Longevity logo

5 daily Changes I Made to Help Lose 50 Pounds

Heres the changes I made to lose 50 pounds over the last couple of months.

By A RobertsPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Okay let’s face it, most of us have probably gained weight in the last year. This year has been super stressful and being stuck inside for most of it only made things worse. I ended up spending my last year of undergrad fully online which led to being less active and stress eating. I ended up gaining a lot of weight which is why I decided a couple of months ago that I wanted to lose this weight before I started graduate school in the fall. Back in January I was shocked when I stepped on the scale to see that I weighed 170 pounds. Being a short girl, I’m only 5’3, this is a high weight for me. I usually weigh around 120 pounds, so I definitely gained a lot of weight during the last year and a half. I decided to make some changes to my daily routine to help lose weight.

Here are 5 things I did:

1.) I Walked More

I gave myself a goal of walking 10,000 steps a day. This may seem like a lot of steps but it’s really not difficult. I wanted to go from spending most of my day sitting down to moving around more. I did this by either going on a daily walk outside or walking on the treadmill. I also got up from my desk more often. Taking a daily walk outside has been something that I’ve found very helpful and calming. It’s nice to get out for some fresh air and a change of scenery. My daily walks also helped me destress which is always nice. I started with a goal of 1 mile and then increased from there.

2.) I Increased My Water Intake

This was something I had been meaning to do for a while. I put my mind to it and made small increases in my water intake. I start my days off with a glass of water with lemon as soon as I wake up. This is refreshing and good for your body. I also switched out most of my other drinks for water. This was good because by not drinking water or juice and instead choosing water, I was decreasing my sugar and calorie intake. Drinking more water also helped me feel less tired through the day and helped my acne clear up. The downside to this is that you’ll have to pee more often so space out your water intake throughout the day.

3.) I Cooked for Myself More Often

Before quarantine I didn’t cook very much. I usually would go out to dinner or grab fast food or take out. But I decided to cut back on the takeout which also saved me money. So instead of ordering out, I learned to cook instead. Granted I don’t cook anything too elaborate. My meals are simple but by cooking them myself I’m able to make them healthier and I know exactly what is in them. I tried to make sure that every meal included at least one serving of fruits or vegetables. I also increased my protein intake by having snacks such as smoothies with Greek yogurt. I recommend Two Good Yogurt which is low in sugar and high in protein.

4.) I Woke Up Earlier

I’m not really a morning person however, sleeping in made me feel less productive and overwhelmed. So, I decided to start waking up earlier which allowed me time in the morning to get more things done and even squeeze in a walk. Studies have shown that highly productive people wake up early, so I figured it was worth a shot. I really like having the extra time in my day. Plus, getting up earlier helped me get on a better sleep schedule. Having a set sleep schedule is important when trying to lose weight because getting enough sleep at night helps increase your metabolism. Not getting enough sleep can actually slow your metabolism. So, try going to sleep at the same time every night and waking up around the same time. Make sure you’re getting at least 6 hours of sleep each night but aim for 8 hours if possible.

5.) I Did A Quick 20–30 Minute Workout 5 Days A Week

On top of increasing my steps every day, I decided to workout more. However, I don’t always have a lot of time, so I needed quick but effective workouts. I ended up using the Sweat App by Kayla Itsines. Kayla created this app for busy women. The app contains workouts from 7 different fitness trainers. Each trainer has different workout activities. You can do an at home workout with no equipment or a gym based one. There are also trainers who teach yoga, Pilates and barre. The workouts are all 20–35 minutes long which makes them easy to fit in your schedule. Another thing I liked about this app is that you can choose more than one program. For example, on Monday’s I like to do one of Kayla’s low intensity at home workouts. These workouts are great for me because I get pain in my joints. But, on Tuesday I can choose to do a workout with a different trainer if I want to switch it up and do yoga or Pilates. These workouts made me feel better overall and overtime I felt myself being able to do more things throughout the day.

One of the best things that’s come out of the last couple of months is learning to focus on myself and be a healthier person overall. These are just a few changes that I made but they made a difference in my life. I suggest starting with one small change and then taking it from there. If you keep going, you will make great progress overtime. Remember to have faith and trust the process! Good luck!

weight loss
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.