Lifehack logo

Is Renters Insurance Really Necessary?

You move into an apartment and you have bills to pay, you've heard about renters insurance but what is it and how much does it cost?

By Liz JayPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Is Renters Insurance Really Necessary?
Photo by frank mckenna on Unsplash

Moving into an apartment and paying rent every month may not be as significant as paying a mortgage on a house to some, but when you have hiking expenses and pressure to maintain your home, some days can feel a little bit overwhelming. Sometimes you feel like you're being swallowed alive and there's no escape...

So, my grocery and clothing expenses seemed to have doubled in the last year and because of COVID, an increase in my pay packet is probably out of the question. Then a friend of mine mentioned renters insurance. She asked if I was covered because of a burst pipe that flooded her apartment. Her computer, carpets, and even her new suite were damaged but she was covered by insurance so she was in the process of getting her items replaced.

The cleanup wasn't a fun experience...

By Bernie Almanzar on Unsplash

I hadn't paid too much attention to insurance moving into an apartment before I heard of this. Was it something that all tenants did and just how important was renters insurance? I knew that if anything happened to my personal belongings in the apartment there was no way that I could afford to replace them. Let's put it this way, I was bordering on broke by the end of every month.

How much was renters insurance though? I knew I couldn't replace my valuables but would I be able to afford yet another expense? Plus, as a tenant paying rent I thought my landlord was responsible for everything.

Because of my difficulty understand renters insurance, I've prepared a breakdown of the pros and cons, the costs, and whether this type of cover is necessary for you as a tenant.

Doesn't the Landlord Offer Insurance?

The landlord has insurance for the apartment building but not for the contents of the tenants inside the property. If there is a flood, fire, or a break-in and your items get stolen or damaged, it is not the responsibility of the landlord to replace these items. Only the structure itself is covered by the landlord's insurance, which is the reason that most renters have insurance.

By Patrick Perkins on Unsplash

Can you imagine if a landlord had to cover the valuables of every tenant and something went wrong, they'd be making far too many insurance claims which would be costly for the business. The numbers wouldn't make sense so it's up to us and renters to find our own form of protection.

Even if a guest is injured in your apartment, you'll be held liable...

Insurance as a tenant extends beyond your possessions inside your rental. If a friend or relative had to come over and injure themselves in your unit, they could hold you liable for their medical bills. If you have the proper cover, it can include liability protection so you wouldn't need to issue those out-of-pocket expenses. And we all know that an unexpected medical cost could be detrimental to our financial situation.

What Can I Expect From Renters Insurance?

To understand the pros and the cons of renters insurance, it's necessary to look at what you can expect when you're covered. The items listed in your policy will be covered based on the market value. In most cases, it will be replaced especially if it is too costly to repair or restore.

You can also get cover when you can't stay in your apartment because of damage.

Now the Important Part, How Much is Insurance Cover?

By Angèle Kamp on Unsplash

Renters can expect to pay anywhere between $100 to $200 for a policy depending on the type and extent of cover. It is a good idea to speak to a few providers before you decide to take on the cover. Think about what you can afford towards premiums each month and what it would cost to replace some of the more expensive items in your apartment. If it's more valuable to have cover, then find a plan and a provider that works for you.

I know that I certainly can't make the mistake of being without cover, so I'll have to do some serious budgeting to get updated financial protection. The last thing I need is to lose my belongings and wait months to replace them because I don't have insurance!

house
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.