Lifehack logo

How Sewing During the Pandemic Changed Me

A few self reflective thoughts from an amateur sewist

By Alexandra DukePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Earlier this year, I conquered my fear of crepe fabric, something that is quite slippery to work with, and made this dress.

During the pandemic, I found myself, like many others, spending more time on my hobbies than I’ve been able to previously. Today, I’d like to share a few thoughts I’ve had this year reflecting on my hobby, and how it’s changed my relationship with myself and what I wear.

First off, I would like to tell you all a bit about myself. My name is Alex and I recently graduated university with a Bachelor of Science in Microbiology, not quite related much to sewing, right? Even though I’m very passionate about science, I’ve found myself growing attached to my side hobby. I picked up sewing and 2018 and have kept at it on and off since then. But during 2020, I found myself turning to this hobby more and more.

I’m completely self taught at sewing, and it took me until the start of the pandemic to really grow confident enough in my skills to really see an exponential increase in my skills and what I’m able to create. Before the pandemic, I would make one or two pieces of clothing every few months. Not that I don’t love these pieces but, they didn’t really have a large impact on my wardrobe or my life in general because I didn’t wear them often. The things I started out making weren’t the best fitting, and they certainly were few in number enough not to be in heavy rotation in my closet. However, after two years of trying and learning the basics, after I was given time and mental energy to dedicate to my hobby, I started making a lot of things all at once.

After a year at home, and a change in lifestyle, half of my closet is clothing that I’ve made myself, and everyday, I find myself reaching first towards things I’ve made myself as opposed to things I’ve bought from the store. I wouldn’t say that the things I’ve made are any better than what I buy from the store, but I will say that there are some benefits I’ve found from making my own clothing.

I can make things tailored to me. Before I started sewing, I would buy whatever new from the store, or while out thrifting, somethings would fit some things wouldn’t, while I can say the same thing about some of my more novice makes, as my sewing skills have gotten better, I’ve learned a few tricks along the way to make sure more often than not that my makes make me feel comfortable while wearing them. It was slightly difficult to learn how to do this correctly, but it was a skill worth learning because it made me happier when I made a dress that I could actually raise my arms in as opposed to something with sleeves that didn’t allow for such movements.

When someone compliments something I’ve made, it brings me joy to tell them that I in fact made it. It’s fun to see people comprehend this statement. Usually, it takes them a few extra seconds before they realize this. After that they exclaim, “you made that?” and proceed to ask a number of questions that make me proud I am able to bring my hobby with me everywhere I go.

Sewing itself is a great form of meditation. Sitting at the sewing machine, standing over an ironing board, or cutting out a pattern or fabric pieces, the ability to focus my mind onto what I’m doing is a privilege. It brings me peace to relax into the repetition of ironing out a seam and tinkering with a machine that always needs just a bit more dusting than not. Sitting under the light of my sewing machine and learning the quirks of it, even when they frustrate me, makes me feel triumph when I know just how to fix a problem and move on.

Since the pandemic started, I’ve found that I’ve learned a new form of patience and self acceptance through sewing. Being able to create things on my own and have the patience to follow through is one of the things I am most proud of this past year. I’m glad sewing has allowed me to learn this and I can’t wait to see what more it offers me in the future.

clothing
Like

About the Creator

Alexandra Duke

Hello, my name is Alex. I make sewing videos and take pretty pictures of my projects on the internet. Sometimes I like talking about history and other things too. My Youtube is called Whispered Moon and my Instagram is @whisperedmooon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.