Longevity logo

5 Morning Habits You Need to Kick

Things that drag us down

By Eric HolleyPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

We all have our morning routines that we do every single day. The moment we wake up we start our daily journey in our lives. Here are five habits you may have in your morning routine you should kick out for more productivity!

1. The Remote:

We have all done it, woke up start the pot of coffee and turn the T.V on. I know I have many times gotten up and first thing I would do is turn on ESPN. My favorite sport shows come on in the morning and I like to hear what they say!

Maybe you are like me but its regular news or you need to know the weather for the day. Especially when it is in the middle of winter and you need to know the conditions you are going to be in. I get it, but most of that can be seen on your apps now days.

The truth is T.V can be very distracting in the morning while you are trying to get everything ready for the day. Plus it creates all this noise and chaos it feels like sometimes. I personally like the peace and quite in the morning.

I encourage you to try and go the first hour or two without T.V and instead read or focus on getting your daily goals ready. There are many things you can and probably should do while it is still quite and with no T.V.

2. Social Media:

Probably the number one distraction in our world today. Everything we do is connected through social media somehow in our lives. Most people before they even get out of bed takes a stroll through one of their social media apps. Before you know it you have already wasted thirty minutes or more just on your phone.

Unless there is an emergency all those things can wait I promise you! When I wake up my phone is put down somewhere I am less likely to see it for at least an hour if not two. I don't want the distractions or disruptions that come from having my phone next to me. I personally start my work early and as soon I wake up after breakfast.

Social media will just hinder you from completing your task and daily goals. I am willing to bet it is a habit of many people today, kick this habit and make the most of your mornings!

3. Skipping Breakfast:

When I was a senior in High School I skipped breakfast every school day. There was hardly any times I would eat breakfast before school. The simple answer is eating that early would make me feel sick for some reason.

Now as an adult I do not miss out on breakfast as much as possible! It does not make me feel that way thankfully now and I wake up hungry. Still there are many of people out there today who completely skip breakfast all the way around!

Besides the fact they have proven it is the most important meal of the day, you need the fuel it gives you to start your work day! I'm sorry but coffee will not do it alone although it is great to drink.

I understand if you don't want to eat a big breakfast or you are trying to keep a diet and lose weight. In this day and age we live in there are so many ways you can eat a light breakfast and still stick to your diet! One of my favorite things to do is make a smoothie, there are so many healthy components you can use to make one.

We need our breakfast cause it will give you the energy and fuel you need to start your day! Our body needs protein to give it fuel to function. Smoothies help give you energy through the fruit which has the vitamins you need for energy.

4. Snooze you Lose:

I don't know why we hit that snooze button as if it will be easier to wake up in ten more minutes. Honestly it will not be and you will still feel that struggle to get up.

So you might as well just jump up as soon your alarm goes off because hitting that snooze won't help none. The faster you get it out the way the faster your body will wake up and you will get a move on.

It is a good reminder that time is money and money is time. Once you lose that ten minutes you can never get it back and you never know it may have been the ten minutes you needed to close that deal.

5. Sleep-In:

It is hard to not want to sleep in and stay in bed. Don't get me wrong there are times when we need it and can do it. But overall do not make this a habit if it is a habit change it!

Sleeping in makes you miss half the day and have less to work with in completing your task. Or you may wake up and decide not to do something because it is already so late so why bother just do it tomorrow. Only tomorrow turns into a week later and still not done.

Do not start no later then 8 in the morning. Anytime later and you will loose the drive to get your things done, and you will be on a limited time schedule to work with.

I personally like to wake up at six and get started as early as possible. Giving me plenty of time to finish my task, and I get done early so I can have the free time to do what I like. Make those early decisions and give yourself the time you want to do what you like.

I hope these five habits to kick will help you in your daily life. May your productivity increase along with your financial gains!

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.