Longevity logo

A Skunk That Led To Scars

A lesson learned

By Hannah DuprePublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo Credit: https://www.wayfair.com/keyword.php?keyword=skunk+garden+statue

When I was a little girl, I believe that I behaved like a normal child. Very active, loved going outside to play, pouted whenever I didn't get my way, and even got into trouble every now and then. When we are kids, that's where we start learning our lessons of appreciation and kindness. I have such a lesson scarred onto my arm, and will always have as a reminder to be grateful and kind.

Scars can be a symbol of an old pain that needed much time to heal, but I also see them as stories and memories that will never be forgotten. I was probably about four or five years old when I got my two scars. I've become so use to seeing them there that it would look odd if they were gone. They are part of who I am now, and I wouldn't want to change it. I had to go through this lesson in order to become a better person, even as a child.

To begin, I was outside on a cloudy day playing with my sister and our 2 neighbors that were also sisters. We were walking along a wall that elevated my front yard because my house was located on a hill. Now, my other neighbor on the other side of my house is another story. I remember him being a bit older than us, and he liked to be mean, especially with his dog, who was a Pitbull.

I understand now that Pitbulls are actually pretty sweet and kind, but at that age, I happened to have a fear of dogs. This neighbor loved letting his dog out to scare my sister and me whenever we went outside to play. This was also the day that I was holding a little glass figurine of a skunk.

I got this item as a gift from my godmother. I actually was not happy when receiving it. It was meant as a joke within my family because I had a speech impediment and couldn't say skunk, instead I pronounced it as "stunk." I was also jealous of my sister because she got something pretty, like a dolphin or a mermaid. I don't remember why I was holding it, but that's where I was and that's where it was.

So to continue with the story, of course my mean neighbor let his dog out to bark at our feet that he couldn't reach and I was terrified. I must have been clutching the glass skunk too hard and ended up cutting myself twice with its pointy tail on my little arm. The next thing I know, I'm screaming and running along the wall to my mother. She helped me clean it and bandage it. When I was better, I went to go looking for my skunk, because I didn't have it anymore and realized I dropped it.

I ended up finding it shattered in pieces below the wall. Now, I can't remember at all the pain of healing my arm went through, but I clearly remember the pain of sadness and disappointment when I found my glass skunk ruined.

My child mind couldn't comprehend that I had just learned a valuable lesson to appreciate anything that anyone gives to you. They didn't have to get me anything, but they did because they were thinking of me. But nonetheless, I did react the way a lesson was suppose to be taught. Every present from then on, I loved, even if I didn't in actuality. Another important lesson that I learned as well: glass is sharp.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Hannah Dupre

Just a college grad that is looking for her way in life trying to find the right path to her passions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.