Lifehack logo

Getting Through the In-between

Three Questions To Make Spring Cleaning Easy

By Amanda CarpentierPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Clothes keep multiplying over winter... Photo: Amanda C. via Canva

Every fall and winter, it’s the same old thing. Shorter days, colder nights, lots of holidays and birthdays to celebrate. Somehow, the past few months were never-ending. The pandemic restrictions contributed to it, but I did too. A box from work I brought home still needs unpacking. Piles of clothes over there, stacks of books and things, and many random moments when I thought I’d do it tomorrow. It almost springs with the usual signs of tulips breaking through the ground and grass changing from brown-yellow to springtime green.

I call this the in-between time when I could easily choose to really let it all go. It would be easy to just continue to let things accumulate and turn into a hoard this year. Yet, I choose to be productive. I will sort, organize, clean, toss, and donate the collection away. With the chaos around me, I take the first step into the hours, days, and few weeks of spring to get back into a well-organized life.

Where do I start? How will I get it all done? For me, it starts in the kitchen. Honestly, it starts in the kitchen because there is less to clean up and sort through. I clean one counter off entirely as a staging area. At one side of the kitchen, I go cabinet by cabinet, pulling everything onto the counter. Piece by piece, item by item, I consider three questions:

Do I need 4 saucers if there are only 3 cups? Photo: Amanda C. via Canva

1. Have I used it (or enjoyed its presence in my life) in the last 12 months? Most items left untouched for 12 months, or longer should move to a donation box or trash. Sometimes, the catch here is like a family heirloom or item with a lot of sentimental value that may have to be kept for longer. Expert tip: Family heirlooms can be gifted to other family members if you don’t want to keep them any longer. A nice touch is to write the history (as you know it) of the heirloom for the new owner.

2. How many of ‘this item’ are there? It’s nice to have extra plates or pans as a growing family, but empty-nesters don’t need 2 complete sets of dishes or four 8-inch pans. Be honest with the room available, fundamental needs for multiples, and unnecessary attachment to items. It’s human to collect, but it is also a choice until it gets ultimately out of control.

3. Is it broken, and does it need repair or replacement? As much as I may grow to love things like a chipped bowl, overly torn flannel shirt, or ‘on its last leg’ hairdryer, I give myself permission to let go once a year. I’m working on it whenever it is necessary, but that’s easier said than done. So, I take the time to evaluate the life of the item, and if it can be repaired, it must be repaired within a reasonable time (like 2 weeks). Otherwise, it is tossed. Items like this I do tend to make a list on my phone for ‘possible replacement needed.’ This keeps me from buying things just because and focuses purchases on things I may need or want to have.

So, back to the kitchen. Those extra measuring cups, odds, and ends of dishes or pots and pans go into a donate box. The plastic container cupboard is the worst. All the orphan pieces go in the recycle or trash. I find it’s a good time to go through the pantry too. Long forgotten mixes or partially eaten boxes are tossed (or put into compost).

Last in the kitchen is the small appliances stacked and shoved into a lower cupboard. I pull them all out, check the cords, and decide if I used it last year, will I use it again this year. You know, like that mini quesadilla maker or mini donut baker. The newest small appliance fads received two years ago usually are put into the trash or donation box.

Room by room, item by item... even the basement. Photo: Amanda C. by Canva

The next room will depend on if it is a weekend or a weekday. Weekends are for the junk drawer rooms like the extra bedroom and craft area. I use the same process as the kitchen in each room, through each pile, box, bookshelf, and closet. Either way, one room at a time is the best way to go. Starting in a corner and moving around the room, sorting as I go.

When a box of donations or bag of trash is complete, I immediately take it to the car or trash can. If this doesn’t work for you, try setting aside room on your porch or in your garage. Be mindful and set deadlines on getting it into the weekly trash pickup. For the donations, many organizations will pick things up for free.

As the last of the trash goes out to the curb and as I drop off the last box of donation items, a huge weight is lifted. I am ready for spring, summer, and fall. My hopes are high and I can walk a little taller knowing my home has the things I need and love.

Photo: Amanda C. via Canva

house

About the Creator

Amanda Carpentier

Though I have a regular career, I have found solace in my freelance writing since 2019. My passion is sharing information, ideas, thoughts, and contemplations. I enjoy my life in Spokane, WA and wandering around the Pacific Northwest.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Amanda CarpentierWritten by Amanda Carpentier

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.