Lifehack logo

Missing Targets

A Seven Days In Post From 2020 With Some Extra Observations On The Targets I Missed

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
6
Image By Creator

Introduction

Seven Days In is getting a lot of visits over the last month and this post came up about the stats for various things. The blog is fifty thousand visits away from one million and half of that has happened in the last three years. I haven't put any effort into it so something has picked up on something to follow the blog for whatever reason.

Below are today's figures and if these keep up I will hit a hundred thousand visits in July. I say visits rather than views because I am sure that most of these are robots from Singapore

The Christopher Lee video is over one hundred and ten thousand views, which is very impressive for me, and the one using the Dr. Faustus images is pushing twelve thousand views, that is the first video in this post.

This is another glimpse back into my time pre-Vocal so it may interest you or bore you, but shows that I am always observing the numbers and stats.

Missing Targets On Seven Days In

I was hoping for the blog to hit half a million visits by the end of January but with eight days to go and 21K short, I think it will happen in the first week of February. January's step count is back to normal with 51K to do in eight days so that is fairly easy, and in theory I could do it in one day but that would mean walking over twenty miles and I'm far too lazy to do that.

My Christopher Lee slideshow video has passed 40K visits which is impressive when you consider that a hundred visits are considered a success for me. The Dr. Seuss / Nick Cave Red Right-Hand one is up to 5.6K (the first one I did hit 16K but new images became available so I extended it). Given "Red Right Hand"'s use in "Peaky Blinders" and the fact that it was the first ever non-commissioned piece of music used in the "X Files".

I'm only a tenth of the way through "Follow The Music" but it is enjoyable finding out about recording, distribution, and Jac Holzman's unimpressive attitude to women in the fifties, plus dealing with blacklisting during the McCarthyist Witch Hunts is all very illuminating and interesting and I may have up to ten weeks of this, which is not a bad thing.

I am almost impressed with myself that I have written a decent-length blog post with absolutely nothing to say, just plucking the odd things out of the air to put down and share with you.

So the last thing this Friday morning is to share the "Red Right Hand" video for you with excellent graphics by the brilliant Dr. Faustus. , Oh here's a thing, because I've been writing this I've completely forgotten to take my tablets!!

Concluding Missing Targets

Last month I just missed one hundred thousand visits on Seven Days In, but if the visitors keep coming at the same rate then a hundred thousand in July is a more than distinct possibility, although I am also aware it could just stop.

The visits last month generated me about £2 so it is not going to even buy me a coffee any time soon. Google ads have a minimum payout of £60 and my balance stands at £34 so at this rate it will be a year before I get anything more from this, but I am happy with the way it is going.

I hope this has not bored you too much, and if you are still here thank you for reading. It is really appreciated.

pop culturetechsocial mediaproduct reviewlisthow to
6

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock11 months ago

    It's always interesting & I appreciate you sharing with us, Mike.

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER11 months ago

    Smiling... I enjoyed reading this. I had never heard "Nick Caves meets Dr. Seuss." It seems many are enjoying your blogs, though the money will not have you "laughing all the way to the bank" so to speak. Thank you for putting a smile on my face! 👏

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.