Longevity logo

5 Things I Do to Relax

Productive ways to relax

By Tiffani MetzgerPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Everyone needs a way to relax and relieve stress. Figuring out what works can be a difficult task but once you know what works, you can relax. There are a number of different ways and things that people do in order to relax and rest. Here are a few of the things that I do in order to relax and rest. They include writing poetry, learning to sew, making trivets and ribbon leis, scrapbooking and reading.

1. Writing Poetry

One of the things that I find to be the most relaxing is writing poetry. I started writing poetry when I was in 7th grade to help me deal with everything that was going on at the time. Poetry allows me to release all of my frustrations and emotions onto a page. I write about my life, medical conditions, problems, and everything else that I need to in order to feel better. I write to make myself happy and sometimes I write things that will make others happy. Poetry is a great way to relax and let out all of your emotions in a productive way.

2. Learning to Sew

Sewing is another very good way to relax and stay calm. Over the last year, my aunt began teaching me to sew because I wanted to learn something new and she wanted to teach me. I wanted to learn how to make a quilt and I recently finished my first quilt. Sewing takes time and patience. The sound of the machine and the movement of the fabric between my fingers helps to calm me and I get to make something for someone in the process.

3. Making Trivets and Ribbon Leis

During my freshman year in high school, one of my classmates taught me how to make ribbon leis. It only takes me a few minutes and the movements help me to relax. I also learned how to make yarn trivets. My grandmother gave me a partially made one and in a matter of minutes I had finished it for her. I like the feel of the yarn and the loom that I use to make them. Once I make these items I give them to people. Crafting always makes me feel better. Making things is a great way to relax and it always works for me.

4. Scrapbooking

Scrapbooking is when you print out pictures and put them into a scrapbook. A scrapbook is a way to keep memories and show them in a certain way. I put in descriptions and journals to remind myself of the events that are in the scrapbook. Scrapbooking makes me feel better and lets me look at pictures that I might not remember sometimes. It relaxes me because I can put the good memories down on a page in a certain way.

5. Reading

I love to read! Reading has been one of my favorite things to do ever since my sister's teacher taught me how to read since I was having trouble. I will read anything you give me and it makes me feel better. It calms me down. It lets me relax and escape into a world other than mine. It allows me to think that at least my life isn't nearly as complicated as the lives of the characters in the book. In some way that brings me peace. I can sit on a couch, chair or bed and read for hours on end. Although, if I'm really interested in a book then I might need to be reminded to stop reading long enough to eat and sleep. Books are a great way to rest and relax.

If you like this information, please leave a tip so that I can keep finding new ways to relax and relieve stress.

self care
Like

About the Creator

Tiffani Metzger

I live in California and I am disabled. I have a number of medical conditions and family issues. The things that always help me get through everything are the different crafts that I do, writing, and the rest of my family.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.