Longevity logo

8 Ways to Gamify Your Fitness Routine for Maximum Output

Make your workouts more fun to keep yourself from getting bored.

By Michael BrockbankPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
2
8 Ways to Gamify Your Fitness Routine for Maximum Output
Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

With the new year upon us, many will start to get serious about losing some weight. However, not everyone will have the same degree of success. But, if you gamify fitness, you might increase your chances.

Because, let's face it; how many people do you know start out strong with workout goals for the new year only to pitter out sometime in mid-February?

I know I can count several off the top of my head without really thinking about it.

But, thanks to available technology, there are many ways you can go about gamifying the experience. The hardest part is finding something that works best for you.

What is Gamifying Fitness?

Gamifying fitness means you take an exercise or workout routine and find ways to make it fun. In fact, gamification is such a major thing nowadays, many businesses put it into practice to boost morale and productivity.

What makes gamifying so effective is because when you view something as fun or entertaining, you're more likely to continue doing the activity.

Look at most exercise equipment nowadays, such as the Peloton. Many of these units create a "gaming" atmosphere where you can compete online with other players. Or, the visual display will show you a path that simulates the ride or run.

It's all about engaging the mind and turning a mundane activity into something fun.

8 Ways You Can Gamify Fitness Right Now

In reality, there are thousands of ways you can gamify the experience of just about anything. It all really depends on who you are and what you want to achieve.

Not everyone will view the same activity as entertaining.

However, I can show you some of the things I do to gamify fitness today. Perhaps they can spur some creative juices to help you figure out your own method of creating fun from exercising.

1. Use the Spri Exercise Dice

One of the presents that were under the tree this year was a set of Spri Exercise Dice. You roll these six-sided, foam dice across the floor and perform the exercises.

When you add in another player, it becomes a competition to see who gives up first.

One die has six different reps and times, while the other has six bodyweight workouts. For example, I could roll and have to perform 30 seconds of push-ups.

2. Challenge Friends and Family in Exercises

Obviously, I can challenge friends and family to roll the dice above. But, there are other ways you can compete for the long-term.

Starting this year, a group of us are putting $5 into a pot. And whoever can meet all of their daily goals first after so many months gets a gift card of the total.

You can also join some Facebook groups, Meetups, or any other social event to challenge others. One of my good friends is signed up with DietBet.

The main point is to never underestimate the value of friendly competition.

3. Using a Fitbit Account

Although you need to buy a Fitbit device to really get the most out of the free account, the rewards can be great. I've been involved in a number of daily and weekly challenges for steps and physical activity.

If you get a good group of active and supportive friends, it's very easy to gamify fitness to many different levels.

Of course, there are also a ton of other wearables out there that have similar features. Whether you go with Apple, Samsung, or another brand, the point is to be active and socialize with others to keep you engaged.

4. Track Your Progress and Break Some Records

One of my favorite methods for keeping focused on fitness is by competing with myself. This is done by keeping track of my personal bests and then trying to surpass my ability.

It's kind of like trying to break my "high score" by pushing myself to do more.

For example, I can look back and see when I set my record for the most sit-ups in a single sitting. Then, I push myself to beat that record.

To do this, I use apps like Exercise.com. However, you can use something like a spreadsheet in Libre Office or Google Docs.

5. Play the Xbox Kinect

Now, before you start hating, hear me out. The Xbox Kinect has played the biggest part in me losing more than 80 pounds. And I still play it in 2021.

This is because I have several games that I thoroughly enjoy playing. And when I play, I work myself up into a sweaty mess within 25 minutes with each session.

Usually, I'll strap two-pound wrist weights to each arm during gameplay. I also toss myself into the game, meaning I am all over my living room jumping around.

When I play Kinect Sports Season 2: Tennis, I really play tennis in the living room. I'm not just standing in one spot.

6. Find an Engaging App

There's no shortage of fitness apps on the Internet. Apple and Google have an exceptionally long list of things you can add to your phone to enhance your workout routine.

However, you might have to sift through hundreds of them before finding one that fits your needs perfectly.

Things like Pokemon Go and help you get quite a few steps. Or, you can simulate running from a zombie horde. Apps can easily gamify fitness depending on what you find fun.

7. Create an RPG Character Workout Routine

One thing I have set up recently is creating a workout routine as if I were a character from a role-playing game.

For instance, I figured that a "wizard" class would probably do more yoga and cardio workouts. Something like a Spider-man Plank would be beneficial for thieves scaling walls. Lifting the dumbbells would obviously benefit a warrior class.

Yes, this kind of shows off my dorkiness. But, it's actually kind of fun coming up with routines for specific classes of characters.

In this regard, you're only limited by your imagination.

8. Join a Local Sport League (kind of)

I was a bit reluctant to put this point on the list for gamifying fitness. That's because of the current state of the world, what with a pandemic and all.

But, once the dust settles, you could always join a local sporting league. Not only does it get you out of the house and burning calories, but you can also meet quite a few people and socialize.

Personally, I'm looking forward to the summer league at Top Golf. And, I wouldn't mind being on a bowling team again.

Does Gamification Really Work?

There have been studies upon studies demonstrating how gamification works in almost any setting. It's all about delivering a positive mindset about a certain activity.

And positivity improves productivity. In this case, health and fitness.

The primary goal to gamify fitness is finding a way to make physical activity more fun for yourself. I love keeping track of records, but that's probably something that doesn't interest you.

That's fine.

Everyone has their own idea of what's fun. I'm a geek when it comes to data. But, I also know people who absolutely love morning runs.

Anything you can come up with that keeps your mind focused on exercise is beneficial. As long as you think it's fun, that's all that really matters.

Find the Right Game for Your Health Needs

By making a game out of your activities, you'll find yourself more excited to do them again. It's all about holding your attention over the long-term and preventing boredom.

With so many methods available nowadays, it comes down to spending time to find the best way to gamify fitness for yourself.

fitness
2

About the Creator

Michael Brockbank

I am the owner and operator of several blogs including WriterSanctuary.com. As a freelance writer since 2012, I have covered a range of topics and completed over 8,000 projects for clients. Follow me @WriterSanctuary on Twitter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.