Longevity logo

5 things that happened to me after I started working out regularly

5 things that happened to me after I started working out regularly

By VIRGO JENEFER JAYNEPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Image courtesy of Pixabay

Maintaining a steady fitness regimen provides more advantages than you would believe. It's more than just getting your dream body or enhancing your physical health. I began attending to the gym on a regular basis around 3.5 years ago. I became obsessed with weight training in order to gain strength and muscle. It began as a way to better my health and appearance.

But the advantages I've gained since starting my workout routine go beyond all of that. This is the extra push you need to commit to a steady training routine.

5 Things That Happened To Me After I Started Working Out Habitually

My Energy Increased

This sounds counterintuitive because working out expends a lot of energy. But your brain also releases dopamine, aka the happy hormone. Getting my training session in always leaves me with more energy than I had at the start of my workout. I leave the gym with an improved state of mind and increased mental clarity. For this reason, I like to work out before I sit down to do a lot of work that requires focus because I feel like my productivity increases after getting in a good workout.

I Became More Confident

My increased confidence didn’t just occur because I felt better in my own skin, but because I am stronger and I feel more capable as a person. I feel more in control of my appearance. I continuously surprise myself with what my body can accomplish in the gym. I also started to hang around people who shared similar values, and I felt like I fit in. The gym became a sort of second home; everyone there is working on themselves. Being a part of that really boosted my confidence on top of the physical changes I saw in my physique.

I Learned How to Regulate My Emotions

Weight training taught me how to work through my emotions. It helps ground me and connect me to my body when I’m feeling anxious. When my emotions are too much to handle, going to the gym is a huge source of relief for me. At the same time, it’s taught me how to break my feelings down into smaller pieces. Much like you do during a workout, you break it down into sets and reps. As weird as it sounds, building the mental resilience to go to the gym every day and push myself taught me how my mind works, which helped me regulate my emotions.

I Started To Love Myself

Having interests and hobbies makes our lives more enjoyable and also makes us more well-rounded people. Going to the gym makes me feel like I have something to offer. It has made me more aware of my self-worth. I have something that is just mine. It doesn’t matter what happens in my personal life; going to the gym is something I will do for as long as I can. Finding a hobby that keeps you healthy is just as essential as building hobbies that work your brain or allow you to express yourself creatively. Plus, people who have hobbies and interests tend to feel happier and more satisfied with their lives.

I Built Other Healthy Habits

This might be my favorite part. My workout routine has been the basis for which I was able and can build other healthy habits. It’s like a domino effect. Once you become the type of person who works out regularly, the rest of your life starts to come together to match that identity. The same rule applies if you identify as a lazy person, you will find other ways to validate that story.

As a weight lifter, it was natural to prioritize my health by focusing on my nutrition, hydration, and sleep. From there, it was a domino effect. I started taking my mental health seriously, etc. I realized that I am in control of my life, and I can choose to make progress in any area. I can improve my physical health, my mental health, my career, my relationships. It all comes down to the daily habits and choices I make. I was already making good healthy choices when it came to my body, so it just makes sense that I would have a similar mindset in other areas of my life.

Final Thoughts

As cliche as it sounds, the gym really changed my life and improved my life exponentially. I know it will continue to do so — that’s why I keep showing up and putting in the work. I recommend everyone to build a workout routine they love and can stick to consistently. It will improve your life drastically.

Do you have a consistent workout routine?

fitness
Like

About the Creator

VIRGO JENEFER JAYNE

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.