times, if you are lucky to get through, are enough to drive you crazy.

Then you have to worry about living expenses. Your rent, food, hygienic provisions, bills, and more bills. If you have been officially terminated, your monthly income is no longer at 80%. It's pittance, compared to what you were receiving. You are now on unemployment, which is another process in itself. It's human to feel a little deflated, alone as if you were just thrown to the wolves of the World without warning. It truly tests your sanity.

Then you hear that this one passed away, and that one, and this cousin, friend, distant relative, former coworker, whoever, it's the same fate. You begin to feel a little afraid because it could have been you. This virus has no preference. We are all targets.

But as humans, we know that life isn't fair. There will be ups and downs in life. A virus today, an earthquake tomorrow. It is what it is. When you get to the point of knowing you are powerless to effect change, that will be when a calm will come over you, and mentally you will be ready to move forward in your daily comings and goings.

Can I be blunt? I'm sick of hearing about Corona Virus. If there is nothing new, as it relates to prevention, then I don't want to hear solely about, the amount that have died within 24 hours, on the news every hour. I know already. We know already. I don't know about you, but I have become immune to hearing about death. Is this normal? I don't think so. But it's our norm. It doesn't make us cold. It just shows that as a people, we look at death now, as an everyday expedited normality. Sad, but true.

I want my life back. I miss going to work. I miss going to my cousin Karen's house for dinner on Sundays. I miss partying with my sister. I miss seeing my brothers. I miss my family. Period. I went to Wilcos today. I took a long walk. It's two miles away, so I can count that outing as exercise. I bought unnecessary things, because I just wanted to spend some money. I needed that normalcy. I think we all do. So, before we attack those folks who go outside and sit in the parks, or go to get their nails done; maybe that's their way of coping. That's there outlet. I never knock anyone in how they handle their day to day lives. I just hope for everyone's sake, that when folks go out, it's done with safety in mind, for everyone.

Fear, causes an imbalance within the mind. Acceptance strengthens it.

Corona Virus, what have you done to us?

Joan Marsh.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.