Longevity logo

A Cure to COVID

Suffer now or suffer later?

By Stephy EllsworthPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 9 min read
2
A Cure to COVID
Photo by Daniel Schludi on Unsplash

Stephy Says 💋 first of all: I’m sick of COVID. Sick of hearing about it. Sick of talking about it. Sick of working in it. But, it’s still here…therefore, so am I.

With that being said…

2020 hit us all like a ton of bricks as life as we knew it changed so quickly & drastically. COVID-19 reared its head in the most unimaginable way possible. When the Corona virus made news headlines, let’s admit—none of us really took it seriously. I mean after all, we have seen & lived through the H1N1 Swine flu, H5N1 Bird Flu, Ebola, & Zika; not to mention old school outbreaks like Polio, Measles, Chicken Pox, Whooping Cough, & Tuberculosis. This outbreak would come & go like the others, right? Wrong!

COVID-19 made an appearance & proved that it was here to stay. We witnessed laws change, courthouses close, approval of to-go alcohol beverages, schools shut down, jobs furloughed, utility bills be forgiven, & generous funds be provided by the government. Who would have ever thought this would happen in America?

Nobody saw this coming, well except maybe the conspiracy theorists. Honestly, I will admit, I’ve listened to some of the theories—& I don’t think they are all wrong.

We went from a democratic nation fighting over toilet paper & hand sanitizer to a mandatory mask wearing social distancing with a curfew country—all in the blink of an eye. Tests were unavailable to confirm actual positive results & symptoms changed from strictly respiratory symptoms to flu like symptoms with a touch of “sinus infection.” Boy, 2020 had us confused.

Initially, scientists were baffled. Doctors were confused. The medical field was in shambles. And healthcare workers felt complete chaos. There was barely any PPE (personal protective equipment) & “no room in the inn” when it came to hospitals.

At first, there was no treatment, & individuals were instructed to “treat the symptoms” with OTC medicines & hydration. Severe cases were treated with ICU hospitalizations for respiratory distress, & life threatening cases ended in death. What a time to be alive!!

Then, miraculously vaccinations appeared—3 different vaccines at that (Moderna, Pfizer, & Johnson & Johnson). All of which had been approved for EUA by FDA with the CDC regulating the guidelines.

As of August 23,2021 Pfizer became the first COVID vaccine to be fully approved by the FDA.

As of September 17, 2021 FDA recommended that booster vaccines should be limited to 65 and older & high risk.

This is when everyone in the world became scientists, epidemiologists, & COVID experts.

As a healthcare professional, I pride myself on being safe, largely in part due the life of my patient depending on me & also for the fact that the safety & wellbeing of my patients is my priority. Also, I too like living.

With that being said, I still receive condemning scowls from individuals because I chose not to get vaccinated. I’m usually informed of the death toll from the virus (as if I’m not already aware). I’ve been called all kinds of names you can think of, people can’t “understand for the life of me why someone just would be so stupid not to get the vaccine.”

Personally, I have seen the news coverage, I am aware that the numbers are inaccurate. COVID has been listed as the primary cause of death for many cases, even when that isn’t the case. Basically, if a person died for other reasons but was COVID positive at the time of death, COVID was automatically the cause. This led to inaccurate statistics being released to the public. I have witnessed this first hand, but I digress…

Back to the matter at hand…

For some reason, it is just hard for some people to accept the concept of free will, medical freedom, or the personal choice of not participating in vaccines. I’ve been called all kinds of names you can think of. Personally, I pass no judgement on anyone’s choice when it comes to their health. When asked if I believe someone should receive the vaccine, my response is simple — “I believe you should do what’s best for your health.” I am in no position to decide someone’s health. Nor is anyone in the position to decide mine.

And as a nurse I make it clear to patients that the right to choose is theirs to make because they have to make decisions that’s best for them as individuals.

I found a few of the most common reasons for people not being vaccinated:

divide over vaccine

Most people I come across were initially afraid to take the vaccine due to unknown side effects. The most common side effects seem to be fever, muscle aches, soreness or tenderness at injection site, headache, chills, & fatigue.

The other reason is this, “if I can still get COVID then why do I even need to get the shot?” (keep reading for more of my two cents). The individuals that ask this believes that the vaccines are pointless. With the mutated strands of COVID surfacing, they aren’t sure the vaccines would protect them.

HERE’S THE POINT I REALLY WANT TO MAKE!

The real divide is not between VACCINATED & UNVACCINATED. The divide is between RESPONSIBLE & IRRESPONSIBLE.

I am unvaccinated, not irresponsible.

I wear a mask.

I wash my hands—THOROUGHLY.

I practice social distancing.

And I would still do the same if I was vaccinated.

Let’s talk vaccines.

The media does a poor job of accurately informing the general public. Initially, when vaccines were covered, they informed the public that the vaccines would PREVENT COVID. Due to panic, fear, & ignorance, people began to rush locations to find the vaccine. They didn’t know enough about the vaccine, but they didn’t care.

