Longevity logo

7 Micro-Habits That Helped Me Lose Weight

Do you want to lose weight?

By Sunshine JanePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
7 Micro-Habits That Helped Me Lose Weight
Photo by i yunmai on Unsplash

What is a micro-habit?

Micro-habit is a kind of daily mini-behavior that I like to pamper with positive OCD *. The micro-habit is to perform the desired activity in a very short time but in a repeated way. It can be so short that you never thought it could count.

Since the pandemic came, I put on about 8 kg, and then I focused on losing weight. I set out to reach a weight that would make me feel good about myself.

It is certain that I have lost a lot of weight with diet (over two kilos in 3 months), sports and micro-habits, but I do not want to write about it at the moment, as I have not yet reached the weight I want. I will come back with a detailed article at some point.

I'm just going to write about micro-habits. Those little things that we do for ourselves and that, repeated long enough, will end up as internal mechanisms of operation. For more information on micro-habits, I recommend The Art of Limiting the Essentials in Business and Everyday Life, written by Leo Babauta.

Micro-habits that helped me lose weight

I have no unallowed food in the house. If I'm not allowed sweets, it certainly doesn't help me to look at chocolate or other things that would sabotage me every day. I know, it's hard, but it really works.

I only have vegetables and yogurt in the fridge. Since I have given up certain foods that I used to eat quite a lot, I have moments when I feel like attacking the refrigerator in a barbaric way. Because sometimes I couldn't help myself, I decided that in the evening they would just catch me with yogurts and vegetables in the fridge. How much salad can a man eat? How much yogurt? I know, that means buying food in small quantities every day.

I buy food in small portions, the smallest. Because when I'm hungry, I don't stop until I'm a victim, I've learned to buy small portions and quantities. A little yogurt, a little ham foil, and so on. My brain gets tired of knowing that it has received the necessary portion, and so I can no longer fool myself that I respect the proportions… And the small food is really… small.

I only use small plates and put the food in the fridge after I put it on my plate. I don't eat until I bring the food back. I don't leave it on the table to make it easy to refill. In fact, I need very little food, even if I can eat a lot.

When I order food, I split the portion into two halves. Although the portion of the food is quite small anyway, I divide it in two and I eat twice, with a break of 1-2 hours between meals. If I take my soup and the second course, I don't eat both at the same table.

I replaced the sweets with fruit or drinking yogurt. I know, it's hard without chocolate or juices, but I'm used to it. I eat more fruit, and in the evening, if I'm hungry, I add another yogurt.

I haven't completely given up on forbidden foods, I don't act like I'm sick. I eat very, very little of them to pass my appetite. To read that I still steal from the unhealthy potatoes of my colleagues… Or I take another sip of cola so that I feel human too.

I didn't read these things anywhere, but I learned them more out of necessity. What healthy micro-habits do you have?

weight loss
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.