Longevity logo

14 Days of Quarantine...

Quarantine thoughts of no one special.

By Angeli CangroPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like
Photo by Markus Spiske from Pezels

These past two years... I mean weeks, has been an interesting for many of us. I'm sure if you're not apart of the lucky bunch who still has their jobs and some sort of security, you've probably started to lose your mind like I have. Being locked away under quarantine to protect my life and the life of those closest and most vulnerable to me has been both challenging and exhausting. There's only so much Netflix and YouTube a girl can watch before she loses her sight because of the blue light emitting from her laptop.

That being said, there's a lot of things I've thought about these past few weeks that have changed my perspective on the situation we're all in. Like the majority, I didn't think anything of The Coronavirus or COVID-19. It didn't directly affect me or anyone around me, so I ignored it. I went outside and went on doing what I needed to do and then some. In fact, even when it did hit my home city of New York, I still didn't pay it any mind. I just did what the news was recommending and washed my hands more often and made sure I was disinfecting any public surface I touched like a public bathroom stall or a train pole, but I wasn't worried. I wasn't worried about getting sick, even though I am at risk due to my own health problems AND being 26 weeks pregnant.

It wasn't until I received a phone call from my mother telling me that my cousin has tested positive for the virus, that her and my father's building had 4 confirmed cases of the virus and our mayor and governor authorized a mandatory shutdown that left my spouse out of a job until further notice that I started to panic. It didn't help that the virus went from being a "super flu" to a full blown deadly airborne respiratory infection; All of which happened almost at once.

So I've been #stayinghome and #netflixandchilling, taking the virus more seriously, stalking the news about what's going on in the US and what our government plans to do about it. I have to say, I am utterly disappointed in our government officials. I know I'm not the only one. The recent news about the $2 trillion dollar stimulus package has probably been the biggest slap to our faces as American people and a Nation. It doesn't make sense that companies and businesses are receiving more aid than the people who've been forced out of work and cannot have their basic needs met. Yet they're hoping to have a speedy recovery in our economy once this is all done as if this is just some sort of fluke that will go away over night and we'd all return back to normal? Ha! That's not realistic. Our nation's economy is going to change dramatically because of this and I'm sure if you're apart of the influx of American people who's waiting desperately to get a hold of unemployment services or public assistance, you've probably been thinking about your next move to keep yourself afloat or keep yourself from sinking into destitution... and spending money in retail on non essentials ,that you won't really have is probably not apart of that plan. All of this has brought a few ideas to the forefront of my mind over the past few days:

1. Always be prepared for times of uncertainty and be as self sufficient as possible.

I don't mean this as hoard groceries and basic cleaning supplies for yourself. I mean financial planning and having an emergency fund, learning to grow your own every day essential herbs and small veggies/fruit. Learning to craft and do or make things yourself. Basic home economics can provide you some stability and security in a lot of ways. Granted, living in a matchbox city like New York, there's some obstacles, but it CAN be done with some research and effort for your specific needs and situation. The internet and your library (yay for libraries!) is home to a plethora of information, put it to use! You are the one with the needs of your family and best interests in mind, so don't let anything get in the way of that.

2. This is a time for self evaluation and reinvention.

It's a bit more on the spiritual and psychological side of things but when you're stuck in the house all day with little to do and all the time in the world on your hands, take the time to reflect and reinvent yourself. Are you happy with who are you are right now? Is there something you never had the time to do but always wanted to do? Now is the time to do it. Take free courses on Skill-share or General Assembly and learn to do something you've been interested in, de-clutter your house and adapt a more minimalist lifestyle, learn to meditate. The possibilities are endless and there's no excuses left.

and lastly, 3. we are all in this together and a little bit of kindness goes a long way.

We're all vulnerable at the moment, this is something to take seriously as the virus continues to spread and there's not enough resources to protect or save everyone. The best thing we can do is have some compassion and put aside your own selfish wants and needs for the protection and safety of others who are on the front lines who have no choice to put their own families and selves are risk. If you have the means, helps someone who doesn't. Don't panic shop, don't go outside if you don't have too and most importantly, do NOT spread false information and cause more fear than there's already in place.

Now, is a time for compassion and unity. We have to stay strong for each other and help each other in any way we can. So, if you can do one nice thing for someone in the near future, do it. Help someone who couldn't get groceries by sharing some of yours if you've bought too much. If someone you know is on the front lines as a first responder or health care official and needs help with their own home care, offer to help babysit for free or help them run errands since they're sacrificing so much themselves. We do not need any more negativity and stress in our lives, if you are able to be kind, be kind. Be the good you want to see in the world and shown to you.

Hopefully this all ends sooner than we think. Remember, stay home, wash your hands and again, be kind.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Angeli Cangro

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.