They didn’t stop to realize that, overall, the goal of the media is to entertain, not inform. The information we receive from media outlets is 3rd party. I can only imagine how many times the information has been re-written & misconstrued before being aired to viewers. They air news & headlines that provide a false certainty & a misguided sense of assurance. The statistics are fluffed up for extra excitement & a little more razzle dazzle. They know humans are gullible & too trusting. They prey on that.

Contrary to popular belief & misinformation, receiving the COVID vaccination does NOT prevent an individual from contracting or spreading the virus. It merely decreases the chances of severity of symptoms & makes hospitalization less likely. With that being said, vaccinated individuals can still be positive WITH symptoms (symptomatic). They can also be positive WITHOUT symptoms (asymptotic) & transmit it to others without knowing. Hence why masks for vaccinated individuals is still necessary.The CDC was too trusting & made the mistake of releasing a statement before that vaccinated citizens could forego their mask. After this statement, the number of positive COVID cases increased drastically. Why? Because irresponsible unvaccinated citizens also skipped masks.

The vaccines’ effectiveness was supposed to allegedly last about 6 months. I’ve seen people test positive within 3 months or less of receiving their 2nd dose. Am I surprised? No, because I understand that vaccines do not prevent the virus nor the spread of it. The vaccine was rushed out & therefore cannot be as effective.

However, after much research, it has been determined that a 3rd dose or booster is encouraged about 8 months after receiving the 2nd dose.

Here are some facts:

A modest percentage of people who are fully vaccinated will still get Covid-19 if they are exposed to the virus that causes it,” Dr. Walensky said in the email.

THE VACCINES WERE DESIGNED TO PREVENT SEVERE ILLNESS, NOT INFECTION.

The vaccines were intended to prevent hospitalization and death, the worst outcomes of infection, in large part the result of damage to the lungs and other organs.

https://www.nytimes.com/article/covid-breakthrough-delta-variant.html

I said all that to say this, even if you are vaccinated- please be responsible. Yes, I know you’re not responsible for anybody else’s health. However, just for decent human courtesy. It would be nice.

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had patients come into the office upset because they are asked to wear a mask. “I got the shot.” That’s ALWAYS the response. But let me tell you this…my last 2 exposures have not been from unvaccinated people. They have been from vaccinated people who thought they were “ok” (even though they had ALL the symptoms), just because “they got the shot.” Guess who they contracted the virus from? Vaccinated people. Undoubtedly, people who were didn’t feel the need to mask up because of receiving“the shot.”

Educating about the vaccine & it’s objective is key.

My second point:

The news & the community consistently blames the unvaccinated for the spread of the virus when that is not necessarily the case.

Honestly, when the CDC decided to release the new guidelines stating fully vaccinated individuals were no longer required to wear masks, they were too trusting that Americans would be honest. The dishonest unvaccinated ones that chose to forego the mask without the vaccine were irresponsible. THOSE are the ones responsible for the spread of the virus.

That ain’t got nothing to do with me. I was still responsible. Vaccinated? No! Responsible? Yes.

What it all comes down to is being a responsible & courteous human being. Vaccinated or not, wear the mask, wash your hands, & stay outta people’s face.

If people don’t wanna get vaccinated, mind your business & stay outta their way when you see them coming.

If requirements or mandates come…in which they have arrived…, that’s whack as a heart attack but let people deal with that & cross that bridge when they get to it.

There has been some talk of unvaccinated people having higher insurance premiums. Why? If I’m not sick or costing any extra bills or claims, why should it matter?

I stood in the middle of COVID care for over 70 positive patients before scientists even knew what it was or even had a vaccine to offer. I have maintained negative results the whole pandemic, & now because I refuse their precious vaccine, I should be penalized. Get outta here!

Do I agree with the mandates? Absolutely not! Because I don’t believe anyone should be “made” to do something to their body if it’s not their desire or own free will. After all, as a nurse, we were always taught that a patient has a right to refuse any form of treatment. I believe & fully support medical freedom! I am not anti -vaccines, I am anti-mandates.

Here’s a petition against mandate

A little more perspective for you:

P.S. here’s how I’ve remained negative the entire pandemic :

  • Prayer & anoninting oil
  • 1,000 mg Vitamin C
  • 110mg Zinc Oxide
  • Orange Juice
  • Hydration (Water)
  • 8-10 hours of sleep
  • Keep stress levels low
  • Wash hands or sanitize
  • Wearing a mask
  • Avoiding large crowds (social distancing)

Disclaimer: I am not a medical practitioner & not offering any medical advice. Everything in this article is strictly based upon personal experience & opinions.

Stay safe! Happy vaxxing!

Oh yeah, we thought 2020 was bad.

Welcome to 2020won… read it again🥴

As Always, Stephy Says 💋 LIKE, COMMENT, SHARE, & SUBSCRIBE ✨ www.stephysays.com

fact or fiction
2

About the Creator

Stephy Ellsworth

Certified Blogger | Master Life Coach | Lover of words, writing, reading, & English |Published Authoress|

“Everyone has a story, I just decided to write mine.” -Steph 💋✍🏽

#stephysays💋#astoldbySteph #stephysaysshow #accordingtostephy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.