Lifehack logo

Thank God For Small Blessings

Running Too Fast

By Kaylon ForsythPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
Like

I have been having kind of an off day today, It started out with me awakening from a dream that I was participating in unhealthy behaviors from my past, and the First thing I said when I woke up was, thank god that shit is in the past. The unhealthy behavior was active addiction, and the dream was one that made me cringe when I woke up.

When I got to work, everything was find, however the entire mood of the department changed drastically when one person showed up 3 hours late, which of course left the rest of us to kick it in gear, to cover that individual, we managed, and we got through it, with positivity, and were laughing by the end of the day.

I got off work, and ran my usual 12 miles, due to not being able to work out today, because injured myself while throwing my spear yesterday evening, and did so in a substantial enough way, it eliminates that activity out of my life right now. I went to the laundromat after running and placed 9 quarters into a machine that i later learned was out of order, this frustrated me to say the least, and this day had already been testing my patience.

I took off from the laundromat in my car, and headed for my apartment, still angry, and took off from my car running at top speed, like I had done many times prior, and this time an unseen obstacle was in my path. I hit a brick while running towards my door, and tripped, flew 2 feet and nearly face planted it on concrete, banged my knee on the corner of the driveway, and thought I had broke my leg.

I hobbled my way to my apartment door, placed the key in the lock and opened the door, where I hobbled inside, proceeding to realize the error in my actions which were fueled by anger, that was a severe over reaction to the matter at hand. I did some Reiki on my knee, and the pain began to minimize.

I proceeded to laugh at how my actions from an emotional response, caused me to injure myself in a fairly serious way, and was very thankful that I hadn't knocked all the teeth out of my face instead, I felt lucky. I continued laughing at my stupidity for about ten minutes, and then regained my composure, grabbed my change, and returend to the laundromat, with a slight limp ofcourse. I was much calmer and had learned something from this experience, which is never to allow our emotions to drive our actions, because the resulting effects of such choices, can cause damage in a myriad of different ways.

We must always assess our own emotional state, and be willing to admit to ourselves especially, that we made a mistake, learn from that mistake, process the results of whatever the mistake may have been, and move forward, a little wiser.

Wisdom is cultivated through trial and error, as well as by acquiring it from the experiences of others, who are willing to share their story of their own experiences, so we too can learn from them. The definition of sanity is repeating the same actions, expecting a different result, so instead of acting in ways which can definitely result in such cyclical, trapped mindset, is to break free from the status quo, and realize, that you can learn from any experience which you may go through, whether it is good or bad, it all comes down to perception.

Never A failure, Always a lesson.

Brightest Blessings.

health
Like

About the Creator

Kaylon Forsyth

I lost my wife back in 2019 and I started this as an outlet for my emotional expression in regards to the pain from the loss, it has helped me substantially since that time, and I have put great effort into all of my efforts since then.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.