Longevity logo

A Daily Tarot Card Pull

How I start each morning with focus

By Kate McDevittPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I’m just 1 person who likes a little extra focus each morning. I love the art on a good deck of tarot cards, but I rarely do readings for myself. When I heard about the practice of pulling a tarot card each morning to help focus your day, I thought it seemed like something I could easily incorporate into my exiting morning routine.

I go through phases with whatever deck of cards speaks to me at the moment, sometimes using an oracle deck and sometimes traditional tarot cards. I also have a routine I follow when pulling a tarot card. First, I shuffle the cards for a minimum of three times while thinking about my hopes, tasks, and obligations for the day ahead. Then I cut the deck and spread the cards out in an arc in front of me. Running my hand over the arc with my eyes closed, I stop when I feel a spot of heat. Sometimes this takes a while and other times I feel something right away. There are some mornings I don’t feel anything and my cat helps me choose a card by stepping on one (then demanding to be petted, naturally).

I look at the selected card and what feelings it evokes within me. Then I note it in my bullet journal and read a book or online resource to dive deeper about the card while eating breakfast. My favorite tarot site for more detailed card meanings (including reversed meanings) is https://www.thetarotguide.com/.

Sometimes the meaning of a card immediately strikes me, and I know exactly what I need to think about, be careful about, and focus on during my day. Other times, I’m not sure what a card’s meaning has to do with my life. Sometimes I use the meanings as a warning, as something to look out for and try to avoid or overcome. Sometimes they apply directly to my life and personality. Sometimes they seem to represent people in my life (like a coworker or family member) or notable figures (like a lawmaker). And sometimes I use the meanings as an indicator of something that could happen if I’m open to it or not careful about preventing it. No matter how I interpret the card, it gets me thinking about my intentions and actions as I start my day. It helps me commit to trying to have as good a day as I can.

There is a card in my Brian Froud Faerie Oracle deck that I closely associated with a coworker, so I would expect to hear from them or check in with that person on a day when I drew that card. On the day that I lost my job, I drew the 9 of Cups, symbolizing shattered dreams, misery, and lack of success. The next day, when I spent a long time crying on the phone to my mother, I drew the Queen of Swords card, symbolizing mourning, protection when vulnerable, and truth. Since then, I am always reassured when I draw cards symbolizing new beginnings or inspiration.

Even though there can be interesting similarities between the cards and events in my life, I don’t rely on the cards to tell me exactly what my day will be like. They’re not a guidebook. They are just a tool to get me thinking, and it’s all about how I personally interpret and apply that tool in my own life. They help me start my day by being cautious or open or determined. They help me focus attention where I feel I need to. And by writing them down in my bullet journal, it’s also something I can check back in with throughout the day as I accomplish tasks.

spirituality
Like

About the Creator

Kate McDevitt

Just like the creations I build out of LEGO bricks or the stories I create on the page, I am constantly working on building a life and figuring out how to adult. I'm Just 1 Person Blog: http://imjust1person.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.