Lifehack logo

Designs I Want In My Dreamhouse

Must-have features for my future home

By erinhastoomanybooks2.0Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Designs I Want In My Dreamhouse
Photo by Sebastian Staines on Unsplash

I've been binging realtor shows again. If you've been with me for a while, you'll know that I love home design. For the longest time, my dream job was interior design. Seeing these beautiful homes made me think about all the features I would love in my best-case scenario-dream home. Some of these range from simple decoration ideas, while others are architectural designs.

  • Feature wall

Feature walls aren't anything new in this field, but I still think they are essential. To my understanding, feature walls serve as accent walls to complement the design of the room. The texture of the wall is a big factor in its placement in the home. I think tile feature walls look really pretty in kitchens and bathrooms, while stone walls look great in living rooms and dens. I'm always a sucker for fireplaces that are made from stone. The definition of this design choice is kind of loose, making it somewhat attainable for apartments or rented homes. Personally, I wouldn't risk putting up wallpaper or painting a wall unless I owned the property, but it looks cool nonetheless.

  • Skylights

I remember being told that skylights were tacky as a child. Even then, I disagreed with the sentiment. Having a skylight in a bedroom would make the lighting really interesting. Plants are a big part of my room's layout, and having that extra lighting wouldn't hurt. Sunrise and sunset photos from skylights are all over my recommended page right now. I think having one in a neutral-toned room would make the sky look even bolder. Not to mention the potential for watching the rain or the stars? Sign me up. Skylights are tasteful, argue with the wall. (/J.)

  • Atriums

There's somewhat of a debate on the line between courtyards and atriums. All I know is that I want one, and getting one will be extremely difficult. I've always seen atriums as outdoor hallways placed in the center of the home. The ones I have saved are covered in greenery or show an impressive view of nature. In my opinion, these only work if you can use the space as outdoor seating or something. I've come across a few pictures online that show miniature ponds in these atriums, and that has to be one of the best duos of all time.

  • Modern staircase railing

This was like having a song stuck in my head but only knowing the opening notes. Luckily, Google was able to point me in the right direction. I couldn't find an official term to condense "horizontal-modern-staircase-railing-farmhouse-2021-trending-home-design," believe it or not (/s). In any case, I love how the design flows with the structure of the room. It makes the space seem less flat if that makes sense. I think the solid black looks better than the chrome/silver iteration of this design that I've seen, but that's just me.

  • Crow's Nest

Just like Atriums, this feature straddles a line separating many terms. You see, I always heard the term crow's nest when I was growing up. When I checked the internet, it had varied results for what I was looking for. Specifically, I'm referring to cozy bedrooms on the highest floor of a home. Usually, the staircase to these places will be narrower than an average flight of stairs. I adore crow's nests with a view of the ocean. I think the layout is so reminiscent of an oceanic design. Maybe it's because having a bird's eye view at the beach is helpful during storm warnings or at lighthouses, I don't know. I know that it's the perfect spot for me to put a skylight, modern staircase rails, and a feature wall.

Those were my dream house features! Given the conditions of the housing market and the economic structure as a whole, I know that getting these designs will take a lot of elbow grease. I guess you could say that my dream home is a modern farmhouse on the beach with a tropical garden? It's nothing unique, but it is pretty. Thank you so much for taking the time to read my post. If you want to support me and my content, please like, share, or subscribe. Don't forget to follow me on Instagram @erinhastoomanybooks2.0!

Here is my Vocal page

Here is my website

Here is my Instagram

Here are a few of my other home design posts!

house
Like

About the Creator

erinhastoomanybooks2.0

Hello! Welcome to my page where I love posting about crystals, design, writing tips, and more! You can find me on Instagram @erinhastoomanybooks2.0

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.