Lifehack logo

Binaural beats can help you relax and reduce anxiety.

The Sound of Calm

By BiniyamPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
1
Binaural beats can help you relax and reduce anxiety.
Photo by Mubariz Mehdizadeh on Unsplash

The Sound of Calm

I have always struggled with anxiety. Ever since I was a kid, I would get nervous about everything: school, friends, family, the future. I would worry about things that might never happen, or things that were out of my control. I would have panic attacks that made me feel like I was dying. I tried different therapies and medications, but nothing seemed to help me cope with my anxiety.

One day, I stumbled upon an article online that talked about binaural beats. It said that binaural beats are a type of sound wave therapy that involves listening to different frequencies in each ear through stereo headphones. The brain perceives these frequencies as a single tone that varies in pitch according to the difference between the two frequencies. For example, if you hear a 200 Hz tone in your left ear and a 210 Hz tone in your right ear, your brain will perceive a 10 Hz binaural beat.

The article claimed that binaural beats can influence the brain’s activity and induce various states of consciousness, such as relaxation, focus, and meditation. It also said that binaural beats can affect the levels of neurotransmitters, hormones, and brain waves that are associated with stress and anxiety.

I was intrigued by this idea. Could listening to some sounds really help me calm down and reduce my anxiety? I decided to give it a try. I searched online for some binaural beats recordings that were designed for relaxation and anxiety relief. I found a website that offered a variety of binaural beats for different purposes and durations. I chose one that was in the theta range (4-8 Hz), which was supposed to be associated with deep relaxation and dreaming.

I downloaded the recording and transferred it to my phone. I grabbed my headphones and went to my bedroom. I made sure that the door was locked, and the curtains were drawn. I wanted to create a quiet and comfortable environment where I could listen to the binaural beats without distractions.

I lay down on my bed and put on my headphones. I pressed play on my phone and closed my eyes. At first, I heard two distinct tones in each ear. They sounded like humming or buzzing noises. They were not very pleasant, but I tried to ignore them and focus on my breathing.

After a few minutes, something strange happened. The two tones seemed to merge into one tone that was pulsing in my head. It was like a heartbeat or a drumbeat. It was soothing and hypnotic. I felt myself drifting into a state of relaxation that I had never experienced before.

I don’t know how long I listened to the binaural beats. It could have been minutes or hours. Time seemed to lose its meaning. All I knew was that I felt calm and peaceful. My mind was clear and quiet. My body was relaxed and comfortable. My anxiety was gone.

I opened my eyes and looked at the clock on my phone. It said that the recording had ended 20 minutes ago. I felt refreshed and energized. I took off my headphones and got up from my bed. I felt like a new person.

I decided to make binaural beats a part of my daily routine. Every day, I would listen to them for at least 20 minutes in the morning or before going to bed. Sometimes, I would listen to them during the day when I felt stressed or anxious. They always helped me calm down and cope with my anxiety.

Binaural beats changed my life for the better. They gave me a simple and natural way of coping with stress and anxiety that I could do anywhere and anytime. They made me feel more relaxed and positive about myself and my life.

Binaural beats are not a miracle cure for anxiety, but they are a powerful tool that can help you manage it better. If you suffer from anxiety like me, you should give them a try too. You might be surprised by how much they can help you.

product reviewtechhow tohealth
1

About the Creator

Biniyam

I love to write, ...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • KryptaKitty10 months ago

    Hi, I am exactly the same. I need music to find my calm place.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.